Friday, 30 September 2011

The Night Before Christmas by Scarlett Bailey




We have had quite a few entries for our Best Christmas 2011 Book, many of the authors I have previously read before but we have got a new author who has entered and she has entered with a bang! I am sure you all see the package which arrived on my doorstep containing the book. It truely felt like Christmas opening the package to find the book which was placed in little snowballs and snowflake confetti with a miniature Baileys and a box of chocolates. Surely this is any woman’s perfect Christmas present sending you weak at the knee’s! One thing I know you will want to know though Is the book as good as the package?

Plot
All Lydia’s ever wanted is a perfect Christmas…
So when her oldest friends invite her to spend the holidays with them, it seems like the answer to her dreams. She’s been promised log fires, roasted chestnuts, her own weight in mince pies; all in a setting that looks like something out of a Christmas card.
However, her winter wonderland is about to be ruined by the ghosts of boyfriends past, present and potential future. She’s snowed in with her current boyfriend, her old flame and a hunky stranger. Well, three (wise) men is traditional at this time of year...

My Opinion
I snuggled up to read The Night Before Christmas by Scarlett Bailey, with my Baileys coffee and my box of chocolates and I got lost in the book!

Putting the package aside and focusing now on the book I have to say the cover does give a festive feel and the title of the book couldn’t have been more perfect. One thing I have noticed with many Christmas books is just because they have a festive cover doesn’t always mean the story has the same festive feel to it but I am happy to say that this was not the case with this book.

The story is set over the week of Christmas and Scarlett Bailey sets the scene for us with a group of friends celebrating Christmas together in a remote setting and being snowed in already giving us that cosy feeling. This is a traditional realistic Christmas feel to this book rather than the magical Christmas feeling.

There is a real mix of characters in The Night Before Christmas and I have to say it must be the first book I have read where I have liked each and every one of them. Sure they all have their bad moments where we can hear the pantomime boo in the background but because all of the characters are developed so well we just have the attitude that well everyone makes mistakes and HEY its Christmas so we can forgive and forget!
Lydia who is our main character is very down to earth giving that girl next door feel and although she seems to have men dropping at her feet we still feel sorry for her situation. The mix of male characters is very generous in this book so ladies there is a man for each of us hidden in this book. For me this has everything a book needs for a full 5 star rating.

The pace of this book flows nicely with the storyline getting off to a fast pace. For me The Night Before Christmas is a real contender in our Competition despite this being Scarlett Bailey’s debut book. For any men reading this review you are on to a winner if you wrap this up for your partner this Christmas!

The Night Before Christmas Publication date is 27th October so go ahead and pre-order your copy now!.
If you would like to have the chance to win the same package which arrived on my doorstep then head over to  Scarlett's facebook page

You can follow Scarlett Bailey on twitter @ScarlettBailey
or on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/pages/Scarlett-Bailey/114529108652745
Pre-order your copy here

Thursday, 29 September 2011

Post Box

I have been sitting here writing my review for Scarlett Bailey's book The Night Before Christmas when I had the lovely sound of the postman knocking on ( or should I say knocking down!!) the door.
Look what we have !!!


We have two more entries to our Christmas 2011 book competition Miranda Dickinson It started with a Kiss, and The Jewels of Manhattan by Carmen Reid. Wow I am glad the competition is not based just on the cover as this would be a real hard decision to make as all the entries so far have such a beautiful festive feel to them. 


Now don't worry if all this festive talk is all coming a bit too quick for you as Shirley Benton has come to your rescue by letting us have a copy of her book Looking for Leon.
thank you to the authors and the publishers for sending us the advanced copies.


SO ladies what review are you most looking forward to......

Friday, 23 September 2011

Friday Night With The Girls by Shari Low


I have just finished reading Friday Night With The Girls by Shari Low which is due for release in paperback on the 13th October. I am sure some of you have heard of Shari Low and that is because she has two weekly columns at the Daily Record newspaper. Obviously a lady with a great way with words I was expecting a great read but I wasn’t quite prepared for what I got!


Plot
You should write it all down, Lou, so that your daughter can understand what happened. Everything, Right from the start.'
Lou Cairney's life has never been dull. But through twenty years of ups, downs and really bad hairstyles, Lou has had the best friends a woman could hope for in Lizzy and Ginger. Growing up together, they shared their dreams and their disasters, broken hearts and career crashes and they survived it all thanks to love, hope and a large dollop of humour. And cocktails. Lots of cocktails. Until now. Lou needs her friends more than ever because her past has just caught up with her in a shocking way. Everyone makes mistakes in life - but Lou has just discovered that she might have made the biggest one of all..


My Opinion
When I read the synopsis to this book I knew it was going to be the kind of book I would enjoy and I also thought I knew a couple of scenarios as to what had happened in the past had come back to bite Lou on the bum... I was wrong. There is a twist in this book which I was not expecting and to say I was shocked was an understatement.

The structure of this book works well for this kind of storyline. When we first meet the girls they are meeting up for their Friday Girls Night at The St Kentigern Hotel, the story then jumps back in time to when the girls were growing up together and we get to follow along on the girls journey growing up together. Each chapter alternates between the present day in the hotel and then back to a pivotal point in their lives. Shari Low has been very clever in structuring this book in this way as by doing this we feel as if we really know each one of the girls, well I for one felt like I was one of the girls, and this is important for when we get to the twist in the book as we feel as if we are there with them and so feel the emotions that the girls would be feeling.

The storyline is very realistic and each of the girls although they all have very different characteristics they all felt like genuine people. The way that Shari Low brings across the friendship between these girls is beautiful and she manages to balance the three girls perfectly without one feeling pushed out. The book continues at a great pace and at no point during the book did I feel the book start to dull on me.

I felt every emotion possible whilst reading this book, there were times when I laughed out loud, but equally there were times where I had a lump in my throat, this book is truly a touching read.
This is definitely one for your to be read list and I will be looking forward to the next Shari Low book.



Thursday, 22 September 2011

When Tomorrow Comes by Joanna Lambert

I have just finished reading the first book in the Behind Blue Eyes Trilogy by Joanna Lambert. After reading When Tomorrow Comes I have a sudden urge to watch Heartbeat!!


Plot
1967: When eighteen-year-old Ella Kendrick moves to the Somerset town of Abbotsbridge to live with her mother Melissa and stepfather Liam she is looking forward to getting to know someone who has been absent from her life for eleven years. Ella is intrigued by this glamorous, fashionable woman and hopes she holds the key to many unanswered questions about her childhood. However, living in the Carpenter household does not turn out to be the idyllic experience Mel has promised her daughter. Scheming and manipulative she has specific plans for Ella. Plans which do not include boyfriend Niall O’Farrell left behind in the village where she grew up with her grandparents, or the university place she hopes for.

After Ella loses Niall to her best friend and her career aspirations have been trimmed to a college course, ambitious Mel puts her main plan into action - finding her daughter a wealthy boyfriend. In doing this, she is looking for a marriage which will give her the right connections and help her own social advancement in the town.

But Mel’s plan stalls when on a cold January evening, local nightclub owner’s son Matt Benedict unexpectedly walks into Ella’s life.

Ella knows she will have to fight to stay with Matt, branded as most unsuitable by her mother; but it is not just Mel she is up against. Matt’s mother Faye has her own reasons for parting them, as does Andy Macayne, the rich, self-indulgent young man Mel hopes her daughter will eventually marry.

WHEN TOMORROW COMES is the first book in the Behind Blue Eyes Trilogy. Ella and Matt’s journey is about to begin………

My Opinion
The first book in this trilogy starts of back in the 60’s (the good ole days!) J.Lambert manages to bring this across to the reader in many minor points such as the change from the long skirts to the mini- skirts and also having to walk to a pay phone to phone boyfriends because of course in the 60’s teenagers didn’t have mobile phones glued to their ears!

I love the way J.Lambert uses her descriptive writing skills which brought the little village of Meridan Cross to life giving us the feel of being part of the close knit village. We are also given every type of love interest we need with the bad boy, the quiet boy and the ladies man but all the way through I never quiet knew who Ella was going to sway more towards in the end and even now I have finished the first book I am still wondering if there may be a change in direction when it comes to Ella’s love life.

There are a real mix of characters in this book each one completely different to the next . I do feel like I was a little over whelmed by the amount of characters in this book and I did get a few muddled up each time which would have me a little worried if this was a standalone book but my feeling is that as we progress to the second book we will be more familiar with the characters as we meet them again.

I did find that all of the main characters in this book were all well developed characters. I found that each of the characters where very realistic people in realistic situations which made the book a real page turner.
I will defiantly be reading the next book in the trilogy to see what path our lovely Ella’s life is going to take.




Tuesday, 20 September 2011

Knowing Me Knowing You by Mandy Baggot

Knowing Me Knowing you is the second book I have read by Mandy Baggot. The previous book Breaking the Ice was an enjoyable read but in my opinion after reading Knowing Me Knowing you this book is on a totally different level.

Plot
KNOWING ME KNOWING YOU - BRING ON THE LOVE! Recently single mother Kate is struggling. Clinging on to a career and bringing up her 2 year old daughter leads to nights alone drowning her sorrows in the cheapest white wine she can find. Forced to employ Joel, a male escort, to accompany her to a professionals' dinner, Kate somehow ends up in the middle of a relationship contest, competing for a £100,000 prize alongside someone she barely knows. With her boss, the Lady Dragon Miranda, desperate for Kate to flounder, her tarot card reading child-minder trying to match-make and her ex-husband making her life a misery, can Kate keep her life on an even keel? And more importantly can she put her trust in a serial dater who used to be an underwear model?


My Opinion
Our leading lady in this book is Kate who is an easy character to warm. After just a couple of chapters we realise how hard Kate is finding juggling her work with looking after her daughter and getting over her ex-husband so from the start of this book you cannot help but sympathise with her character. Baggot gives us enough information to set the scene for this characters background with out over doing it and making it a chore to read. Kate story starts to unwind as we read on through the book until it is time to see if she can turn her life around and start enjoying and living life again.

Having just read what I have written so far about my opinion for this book it sounds as though this is a really deep and meaningful book which is true but it doesn’t feel like that when you are reading this book as there is a large amount of humour in this book to which manages to keep the book on a light hearted track. I mean who has ever known an author start a book with the first line "bird poo and porridge were basically one and the same thing"!.

How can I review this book without mentioning the best part and that is Joel (Rea goes all dreamy!) When we are first introduced to Joel via the escort agency I was sure he was going to be a sleaze ball but that couldn’t be further from the truth. I think Joel is every woman’s ideal man and his character had to be my favourite!

It was a pleasure to read this book and see how Mandy Baggot is growing as an author, there is clearly a different style of writing in this book compared to Breaking the Ice, and she manages to keep you interested all the way through the book. The only downside to this book is the cover, this is defiantly one of these books where the saying "Don't judge a book by its cover " comes to mind.

I would defiantly recommend this book and I cannot wait to read Mandy Baggot’s up and coming release Strings Attached which is released in November with the Launch starting on the 1st November check out Mandy’s blog for more information http://mandybaggot.webs.com/newbookstringsattached.htm

Sunday, 18 September 2011

Vampire in Denial by Dale Mayer

Well you all know I love my chick lit books but I am a secret Young Adult fiction fan. After reading so many Chick Lit books recently I needed a little change so I decided to try Vampire in Denial by Dale Mayer. This is the first book in the Blood Ties series. When I read up on the author I was surprised at the range of books that she has wrote from Young adult to romance and even Non-fiction.


Plot
Blood doesn't just make her who she is...it also makes her what she is.


Like being a sixteen-year-old vampire isn't hard enough, Tessa's throwback human genes make her an outcast among her relatives. But try as she might, she can't get a handle on the vampire lifestyle and all the...blood.


Turning her back on the vamp world, she embraces the human teenage lifestyle—high school, peer pressure and finding a boyfriend. Jared manages to stir something in her blood. He's smart and fun and oh, so cute. But Tessa's dream of a having the perfect boyfriend turns into a nightmare when vampires attack the movie theatre and kidnap her date.


Once again, Tessa finds herself torn between the human world and the vampire one. Will blood own out? Can she make peace with who she is as well as what?

My Opinion
The main character in this book was Tessa and for a half vampire she is very down to earth and normal. She is still in her teens and she is experiencing what most teenagers experience and that is the feeling of not fitting in but for poor Tessa there is nothing she can do about it as it is part of who she is, she belongs to two different worlds.
I love that the storyline is dark and thrilling but yet Mayer still manages to bring in that little bit of romance to keep us women interested!

The story was easy to follow and made for a quick read ( I have finished this in an afternoon).
The book chops and changes between Tessa, Cody and Jared’s point of views which helps us to get an all around view on what is going on and makes it easier for us to understand what is going on.

I loved this book and found it very hard to put down... oh wait I didn’t put it down! But one thing DALE MAYER!! What are you doing to me!! I was so engrossed in the story, I was all tense and then it ended! I could almost hear the To Be Continued in my mind! I am so glad there is a follow on to this book but I am just not sure how long I can wait to find out what happens next now that the ending has left us with a twist rather than a happy ever after!

I would definitely recommend this to any Young Adult fans and I for one will be reading the sequel to this book.

Friday, 16 September 2011

Until The End Of Forever by Shannon Hart




When Shannon Hart’s Until The End Of Forever arrived in my post box I instantly fell in love with the cover of the book. It creates a very romantic setting giving us a little treat for what the book has in store for us. The cover couldn’t be more appropriate for this book. This is my second book I am reading as part of the Chick lit Plus book tour.

Plot
When Sarah Matthews keeps having recurring nightmares she begins to psycho-analyse herself in an attempt to find the reason behind them. After all, she has a perfect marriage; two beautiful children; a part-share in a little business; and everything in the world she could possibly wish for. She is totally content...or is she? Could her life be just a little too perfect?
Over a friendly luncheon, Sarah suddenly has stirrings of envy for the total freedom she can no longer enjoy; and when the opportunity is offered her to go to Paris for a month to work with a photographer on the production of a series of Coffee Table books, she decides to go off and find herself. However, in the wake of tragedy she is called back home again, only to find upon her return that the relationship between her and her husband rapidly begins to deteriorate.


Very much aimed at the feminine reader, this is a lovely story, and one to which very few will be unable to relate.

My Opinion
I love the way the author changes each chapter between Sarah and Robs perspectives as this gave us a true insight into both of the characters true feelings. The first part of the novel is told by many flashbacks to earlier points in their relationship which gives the reader a feel for how close they are as a couple and how perfect their relationship has always been, but it soon becomes clear that a perfect relationship doesn’t last forever you need to expect a few bumpy rides!

I did think it was a little extreme when Sarah decided she needed time to find herself she had to go all the way to Paris to do it leaving her children behind, but then I have to remember this is fiction. The book was a very pleasant, quick and romantic read at only 209 pages long which allowed me to finish it in an evening.

I would recommend this to any fans of chick lit who are looking for something romantic but not too challenging. This is a sweet and romantic read which you will enjoy although I don’t think it is one that you will keep on your book shelf to read again.



The lovely Shannon Hart now joins us and is willing to answer some questions for us.
1. Your book had a very romantic feel to it. Do you consider yourself a true romantic and were your characters based on people you know?
I do consider myself a romantic actually. I'm pretty much the surprise-giving, candle-light-dining, getaway-for-two kind of woman. Unfortunately though, the life has been laid out for me lately with 2 kids, a full time job and a busy husband, it hasn't left me much time to plan exciting things. But every now and then, my husband and I make sure we do date night and get alone time. The characters were based on bits and pieces of people I know for sure. Like Lucy was partially based on my sister-in-law who really is a graphic designer (an awesome one in fact), and Mark partially mimics my own brother. He's a musician too but just hasn't gone into it as a career. So, bits and pieces I would say.

2. Are you currently working on a new book or do you have any plans for a new book you can share with us?
I have finished the writing and editing process of my second book actually and I am so excited about it. It has a different feel from Until the End of Forever and I really hope people love it. It's set in a small town that I'd actually love to live in. I'll be able to share more about it in the coming months.

3. What authors inspire you?
Three authors I've loved for a very long time are Meg Cabot, Cecelia Aherns and Dorothy Koomson. But the first few authors to inspire me were Francine Pascal and Beverly Cleary.

4. What was the last book you finished reading and what are your thoughts on it?
The last book I read was actually Tina Fey's Bossypants. I'm not big on reading biographies but hey, this was Tina Fey. I thought her book was hilarious but touching at the same time. It's so different from the other (few) biographies I've read. I think Tina Fey is awesome.

5. If you were stuck on a desert Island what would be your 3 must have items?
Wow, are you sure I only get to bring 3 items? I'm not really famous for packing light... My husband can verify that... :) But probably my iPad, my curling iron and my favorite pair of denim cut off shorts.


Thankyou so much to Shannon Hart for taking your time to chat to us over at Rea Book Reviews and for the chance to read your book.
If this sounds like your kind of book then head over and get your copy below ...


Shannon Hart Until The End Of Forever on Kindle
Shannon Hart Until The End Of Forever Paperback

Even better if you buy yourself a copy head over to Shannon Hart Amazon $10 gift card with your receipt to be in with a chance of winning a $10 amazon voucher.

Wednesday, 14 September 2011

Persuade Me by Juliet Archer



When I was approached by Choc Lit publishers to read Persuade Me by Juliet Archer I was a little apprehensive about taking this book on to review. I felt I was going to be a little out of my comfort zone with this particular book especially after it being described as a Jane Austen Modernisation, I must be one of the only book lovers who is not a fan of Jane Austen. I decided to still give the book a try to see is it was a piece
of me!


Plot
When do you let your heart rule your head?
As far as men are concerned, Anna Elliot is stuck in the past. No one can compare to Rick Wentworth, the man she was persuaded to give up eight years ago.
Meanwhile, Rick’s moved on – and up. He’s got a successful career and a carefully controlled love life where his heart doesn’t get a look in.
The words ‘forgive and forget’ aren’t in Rick’s vocabulary. The word ‘regret’ is definitely in Anna’s. When they meet again, can she persuade him that their lost love is worth a second chance?


Persuade Me is Juliet Archer’s second novel in her ‘Jane Austen in the 21st Century’ series.Her first novel, The Importance of Being Emma, was shortlisted for the 2009 Melissa Nathan Award for Comedy Romance.

My Opinion
Anna Elliot is such a warm and gentle down to earth character unlike some of her family! From the moment we meet Anna we connect to her instantly. It is clear from the start of the book that she has had her heart broken but her story takes a while to unfold as we get to know her character.

Rick who is Anna’s ex is quite a character. When we first meet him I had my guard up a little as I was unsure of his true intentions but as we see more of his character it is hard to get this man out of your head! He is the perfect male character for this book.

There were also many secondary characters in this storyline all who seemed a little quirky and I feel these characters are what manages to keep the Jane Austen connection.

I loved that alongside our Rick and Anna storyline there were also sub plots alongside which I feel worked quiet well and gave us the chance to get to know the back ground of each of the other characters. The use of the sub plots were clever in the way that although you were interested in the other characters reading them just kept you on your toes waiting for the story to return to Rick and Anna to see where their journey was going to go next.

I was surprised how much I was gripped by this book so much so I finished it in under a day! I think that speaks for itself when asking would I recommend this book.

Post Box

WOW! Do any of you have one of those weeks where every thing that can go wrong does go wrong! Welcome to my week! I am not like a man who buries their head in the sand I bury my nose in a book instead hehe!! So this is why I am having to say a BIG thank you to Scarlett Bailey and her lovely publishers at Ebury Press as you have managed to put a Big smile back on my face!
I think it is only fair to share with my lovely followers the pictures of what arrived in my post box!





Thankyou once again to Scarlett Bailey and Ebury Press.
Also followers just so you know this of course will be one of the books entered into the best Christmas book of 2011 so eyes peeled for the review.

Tuesday, 13 September 2011

Watching Willow Watts by Talli Roland




I seem to be getting my reading Mojo back and have flown through my latest book! It did help that it was a really enjoyable read. I have just finished Watching Willow Watts by Talli Roland, this book is available on kindle with the official launch on the 14th September, but not to worry for all of you paperback lovers this will be available in paperback on 30th November.

Plot
For Willow Watts, life has settled into a predictably dull routine: days behind the counter at her father's antique shop and nights watching TV, as the pension-aged residents of Britain's Ugliest Village bed down for yet another early night. But everything changes when a YouTube video of Willow's epically embarrassing Marilyn Monroe impersonation gets millions of hits after a viewer spots Marilyn's ghostly image in a frame.


Instantly, Willow's town is overrun with fans flocking to see the 'new Marilyn'. Egged on by the villagers -- whose shops and businesses are cashing in -- Willow embraces her new identity, dying her hair platinum and ramming herself full of cakes to achieve Marilyn's legendary curves.


But when a former flame returns seeking the old Willow, Willow must decide: can she risk her stardom and her village's newfound fortune on love, or is being Marilyn her ticket to happiness?

My Opinion
The heroine in this book who is Willow Watts is such a natural character. From the moment we first meet her we instantly form a bond with her and I think it is because she is so genuine and selfless that we warm to her so much. Throughout the whole book you always see her putting everyone else’s welfare before her own wants and needs. There are a real mix of characters in Watching Willow Watts all who seem very friendly and relaxed this is all bar one character, Jay who turns up to become Willow’s agent and from the moment we meet him there is an instant dislike and we know what he is aiming to do but poor Willow is unaware of his actions.

The storyline to this book is very light-hearted and flows at a perfect pace, I was hoping to see a little more of the relationship between Willow and her ex-boyfriend but this is just me being greedy and a hopeless romantic!

I love the way Talli Roland creates a traditional little country town where everything is very ordinary and the community all come together, and then decides to throw in the whole Marilyn Munroe thing in which you would never expect in such an ordinary town. I think when something big and pink arrives in the town this is when it all felt a little bizarre!

I would defiantly recommend this book and after reading this one I would now like to read her previous novel The Hating Game. Both of her books have very bright eye catching covers so you can not miss them!

Watching Willow Watts is available on the following link at a great price  WATCHING WILLOW WATTS

Head over and join in the fun at http://talliroland.blogspot.com/ and let Talli know if you could be anyone who would you be?

Saturday, 10 September 2011

Private Lives by Tasmina Perry

I have just finished reading my first ever Tasmina Perry book. I have often seen her books in the book store, they all have stunning, eye catching covers, but the size of the books have always put me off!! I was sent a copy of Tasmina Perry’s recent novel Private Lives by Headline Reviews to read and review and when this huge hard back arrived on my door step ( wouldn’t fit in the letter box!) it was my time to delve into the world of Tasmina Perry.


Plot
Anna Kennedy loves her career. A young associate with a top media law firm, she's the lawyer to the stars, hiding their sins from the hungry media. When Anna fails to prevent a damaging story being printed about heart-throb movie star Sam Charles she finds herself fighting to save not only his reputation, but also her own. But Anna is about to uncover a scandal more explosive than even Sam's infidelities. A party girl is already dead and those responsible are prepared to silence anyone who stands in their way. Not least a pretty young lawyer who knows too much...

My Opinion
After I got over my shock at how huge this book was and once I had stopped cooing over the front cover I started reading this straight away. The book is a whopping 534 pages long and I was a little uncertain if the book was going to keep my attention for the duration of the book. The novel starts off slowly and takes a while to get into the flow of the story but I feel this was because there were many different characters and different storylines going on so it took a little time to get to know who was who. Once the novel started to flow the story began to come into its own.

The storyline was a little unexpected for me I am a terrible one for judging a book by its cover so I assumed this was going to be a light weight easy beach read, but I was wrong the story needs your full attention as there is so much going on in the book you cannot afford to skim a part.

There is a real mix of characters in Private Lives and each of the characters have their own storyline which gives us an insight to their back ground but each of the characters are connected in some way. My favourite characters had to be Anna our leading lady who seems to have had a hard time the last couple of years and so has thrown herself into work, and also Matt who has just started working at the same firm as Anna, his character felt very genuine and like your guy next door type of guy.
The storyline did loose me at a couple of points but I soon found myself back on track. I do feel that the book could have been condensed down a little but all in all I found the book very enjoyable. I am not one to usually read about law and lawyers but I surprised myself as to how much I enjoyed this book it really was a glamourous read.

I will defiantly be looking out for Tasmina Perry Books in the future. Thankyou to Headline Review for sending me a copy of Tasmina Perry Private Lives.

Tuesday, 6 September 2011

The Time Of My Life by Cecelia Ahern

I love books by Cecelia Ahern, although I always love them I never quite know what to expect next with her books! I have just finished reading The Time Of My Life which is due out 13th October this year. I have to say the cover to this book is stunning and in my opinion is the best cover of all the Cecelia Ahern books.


Plot
Lucy Silchester has received an appointment card. Actually, she’s been invited along few times to this appointment, but she keeps brushing the gold embossed envelope under the shag pile carpet. She’s taken her eye off the ball and has busied herself with work (a job she doesn’t love), helping out friends, fixing her car, feeding her cat, seeing her family and devoting her time to their life dramas.
But Lucy is about to find out that this is one appointment that she can’t miss. And she can’t escape it either. Her life is about to catch up with her in the most extraordinary of ways....

My Opinion
Our heroine in this book is Lucy Silchester and she is a likeable character who is very down to earth which makes her character easy to read. Lucy’s character is very realistic whereas the storyline is very farfetched but in my opinion it is this great mix which brings the humour into the book. The book gets off to a quick start with Lucy receiving her appointment card from Life which she ignores but she is soon to learn that Life just doesn’t give up on you!

Lucy finally meets Life who is a man and although I can honestly say I have never read a character like Life before he is a joy to read. I was expecting Life to be very God or angle like so when we meet a bog standard grumpy guy I was a little shocked!

There were many laugh out loud moments in this novel which made it an enjoyable read and very hard to put down.

I feel like the storyline carries a message and really gets you thinking, are you making the most of your life and doing things you enjoy? Too many of us, like Lucy have got ourselves wrapped up in life and stuck in a rut and we need to unwind ourselves and make positive changes in life as unfortunately I don’t think Life will be sending any of us an appointment card anytime soon!

This book is a must for Cecelia Ahern fans, and does not disappoint. The novel has a great mix of characters who work well together in this book. The novel will give you a very unique storyline which will have you gripped and guessing as to what will happen next all the way through. I loved that the ending wasn’t predictable and also that the ending was tied up beautifully. A truly quirky read !


Sunday, 4 September 2011

Christmas Challenge

As some of you many Know I run my own Beauty business and I have had many of my clients booking in their Christmas appointments already! Now although they are clearly all getting ready for the festive time of the year I always find it hard to get in the mood. One thing I found last year was I read many books with Christmas themed covers but none of them managed to get me in the Christmas spirit!

My Mission this year is to read all the new releases his year of Christmas themed front covers and find 2011 best Christmas Book!!

I will be updating this post as I find out about upcoming releases and will add the review links as I read them. If any of you see any I have missed please let me know by posting below!

A Christmas fling, or has Janie found the real thing?
Thirty-something hairdresser Janie Johnson’s single status is a constant source of gossip for her friends and clients. So after too many nights in with her cat, a blind date disaster and news that her ex is getting married, Janie realises it’s time to do something dramatic with her life.


It’s time for an adventure!
Leaving winter behind, Janie takes the plunge and books an exotic trip to Africa. Her friends think she’s mad and Janie thinks they may very well be right… but then she falls head over heels for her tour guide – and fully fledged Maasai Warrior – Dominic. But can Janie now face spending a snowy Christmas back home without him?


My Review- http://reabookreview.blogspot.com/2011/08/wrapped-up-in-you-by-carole-matthews.html
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Beth Prince has always loved fairytales and now, aged twenty-four, she feels like she's finally on the verge of her own happily ever after. She lives by the seaside, works in the Picturebox - a charming but rundown independent cinema - and has a boyfriend who's so debonair and charming she can't believe her luck! There's just one problem - none of her boyfriends have ever told her they love her and it doesn't look like Aiden's going to say it any time soon. Desperate to hear 'I love you' for the first time Beth takes matters into her own hands - and instantly wishes she hadn't.


Just when it seems like her luck can't get any worse, bad news arrives in the devilishly handsome shape of Matt Jones. Matt is the regional director of a multiplex cinema and he's determined to get his hands on the Picturebox by Christmas. Can Beth keep her job, her man and her home or is her romantic-comedy life about to turn into a disaster movie?




~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

As the singer in a wedding band, Romily Parker has seen her fair share of happy endings, even though her own love life isn't quite as simple.
On the last Saturday before Christmas, (shortly after disastrously declaring her love for best friend Charlie), Romily has a brief encounter with a handsome stranger whose heart-stopping kiss changes everything.
Determined to find him again, Romily embarks on a yearlong quest, helped (and sometimes hindered) by enthusiastic Uncle Dudley, cake-making Auntie Mags and flamboyant Wren. Will she find the man of her dreams? Or could true love be closer than she thinks?


The ONLY book that you’ll want to curl up with this winter – perfect for fans of Jill Mansell and Sophie Kinsella.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

In the pretty Lancashire village of Middlemoss, Lizzy is on the verge of leaving her cheating husband, Tom, when tragedy strikes. Luckily she has welcome distraction in the Christmas Pudding Circle, a group of friends swapping seasonal recipes – as well as a rivalry with local cookery writer Nick over who will win Best Mince Pie at the village show…


Meanwhile, the whole village is gearing up for the annual Boxing Day Mystery Play. But who will play Adam to Lizzy’s Eve? Could it be the handsome and charismatic soap actor Ritch, or could someone closer to home win her heart? Whatever happens, it promises to be a Christmas to remember!


Previously published as Sweet Nothings, Trisha has extensively reworked the original novel with fabulous new extra material.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This is the life Maz Harwood signed up to when she became a vet, and she has never regretted it. She now has a beautiful baby boy, George, and she will be marrying fellow vet, Alex Fox-Gifford, at Christmas.


But recently things have become difficult. Because between arranging the wedding, performing life-saving animal surgery, and taking care of George, there hasn’t been much time left for poor Alex.


So Maz decides to take things into her own hands – with terrible consequences for all concerned.


As Christmas draws near, Maz realises that she’s going to need more than a miracle for her and Alex to make it up the aisle and rekindle the love they had once shared.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



All Lydia’s ever wanted is a perfect Christmas.
So when her oldest friends invite her to spend a traditional Christmas at the
luxury hotel they’re about to open it seems like the answer to her dreams.
She’s been promised log fires, roasted chestnuts, mince pies galore, in
a setting that looks like something out of a Christmas card. Everything in
fact that she’d never had growing up.
However, in the wilds of the Lake District, Lydia is soon faced with all manner
of problems, not least of which is her best friend’s new boyfriend, Jack, who just so
happens to be the hottest of all of Lydia’s old flames…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~








Friday, 2 September 2011

Amanda Strong Interview

                                         We have the lovely Amanda Strong over to talk with us today.


Your book With Just One Click has a slight edge to it as I have never read a book based on social networking sites. What made you decide to write a book based on this topic?
Over the past few years, I heard stories about Facebook from friends or friends of friends; the stories never changed just the people. The universal situations of love, friendship, and betrayal on Facebook were fascinating to me. I wanted to further explore those relationships and expose the good, the bad, and ugly of social networking in a novel without naming any names. 

Are you a Facebook addict?
No, I’m far from being a Facebook addict. When I first began writing this book, I think I was the total opposite. To be totally honest, in the beginning, I sometimes would half kiddingly say, “Facebook ruins lives.” After writing the book, I actually changed my opinion, because I realized social networking gives you a tool to communicate with other people, but the user themselves have to be responsible for their own actions. When you see close friends being affected by the temptation of any social networking site, I think it’s natural to have some negative thoughts. I don’t think a Facebook addict could have written this book, because they would be too close to the situation. 

I have found as a book reviewer that social networking sites are a great way to advertise my blog and books which I enjoy. Have you found that social networking sites have helped to publicise your books in any way? 
Most definitely, I think social networking is a great tool to publicize the book by introducing yourself to an audience that you otherwise would’ve never met. Before I had a personal account on Facebook and never really posted. Now that I have written a novel, I have a Facebook page for myself as an author, and I post updates and news. This type of communication and exposure is priceless, pretty ironic when you think about the stories in, with just one click.

Are you currently working on your next novel or do you have any ideas for your next novel you can share with us? 
I’m still focused on this novel, because I don’t want to leave these characters just yet. I also want to know I gave it my all publicizing this book before venturing onto another project. I actually have a couple ideas floating around in my head but can’t go into more detail just yet.
What was the last book you finished reading and would you recommend it? 
I just finished Elin Hilderbrand’s, Silver Girl. I would definitely recommend this book…classic chick lit with a very timely story set in beautiful Nantucket. I enjoyed the emotional roller coaster of each character, and won’t give away anything else but to say it was a touching novel with an ending that struck a cord with me on a personal level.

If you were stuck on a desert Island what would be your 3 key items you couldn’t live without?
A stockpile of paper and pens, and my mascara (if I got rescued, I’d like to look my best :-) .)

So Followers you have read the review on this unique book, you have learned a little more about the author so surely there is only one more thing to do.... go and buy the book!!
ALTHOUGH

AMANDA STRONG HAS KINDLY AGREED TO A GIVE AWAY ON OUR BLOG SO FOR ONE LUCKY WINNER THIS BOOK COULD BE ON IT'S WAY TO YOU!!! HEAD OVER TO THE GIVE AWAY TAB ABOVE AND FILL OUT THE FORM TO BE IN WITH A CHANCE TO WIN!!

Thursday, 1 September 2011

With Just One Click by Amanda Strong




There has been a lot of talk on many blogs at the moment about With Just One Click by Amanda Strong. The reviews have been a great mix and so I was eager to read it to put my two pennies worth in!


Plot
 “Reluctance was matched with a pit in my stomach; once I joined, anyone could randomly find me…did I really want to be found?” Chloe, a successful movie reviewer and serial dater, finds herself added as a friend by her first love. The one who left her at seventeen standing with a note in her hand as he simply walked away. Will she allow herself to open old wounds? Morgan, a loyal stay-at-home mom and wife, discovers one of her husband’s friends is his very single and flirtatious ex-girlfriend from high school. Will obsession and jealousy tear her solid marriage apart when she hunts for the truth? Brynn, a lonely forty year-old living with her two distant teenage children and workaholic husband, fights temptation while revisiting the past with one of her friends. Will her deception destroy her family? Three lives changed forever WITH JUST ONE CLICK. Confirming a friend isn’t as simple as it seems… but do these women have more in common than just Facebook?


My Opinion
I am sure the majority of you who follow this blog are on a social networking site but ask yourself one question, do you love it enough to want to read a booked based on it? No was my answer but yet I found myself picking it up anyway as the plot intrigued me as it is based on the social networking site Facebook which is something I have not read about in a book before so I was intrigued to see if this topic could work in a novel.

Each chapter of the book alternates and focuses on our three main characters Chloe, Megan and Brynn. The beginning of the book introduces us to each of our characters and shows us how they landed up on facebook and giving us a little background about our characters lives. The ladies personalities are completely different and I feel as though each reader will connect with one of the characters. Personally I couldn’t take to Brynn’s character even at the end of the book I wasn’t interested in her ending, but I feel that each reader will connect with a different character. I loved both Chloe and Megans characters with Chloe being my favourite I instantly took to her from the start of the book.

As Strong writes the story of the three ladies we get to see  the posts that they all put on facebook and this continues all the way through the book. Although the book is based around Facebook I don’t feel that at any point in this book I started losing interest because of it, as the facebook posting is not over done and there are storylines we are following alongside the posts which I found were weaved in quite nicely.

I especially loved the ending of this book it was totally unexpected but finished the ending of beautifully.

With social networks being used by the majority of people I think it was only a matter of time before a book was made about them and I think it could have been a disaster but this is not the case with this book and I would defiantly recommend this book.

Do you like the sound of this book? If so come back tomorrow for a special post which may interest you. Ummmmm what could it be.....!

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...