Thursday, 30 June 2011

What Are You Reading?

I am coming to the end of my pile of books which have been sent to me to review. I have the Harriet Evans new book to read then I am off to the book shop to pick up some more books. So tell me what should I pick up? What are you all reading at the moment is it a good read or is it one of those books you are struggling to get through!!! 

Tetterbaum's Truth by S.R Claridge



When I started this blog I never aimed to keep the books I review all one genre, but as you can see I am a huge fan of women’s fiction (or as it is widely known chick-lit! ). I have been lucky to have a huge pile of books to read and review and also some have been sent to me to read on my new Kindle! One of the kindle books that I have been putting aside reading is Tetterbaum’s Truth. I have often been sent murder mystery type books and by the 4-5 chapter I just give up so I have never read one to the end. Having just had my kindle arrive I was eager to read something on it so it was time to put Tetterbaum’s Truth to the test!




Plot.
Angel  Martin is left heartbroken as her fiancé Tony tells her he can’t marry her and then vanishes from the face of the earth.
Trying to make a new start in her life she begins running Tetterbaum’s Pub but little does she know it is the most prestigious Mafia hangout in Chicago.

In a world filled with pretence of innocence and a past filled with iniquity, Angel's life hangs in a twisted balance of deception and revenge. Through an unlikely turn of events, Angel discovers her entire life has been a carefully orchestrated lie. No one is who they say they are and everyone has an agenda of their own.

Finding herself in the middle of a revengeful scheme from a past she's never known and a Mafia blackmail scandal that's already left several dead, Angel races to find answers.

The trouble is, the closer she gets to hidden evidence and tainted truths, the more the crime families want her out of the way. With her true identity now exposed, learning who she can trust 
becomes a matter of life and death and unravelling the past is her only hope for staying alive.


My Opinion
Tetterbaum’s Truth is the first book in the Just Call Me Angel series and what a great start to the series. I was surprised how much I enjoyed this with it being a genre I never could get into. When we first meet the main character Angel she just seems like a normal girl next door kind of girl who is broken hearted and so as the reader I found I could connect to her and found that her character was believable. We hope that after the heart ache in her life there are some changes coming her way but we were not expecting the kind of changes she found!

The suspense in this book was so gripping I really couldn’t work out who were the good guys and who were the bad guys and this is what kept my attention. I was sure I knew who was going to come out as one of the real bad guys but I was very surprised how wrong I was!
The story starts at a slow pace until all the series of events start to take place when the story flows along quite quickly with so much action going on there doesn’t seem to be a dull moment in this book.

I think the reason I enjoyed this book compared to the other murder mystery books I have read is because there was more than just the murder cases going on there was many different elements to this book with a nice touch of romance, suspense, action ( and for us ladies the Italian mafia!) how could you say no to that! The mafia element in this book made the story feel more familiar as I have been made to watch these kinds of films with my partner and I know if this book was made into a film it would be one he would want to see.

I look forward to reading the next book in the series to see what is happening in Angels life I am 
sure it will be as hell raising as the first book.

I would highly recommend this book which is not what I thought I would be writing about it. This book has broadened my book genre tastes!

** Thankyou to the publishers for sending me a review copy** 



Sunday, 26 June 2011

Priceless by Nicole Richie



With the weather as nice as it has been today what better way to spend the day than a glass of Pimms and a great book to read in the sun! Yes that is what I have spent my day doing. I decided to start Priceless by Nicole Richie. I have had this book on my side for just over a week and I was intrigued as to how good it would be but the cover wasn’t really enticing me to read it. I have been caught out this way before though and this is when it is always good to remember that age old saying “Never judge a book by its cover!”


Plot
Charlotte Williams has it all, she is glamorous, has all the latest fashion and her life revolves around clubbing with her friends who do nothing but live off of their families money and spend their time living life like a party. To sum up Charlotte in one word would be SPOILT!!

Charlotte's life comes crashing down around her when her dad is arrested on fraud charges which leaves Charlotte alone and penniless. Eyes everywhere blame her as well as her dad and suspect she had something to do with her dad’s illegal work. Charlotte feels she has no option but to get away and make a life for herself starting right from the bottom and the only place she knows she will be welcome is in New Orleans to stay with the lady who raised her. But will Charlotte be able to make a new life for herself or will her life back home follow her?


My Opinion
Charlotte Williams is our main character in this book and when we first meet her she is high maintenance and spoilt! Really she is a character I usually dislike from the beginning but even from the beginning you could pick up that her character was lonely which I think is why I held my judgement on her character until I had read a little further on into the book. I enjoyed reading her character although I can’t really say you warm to character but you do hope that she can turn her life around. 

The book was not what I was expecting at all and I was surprised how much I enjoyed it.  I imagined the book to be just about Charlotte trying to become a pop star to become famous but the book is a lot more deeper than this and actually has a great storyline which I found gripping. I loved the fact that the book was totally unpredictable to me which is what made it a real page turner in my opinion. There is a kind of mystery factor in this book where without giving to much away you find yourself trying to work out which character it could be and I would never had suspected it to be who it was! This was an unusual element to this type of book but it just added to the great parts of this book.

The book gets off to a fast start and it stays this way right the way through.
I feel as if the ending has been left open so I wouldn’t be surprised if it has been left this way for sequel to come out and if this is the case I would defiantly be willing to give it a read.

I have two negative points about this book and the first is that the front cover in no way does this book justice and secondly I didn’t like chapter two! There were so many characters which came into this chapter that I found myself getting confused with who was who, having said that it doesn’t have an effect on the book as you do not meet any of these characters later on in the book so by the 4-5 chapter they are all forgotten about.

I would defiantly recommend this book. It is only 373 pages and the chapters are only short which would make for an ideal lazy day read in my opinion. I finished this in 7 hours so to say it was a page turner is an understatement!

Confessions Of A Call Center Gal by Lisa Lim



I have just finished Confessions Of A Call Center Gal by Lisa Lim. This is Lisa’s debut novel. I have recently read many great books which have quite in depth storylines so I was in need of reading something a little lighter, not to challenging but enjoyable all the same. With this being the first novel by Lisa Lim I was unsure what to expect from this book.


Plot
Meet Maddy who is our main character, she has just finished her journalism course only to find work is next to nothing. After spending time looking for work and finding nothing she gets a call from best friend Karsynn who persuades Maddy to go and stay with her in Idaho.

The last thing Maddy expects is to find work in Idaho, but when Karsynn’s mum informs them that there are jobs available at her workplace, Lightening Speed Communications, the girls waste no time in applying for the jobs.
After a gruelling interview and with gritted teeth manage to work their way through their six week training the girls are now members of the Call Centre! What really goes on in these cal centre's?


My Opinion
This is the first chick lit style book I have read which is based around a cal centre and truth be told I was a little worried that this really was not going to interest me. Unfortunately I didn’t warm to Maddy or Karsynn which did make the story a bit hard to read. I loved the character of Mika who was the love interest in this book his character was alot easier to warm to and he is what kept me going as his character intrigued me. 

The storyline was very light which is what I was looking for nothing to challenging and it flowed at a slow pace which is quite nice for a book to read in-between the more in-depth novels. The part of the book which shines for me in is the humour. The humour is believable humour my favourite being when Maddy answers a phone call from an Australian guy whose name is Poida!!! To me and you that is Peter! This humour comes up during most chapters in the book and is what keeps you reading. Some of the humour does become a little immature and silly such as the toilet humour!

I am sure anyone who likes the Shopaholic series by Sophie Kinsella will love this book as the humour is similar although the book is not as “girlie” and is more down to earth.

From the calls that are taken from the call centre workers in this book, it does open up your eyes to the goings on in the call centre and also the tiring continuous calls by rude and impatient people (which I have to admit has been me in the past when they are telling me to do something I do not have a clue about!) I think when I need to ring a call centre now I will be a little more patient and I think Call Centre workers up and down the country will really appreciate Lisa Lim putting her experiences into this book to let us all become aware of what really goes on at work.

I am unsure that the storyline will be memorable but it was the ideal book at the ideal time for me.
If you are looking for an easy read, which you can pick up and put down then this is the book for you.
3/5

Tuesday, 21 June 2011

Idol by Carrie Duffy

We have a new author on the circuit chick-lit fans and wow is she one to keep a look out for. After my Dilema last night as to what book to read next the first person to vote voted for Idol by Carrie Duffy. The first thing to mention about this book is the bright pink cover of the book which screams chicklit at us with the title Idol in what looks like lights. This cover is defiantly one that will stand out.

Plot
Jenna Jonsson is at the height of her career as a international pop star. A new opportunity has arisen for her to work with rock band Phoenix. With tensions running high between the band members and Jenna will their collaboration work out?
Sadie Laine is a young talented dancer trying to find her way to the top of her career after the chance of a life time was unfairly taken away from her by Jenna. When a chance of work comes up for Sadie to get noticed in Las Vegas, Sadie and Jenna find their lives collide.

My Opinion
The author of this book Carrie Duffy has worked professionally as an actor and a dancer and her experience of working in this kind of industry definitely shows in this book. This is Carrie Dufffy’s debut novel and wow has she started with a novel we won’t forget in a hurry. The book is a true page turner so much so I have finished it in under a day. This is a fast pace book from the word go. The first chapter pulls you straight into the story and the whole story stays on this fast pace right the way through. There is so much going on in this book but yet we never seem to lose sight of the main story.

The way the story is set out is each chapter switches to each of our main characters talking from each of their points of views and journey’s  so we really get to warm to each of the characters. I have to say my favourite out of the two girls was Jenna Jonsson who is the pop star. I found her character easy to warm to more so than Sadie but I think this was because Sadie is a very bitter and negative character at the start which you could understand because of the history between Jenna and Sadie. 

I did find that parts of the book were predictable but this really didn’t dampen the story in any way. There are many different stories going on in this book but in one way or another they start to come together at different parts of the book.

Other than Johnny Be Good by Paige Toon I have never really been a fan of books about singers as I they always seem to be similar sort of storylines and lack any kind of depth but I am pleased to say this book is nothing like that it is full of surprises the more and more you read.

Unusual for me I can not find any negative points to this book I was surprised how much I enjoyed it and also how good it was for a first novel. I would defiantly recommend this book. In my opinion Carrie Duffy will be a big name in chick lit I know I will be looking out for future novels by her.


Sunday, 19 June 2011

My letterbox

Look what has arrived in my letterbox for me to review. A big thanks to the publishers xx.




I have just finished The Beach Cafe which I really enjoyed. I have now got to decide what I am going to read and review next so I thought you could all help me out!!

Love Always By Harriet Evans
Idol by Carrie Duffy
Priceless by Nicole Richie

or on e-reader
Confessions of a Call Center Gal by Lisa Lim
Just Call Me Angel series - Book One - TETTERBAUM'S TRUTH by S.R.Claridge


What is it to be fellow book worms!!!

The Beach Cafe by Lucy Diamond

Whilst I am waiting for some of my favourite authors to release their new books I have found myself reading a few books by authors I have not tried before. I have just finished The Beach Café by Lucy Diamond. I have seen books by Lucy Diamond on the shelves before but they have never seemed to stick out for me until I came across this one which once I had read the blurb I decided to give it a try.

Plot
Evie Flynn is in a relationship which doesn't seem to be going anywhere and is also stuck in a job which she hates. Evie is thrown a life line when she receives tragic news that her dear aunt Jo has died in a car crash but has left her precious beach café to Evie. This is an opportunity for Evie to make something of her life. Surely she can run her aunts café how hard can it be?
Evie soon finds out that running the café although enjoyable is hard work and she is missing her life back home will she be able to stick out running her Beach Café or will she decide to sell up and head back home?

My Opinion
I was looking for a summer read, as a few people have asked me to recommend a great holiday read and although I have read some great reads recently I have yet to find one that has been released this year which really gets me in the holiday mood! This was why this book took my eye as I was sure with the title The Beach Café it was sure to get me in the right mood.

I found that the book had a slow start but by chapter 5 the book started to pick up its pace and I really started to slip into the story. The remainder of the book continued at a comfortable pace. Personally I felt that we didn't need the first part of the book as the story really started for me when Evie arrived in Cornwall.

The main character in this book is Evie. Her character was easy to warm to from the start of the book. She seems to be stuck in a rut and is unsure of what to do about it. She is the black sheep of her family and her family always seem to be sitting waiting for her next failure to happen. It was great to see the determination in Evie to prove to her family that she can achieve something without failing miserably. As the reader we can see that Evie's relationship with Matthew is going nowhere and I was glad that the relationship was not drawn out to long as I think this would have dampened the storyline.

I really enjoyed the mix of characters in this book and the relationship between Evie and the other characters come across so well. I especially enjoyed the relationship between Evie and her chef Ed and Phoebe who was a teenage homeless girl who Evie reached out to. I thought I knew what the outcome of Phoebe was going to be but I was wrong! Although Evie was our main character we did learn about each of the other characters stories which made each of the characters feel more meaningful. I was glad that the book wasn't predictable other than the romance side of things in this book which is why I found it very hard to put this book down.

I thought the storyline was perfect and enjoyable. the story being based in Cornwall was a nice touch and made the book feel more realistic with it being set in a familiar place.

I would recommend this book as a holiday read although a word of warning put it in your hand luggage as the book is 489 pages long so will damage your luggage allowance! After reading this book I will keep my eyes open for future book releases by Lucy Diamond.

A Life That Fits by Heather Wardell

I have just finished A Life That Fits by Heather Wardell. I have yet to read any other books by Heather Wardell so I cannot compare this book to her other books. Heather Wardell has one stand alone book titled Seven Exes Are Eight Too Many and she also has a series of books, the Toronto Series.
Her new book A Life That Fits has just been released and you can read an excerpt of the book over on her website http://www.heatherwardell.com.

Plot
Andrea returns home from a business trip to find her boyfriend of fourteen years, Alex, waiting nervously for her. Andrea finds her heart race as she is sure this is the moment he is going to propose to her. Imagine Andrea’s shock when instead of proposing to her admits to cheating on her and is in fact leaving her for another woman. Not quite the welcome home she was waiting for.


Andrea is heartbroken and hides away indoors forming a plan to get Alex back from decorating the flat to then deciding to do everything differently, anything she would never usually do she is going to do from now on, surely this will win back his heart?



My Opinion
I was surprised how gripped I was by the first chapter of this book. I usually find when I read new authors it takes me a while to warm to the book and get used to their style of writing but this was not the case with A Life That Fits.


Andrea seems like a normal girl next door kind of character which makes her instantly likeable as a character.Because the book is told from Andrea’s point of view we get to see and feel all of the emotions she is going through from heartbroken and depressed, to pure determination which is something which is usually skipped over in most chick lit style books which is what gives this book more depth to the story. We start to see her journey of trying to find out who she really is after years of being moulded into the woman Alex wanted.


I did find that after having such a gripping first chapter the book started to lose me for about 4-5 chapters and I was starting to think I wasn’t going to finish the book I was a little disappointed as the first chapter seemed to promise so much. These chapters are letting the reader know the feeling of Andrea being alone and not really knowing who she really is, but I just felt this part went on for too long in my opinion.


Half way through the book when her character started interacting with other characters was when the book started to pick up again, I think this is when you realize you really need relationships with other characters to make a book enjoyable.


My favourite part is the big twist as too who Alex’ new girlfriend was, I was sure I knew who it was and so I was surprised when it was revealed as a different character!


Although this is a chick-lit style read it is not a light hearted read this book is sure to bring out every emotion. It is easy to follow as there is not a great deal of characters in this book but the characters are all great to read.
I think the ending felt like it had been left open either for the reader to make up their own mind as to what happens next or maybe the possibility of a follow on book.


**Thankyou to Heather Wardell for sending me a copy of her book **

Sunday, 12 June 2011

The Single Girl's To Do List by Lindsey Kelk

I have read all of Lindsey Kelk’s books including her kindle book Jenny Lopez Has A Bad Week, and I have enjoyed every one of them. While I have patiently been waiting for the new I Heart book to come out I then heard that Lindsey Kelk was releasing another book called A Single Girls To Do List. I could not wait to read this one hoping it was going to be as good as her previous books.




Plot
Rachel Summers has been dumped by the heartless Simon. Her best friends Emelie and Matthew are on hand to help her come to terms with singlehood as it is somewhere Rachel has never found herself for long. They decide it is best for her to conquer being single for once and for all to make her get over Simon.


Rachel has always had a thing about making lists so it seemed the perfect thing to do with a few drinks inside of them to sit and come up with a Single Girls To Do List!  Little does Rachel know this list is going to take her on an adventurous journey doing things she has never even dreamed of doing!


My Opinion
I cannot explain to you my excitement when this arrived on my door mat to review. Luckily I had just finished Freya North Chances and so I could start this book straight away. My problem with this book was I enjoyed it so much I had finished it a night later!


The first thing which needs to be mentioned about this book is the front cover. This cover is going to scream out at you from the shelves to buy it. Bold and eye-catching is the only way to describe this book. There will be no hunting for this book. The title is in bold pink letters which have been written on a list. The back ground is light blue with pink stars and a pink car in the top corner, every chick lit lovers dream cover!


The main character in this book is Rachel. From the start of this book I loved her character. When we meet Rachel she is being dumped by Simon and so we meet Rachel right from the start of her journey and see the emotion she is going through. I think this is why we warm to her character straight away as I am sure most of us have found ourselves in her situation so we can relate to her character.


 I loved her friends Emelie and Matthew, I found that they helped to bringthe humor to the story which was a good touch as it broke the book up so that the story wasn’t doom and gloom. We could all do with friends like them.
I did find that it took me a while to like the character of Dan who works on set with Rachel. There was something about him which made me sit on the fence about his character right upto the end of the book I didn’t feel like I could trust him.


I found that The Single Girl’s To Do List had a similar feel to the I Heart series books even though it is a stand alone book. It is an easy read, nothing to challenging and yet enjoyable all the same.


This book is a real page turner and it kept me entertained the whole way through the book. From the first page we were off on a fast pace being drawn into the story and the book carried on in this way. There were no low points to the book were you would usually find yourself skimming a chapter. The ending was up nicely. In my opinion the end of the book really was the end of the book for me. When I read The I Heart series at the end of each book I found myself needing another book as they felt like they had somewhere else to go and I felt the same with The Jenny Lopez has A Bad Week book, but with this book I did not feel that the book could go any further. I hope it does just stay as a stand alone book.


This book is very out there with its contents so you need to have an imagination to read it, the things Rachel gets up to such as getting a Tattoo and flying round the world to meet someone you had a crush on at school all in the space of two weeks!
I liked the little part where Jenny Lopez turns up in the book it did give a familiar feel to the book, without actually taking over the book. It was a nice touch.


The style in which Lindsey writes her books is unlike any Author I have read before she really has got an edge to her books and that continues to show in this latest book.


I would defiantly recommend this book. I couldn’t find any negative points to this book it is everything I look for in a great easy chick-lit style read. If you have a holiday coming up this is the book you should be taking with you. We now have the wait for the next in the I Heart series which comes out this year and I still hold onto the hope that Lindsey Kelk will be writing a full book of Jenny Lopez!


***Thank you to HarperCollins for sending me this book to review ***

Thursday, 9 June 2011

Chances by Freya North


I have just finished the new book by Freya North. I have read books by Freya North before and I have enjoyed them but they have never really stuck in my mind and so it is not an author I usually keep my eye open for. Her recent book which she has released is called Chances. With the front cover of this book though it is hard to just walk by. If you are looking for a real summer looking book this one is going to grab you.

Plot
Vita is heartbroken after she leaves her cheating partner Tim. Things would be much easier for Vita if she could just walk away and never see Tim again but there is a problem, they are joint partners at That Shop. Vita spends her days working in That Shop and is usually found with her nose in a book. Vita soon starts to wonder if she will ever manage to settle down and have children and would it be better to just give Tim another chance as she is not getting any younger.
Oliver has lost the love of his life DeeDee. He works as a Arboricultural Consultant ( or as Vita puts it a Tree Man!) Oliver is left to look after his son Jonty. Oliver is hesitant to start dating again as he is unsure how his son will feel about it and will he find anyone to love the way he loved his wife.
Vita and Oliver’s paths cross when a pear tree in Vita’s garden is causing problems and Oliver is called into help but things do not get off to a great start between them! Will they both take a chance and be happy or is it easier to stick with what you know?

My Opinion
Vita is our main character in this book and I found I enjoyed her character pretty much from the start. She seemed quite familiar which gave a girl next door feel to her. Freya has a wonderful way of writing which lets us as the reader really feel what Vita is feeling and you just hope that this caring woman can find her way to the happiness she deserves.
Oliver has to be one of my favourite male characters I have read in a long time. I usually find when I read these kinds of books that the character of the females are brought to us in great detail and yet the male characters are only skimmed across, this is not the case in Chances, Oliver’s character is warm and loving if a little fragile as anyone would be after loosing their partner and left alone to look after a teenage son. The way Freya North worte about his grieving and his needs felt so true to form I actually found it quite touching to read which made me like Oliver even more.
After the meeting between the two I did have a feeling that I knew how the book was going to end but this did not ruin the book in any way for me as it was great watching both Vita and Oliver’s journey. I was surprised how indepth the detail of the trees were Freya North had obviously been doing her homework here!

I loved that the book started off slowly while we got to know our characters and then the remainder of the book stayed at an even pace. The ending was finished nicely it did not feel rushed but yet it gave us all the answers we need without leaving us on a cliff hanger.
I enjoyed this book on a whole but I have got one little niggle. Vita’s character was warm, quirky, gentle and is often in a dreamworld which is why I liked her character so much, but she did swear which just didn’t seem to fit her character, I just couldn’t imagine her swearing! That is the only thing that I can say I didn’t like about the book.

I loved this book and would defiantly recommend it for anyone looking for a nice summertime read. The front cover defiantly gave the book justice in my opinion. Before reading this book I would have walked over Freya North books but after reading this book I will defiantly be keeping my eyes peeled for any future books released by her.

Facebook Page

I have now made a Facebook Page for you to follow. To keep you upto date with the reviews I put on here.

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Realistic-Book-reviews/208142895873594

Wednesday, 8 June 2011

Please take a look at this blog.

This post is going way off of topic. I feel I really have to post this link to this blog. Alice has terminal cancer at such a young age, she has such a positive outlook and is making a list of things she would like to achieve with the rest of her life. Please post this link to your blog or to twitter/ facebook as you never know it could fall into someone's hands who can help with one of her goals.

http://alicepyne.blogspot.com/2011/06/hello_06.html?commentPage=3

Monday, 6 June 2011

Jenny Lopez has a Bad Week by Lindsey Kelk


From my previous reviews you will see that I loved the I Heart series by Lindsey Kelk. They are the kind of book where you are at a loose end when you come to the end of the book as you get so wrapped up in the story that you do not want it to end!
Lindsey Kelk has been kind to us by giving us a little something to keep us going until the next I Heart book comes out. Jenny Lopez Has A Bad Week is the title to this new short story and can be found on Amazon for the Kindle.
Plot
Jenny Lopez is on an all time low, returning back home to New York and a dead end. Jenny needs to find herself some work and get some love back in her life and the little thing of finding a flatmate. Jenny finds work with her friend Erin, looking after a top supermodel with a big attitude. Jenny also has someone lined up to come and look at the flat, a gay guy called Sigge. With work in sight and a possible flat mate it is time to get the romance flowing but are any of the dates she goes on going to have a happy ever after ?

My Opinion
Jenny Lopez Has A Bad week is short story of only 82 pages so as you can imagine it is a very quick read which is why I was surprised at how much the story had me gripped in such a short space of time. I was really enjoying the book when it suddenly finished I do feel like this story is like dangling sweets in front of a child! A real teaser!
 I thought it was quite nice to hear more from Angela’s friend Jenny for a change. Jenny’s character is lovely to read and I think you would be fine to read this story without having read the previous I heart series.
The best part for me was reading about her first date, I really felt for her but there was also a part of me that just wanted to laugh at her misfortune of having to sit there with that guy! This did provide the story with a nice touch of light humor.
I thoroughly enjoyed this short story my only hope is that Lindsey Kelk decides to make this story into a full book as I really think it will be a page turner.

Wednesday, 1 June 2011

My Single Friend by Jane Costello


I have often seen books by Jane Costello but for some reason they have never really appealed to me.  One of my clients had read one of her books and said what an enjoyable read it was so I decided to give one of her books a try. I chose My Single Friend as the blurb sounded different to most chick lit books I have read.

Plot
Lucy and Henry have been best friends since school. They are now living together and both have terrible love lives, Lucy because she can’t help but lie about her interest to her dates and she always seems to get caught out, and Henry because... well Henry needs all the help he can get which is where Project Henry comes into place.
Lucy and her girlfriends Erin and Dominique take on the challenge to transform Henry into a babe magnet by giving him a new look and giving him tips on flirting and chatting up women!
Will Henry and Lucy be able to find true love?



My opinion
Lucy is the main character in this book and I have to say her character was a breath of fresh air to read. I have read many warm loving characters recently and this is not the words I would use to describe our main character. Lucy is very down to earth, very much your average girl and she is a very believable character.
Henry is a very charming man if a little geeky. I loved his character from the moment we met him and I did feel sorry for him letting these women loose on him to give him a make over. I found the more I read the book the more I enjoy his character.
The thing which really stands out for me with this book is the humour. I found myself laughing out loud to this book. There was alot of humour throughout the book but it came out of the blue.
The story gets off to a quick start and stays on a fast pace all the way through the book. I could not put this book down it was a real page turner. I must admit the ending to the book I found was predictable but I do not feel that this ruined the book in anyway.
I would defiantly recommend this book it just ticks all the boxes. I will be on the look out for more Jane Costello books I just hope they are as good as this one. One thing I have learnt with this book is not to judge a book by its cover!!

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...