Monday, 28 May 2012

White Wedding by Milly Johnson


White Wedding by Milly Johnson follows three brides to be who all meet by chance in the White Wedding bridal shop and soon become great friends. Violet, Max and Bel are all very likeable characters but they are no way the perfect brides to be as they all have a hidden secret when it comes to their weddings and it is not just pre-wedding nerves! 
Bel is due to marry first she is engaged to Richard but her hopes and dreams not only for her wedding but for her future with her new husband to be are shattered when she finds out a heartbreaking secret. Violet is engaged to Glyn but is clearly having doubts about the wedding she feels very suffocated in her relationship and it is clear Glyn needs to get help to stop his paranoia before it puts the wedding in jeopardy. Max has been with her fiancé Stuart since college and the time seemed right for them to tie the knot but both Max and Stuart have very different ideas of their perfect wedding day. Can changes be made to ensure all the weddings still go ahead?


This was my first Milly Johnson book, I am unsure why I haven’t got around to reading one the authors books before because the covers of her books are very appealing to me and now I have read the synopsis of some more of her books they sound right up my street.

The author creates three fantastic and loveable characters with Violet being my favourite as I could relate more to her than the other two characters. Max defiantly brought the entertainment factor to the book with all of her wedding wishes being based on the Gypsy Wedding style. Bel really did have a hard time but I was a little frustrated at the situation she put herself through which I wish I could say more but I don’t want to give away to much detail as it will ruin her part of the story.

The book is split up into three parts one part for each ladies weddings and it was great that the chapters were very short as it makes it easy to be able to pick up and put down when you just have time to snatch a chapter or two, although this book had me gripped after the second chapter so I ended up finishing it in a day!

I loved the suspense that Milly Johnson manages to create especially with Bel I knew something wasn’t right early on in the book with Bel but I couldn’t figure it out so I had a shock coming. This was the same with the ending of the book it was just not possible to predict the ending which made you keep turning the pages quickly trying to get to the end to see how it all pans out.

This was a genuinely perfect read with a realistic storyline and three great characters. I highly recommend this book and I will now be on the lookout for more books by Milly Johnson as she has such a warm and enjoyable writing style I am definitely a new member of the Milly Johnson fan club!

Paperback                Kindle

Sunday, 27 May 2012

Give Away

It is that time again when I like to say a big thank you to all my followers and what better way than with a chance to win a signed copy of Ten Years On by Alice Peterson!

You will all know how much I enjoyed this book ( here is the review in case you missed it http://reabookreview.blogspot.co.uk/2012/05/ten-years-on-by-alice-peterson.html )

All you need to do is fill out the form by clicking HEREand guess what it is an INTERNATIONAL giveaway! The winner will be announced on Sunday 3rd June.

Good Luck!

Thank you to the lovely Alice Peterson for giving us the signed copy to give away xXx

Saturday, 26 May 2012

The Postman has his shorts on!

Take a look at these books that have arrived which ones will you be looking forward to?
Fern Britton - Hidden Treasures 
Chrissie Manby - What I did on my Holidays
Freya North - Rumours
Alma Katsu - The Reckoning
Katie Price - In The Name Of Love


I have a few kindle books here for you to read whilst enjoying this sunshine,they are all under £1.00 so you can read and enjoy them at a great price.

Thursday, 24 May 2012

The Charm Bracelet by Melissa Hill


Time and time again on our facebook group everyone keeps repeating the same name Melissa Hill and every time I say no sorry I have never read any books by this author everyone is so shocked. So when I was approached to read and review her new release The Charm Bracelet how could I refuse, it was time I found out what all the hype was about!

Holly works in a vintage dress store which relies on donations but one day whilst sorting through a donation box she feels something in the jacket which has been donated and she soon comes across a beautiful charm bracelet. Holly has a charm bracelet of her own which has a number of charms on it each one symbolising a moment in her life and as she carefully looks at the charm bracelet she has found she feels that this charm bracelet also has a story to tell. Holly finds herself on a complicated mission to return the bracelet to its rightful owner as she tries to unravel the clues that each charm presents.

Greg decides to pack in his job and follow his dream of becoming a photographer but unfortunately his excitement of the start of his new career is short lived when he breaks the news to his partner Karen who is less than pleased at his decision.

This really is an amazing book. The author creates such a perfect main character in Holly who, juggling work with bringing up her son alone, felt like a very down to earth and believable character. I really felt that the heart strings were being pulled in this book especially when the book changes to the owner of the bracelet telling her story I was on the edge of letting out a little sob as it was so moving.

I love the mystery that the author creates around the charm bracelet I had no idea until about half way through the book how the characters would all come together and how the story would end. Each charm had its own little story and I loved finding out the story behind each one it gave a real feel good factor to the story.

I love Melissa Hill’s style of writing the descriptive writing she uses surrounding New York makes me feel as if I have just been shown pictures of the places she mentioned rather than reading it from a fictional book. She has a very easy writing style which made the book easy to read so I did find myself working my way through the story pretty quickly but without the book feeling rushed. I loved the way that the ending felt like a modern day fairytale it seemed to bring the ending to a prefect finish. 

I can not recommend this book enough, I am sure this is one that you will all want on your To Be Read piles. I will definitely be hunting out more books by this author I have definitely been missing out.
A perfect little package which will pull at those heart strings.

Kindle                        Hardback

Tuesday, 22 May 2012

The Perfect Location by Kate Forster

I brought this on kindle and this is a great price at the moment so head over and click to get your copy. This has to be the best Summery cover released so far this year and I am pleased to say the story inside is just as delightful.

The story follows three actresses Rose, Calypso and Sapphira who have all been signed to shoot a new film in Italy. We soon get to know each of the actresses, and each of them have their own personal problems. Youngest of the three is Calypso who has been pushed from film roll to film roll by her manager who also happened to be her mum, but is this really Calypso's dream or is her mum living her dreams through Calypso. I loved how real Calypso's character felt and how although she has done previous film work she didn't come across as a diva.

Rose is leading the single life after coming out from an unhappy marriage but she will not let anyone close again, and as much as she wants children she feels as though her time is up. I actually found that Rose was my favourite character at times I forgot that she was an actress as she felt very down to earth.

Sapphira has a big secret which she has been carrying with her for years but it looks as though her secret has finally been found out. Out of the three characters I found it took me longer for Sapphira to grow on me. She was exactly what I expected an actress who had been in the industry for years to be like and I really didn't think I was going to like her but half way through the book my opinion of her changed and it was great to see the change in her character too.

The story got off to a great, quick start and had my attention gripped from the first few pages. As we go along in the book the chapters alternate between each of the characters so we really get to know each of the characters individually.

I loved how each of the additional characters were developed well as I usually find with books who have a large amount of characters like this the characters seem to be skimmed over so you struggle to remember who was who and who was doing what but this wasn't the case with The Perfect Location.

The story covers a number of issues such as drugs and abuse but the author manages to bring these issues into the storyline without it becoming to deep and depressing. There was so much going on between the pages it made it impossible to put down.

The way the author tied the ending of the book up was perfect as we know how each of the characters end up so we are not left guessing.

This is well worth picking up and a definite book to take away on your holidays this year. I can not wait to read more work from this author



Kindle 99p                    Paperback

Sunday, 20 May 2012

Summer Daydreams by Carole Matthews

The winners of our Carole Matthews give away are 
*Stacey Bennett
* Zoe Lee
*Aileen Russell
* Rainie Bish
* Sarah Ridgeway

Well done Ladies!!

My Review

I am a huge fan of Carole Matthews and I have been eagerly awaiting her next novel. Since Carole has changed publishers her book covers have really changed and are really eye-catching and Summer Daydreams has a beautiful and bright cover which certainly suits the title.

Nell McNamara works in the local fish and chips shop to try and bring more money in to help her struggling family keep their heads above water. Husband Olly is juggling work trying to make ends meet. Nell and Olly have a beautiful little girl called Petal who they have to try and juggle child care between their jobs. Nell wants a better life for her family and after an idea is put in her head by her chip shop boss Phil she decides to go into business on her own. As with the start of any business venture there sure are ups and downs but poor Nell does get more than her fair share of problems.

This book had a very realistic storyline, with so many people struggling with the current economic climate people are trying to do whatever they can to try and bring more money in to take the strain off of the constant flow of bills they have to pay. It was great to see Nell take on a new challenge and to use her own skills to set up a business but it shows how difficult and also how important it is when having your own business to try and get the work and family balance right.  I liked that although Nell is our main character in this book every so often the book switches to Olly’s point of view and we get to see firsthand how Nells new business has an effect on their relationship and also how it is effecting Petal.

I loved little Petal in this book she really was a fun little character that brought a lot of humour to the storyline. I loved the friendly mix of characters in this book there didn’t feel as though there were and ulterior motives from any of the characters which made the book a joy to read it made the book a simple and enjoyable read without having to have your guard up trying to find out who was the bad guy!

Once again Carole’s beautiful writing style had me gripped meaning I finished this book in a few hours. As ever she has created  a great group of characters and a fresh new storyline that just keeps you turning the page. Carole Matthews strikes again!


Kindle                       Paperback

Saturday, 19 May 2012

Writing for Love by Chrissie Manby

So we all have something in common we all love to read but let me ask you something, how many of you would  like to write your own novel? If you have answered yes then this is the e-book for you.




The ideal read for aspiring writers, Writing for Love is an enjoyable and inspiring guide on writing a novel from scratch from bestselling women’s fiction author Chrissie Manby, and it’s available exclusively in eBook format.

Learn everything you need to know from piecing together your first plan to mapping out your plot, laugh at Chrissie's tales of trial and error she's faced during her career, and find the encouragement to knuckle down and write your first novel.

Writing for Love is a fantastic insight into how this prolific author writes her novels. You can also read a special sneak peek of Chrissie Manby's delightful new novel, What I Did On My Holidays, which will be published on 21st June. What I Did On My Holidays is the perfect summer book for anyone looking for a hilarious and escapist read.

 

Thursday, 17 May 2012

Summer Daydreams Give Away

To all you Carole Matthews fans ( ok so that means all of us right!) we have the perfect give away. How would you like to be in with a chance of winning one of 5 books! Summer Daydreams release date in paperback is fast approaching and here is your chance to win yourself a copy of this fabulous book.

Just fill in the form by click on the entry form link below
ENTER HERE

This publishers who have kindly given us these copies have asked that it be a Uk only entry. ( Please don't worry we have a worldwide give away for a different book coming very soon) Winners will be announced on the Evening of Saturday 19th May and will be selected by random.org

Good Luck!

Wednesday, 16 May 2012

The Summer of Secrets by Alison Lucy

Any of you who follow this blog will know I had a fabulous holiday in January to Mexico and I have missed being in that fabulous country so much and so when I read the synopsis of The Summer of Secrets I couldn't wait to start reading it.

The book starts in Mexico in 1989 with Danny and Harriet who are newly weds on their honeymoon. Things soon take a turn for the worst for Danny when his wife leaves and returns home before the end of their holiday. Broken hearted Danny finds himself in the arms of not one but two women to help nurse his broken heart. I know reading that part will automatically get your back up and give a negative perception of Danny, but I loved his character although he seemed like a very troubled character this gave him a kind of vulnerably which only made me warm to his character more.

The storyline soon moves to the present day when we meet Megan, Esme and Claudia who couldn't be any further apart when it comes to their appearances and their personalities but they later find out that they are all looking for the same thing.

This would have been the perfect book to take away with me and it will definitely be one for you all to read to get you in the Summer mood if our weather starts to improve. The descriptive writing the author uses describes Cancun to perfection. I loved the way each chapter changed between each of the three girls because they are so different it made each chapter fresh as we got to know each of the girls. I loved that the author kept us guessing right until the end as to how the story was going to end.

I found it very hard to put down it was a great début novel for Alison Lucy and I will be looking out for more work to come by this author. If you like authors such as Belinda Jones and Victoria Hislop then Alison Author will be a name you will add to your list. This book is due to release tomorrow so pre-order your copy today.



Paperback                Kindle

Sunday, 13 May 2012

The Making Of Us by Lisa Jewell


I have not read a Lisa Jewell book for years and so when I was asked to review her latest novel The Making Of Us I couldn’t wait to start this as reading reviews on this book it seems opinions are straight down the middle so I decided I needed to put my two pence worth in!

The story follows three characters, Lydia, Dean and Robyn who all have something significant in common. They are all living their lives and feel as though something is missing in their lives and one by one they all find out that they were all conceived by sperm donation. As each of the characters come to terms with the shocking news they all sign up to the Donor sibling Registry to try and fill this gap in their lives.

I was worried when I first started reading this book.  I loved the first chapter it was a great start to the book but then after that the book took a bit of a worrying turn for me. As we went chapter to chapter we were introduced to our characters and it seemed each time we started to get to know a character it would then swap to another one and it was a little overwhelming meeting so many significant characters in such a short space of time I was worried that I was going to forget who was who and I was contemplating putting the book down.

I am so glad I carried on reading this book because after the introductions to each of the characters they all started to develop really well and they each had very individual backgrounds which made it easy to differentiate between them. I loved Lydia who seems to be the main feature of this book she has what everyone would view as a perfect life but as we get to know her we get to see her loneliness and her vulnerability which makes her such an enjoyable character. Dean’s story really did tug at the heart strings when first meeting him he just feels like a typical modern day layabout but when we see all has had to go through he soon becomes a character you want to wrap up in cotton wool. I found Robyn the only character I couldn’t take to she is overly confident and vain but then she does bring something different to the book.

The storyline is very fresh and unique, I have never read any books featuring sperm donation! I did find it a little strange how well each of the characters reacted when they found out the truth I think in reality people wouldn’t have accepted the news so quickly but then this is the world of fiction! I did fly through this book despite its hefty 470 pages but it was a fast paced read.

I really enjoyed this book and I did feel the old heart strings being pulled in certain parts of the book. I will definitely pick up future books by Lisa Jewell.


Paperback                 

Saturday, 12 May 2012

Chocolate Shoes and Wedding Blues by Trisha Ashley


I have always found Trisha Ashley’s books a little hit or miss, although I read and enjoy them they never seem to grip me and leave me with a lasting impression and yet there is still something about them that make me pick up her new novel every year.

I will be very surprised if anyone can walk past this book and not turn their head as firstly the title of this book must grab the attention of every woman, I mean Chocolate and shoes in the same sentence, is it just me or does that sound like pure heaven. I also loved the fact that the cover is similar to Chocolate Wishes which makes the book instantly recognisable as Trisha Ashley’s book.

I instantly took a liking to our main character Tansy. She was a very likeable character who had a kind of old fashioned and traditional feel to her. After constantly knocked down by her partner about her weight and her quirky dress sense and with him not wanting children Tansy is a shadow of her former self. 
Things take a change and soon Tansy inherits her Aunt Nans shoe shop, she has a great idea to modernise the shop changing it into Cinderella’s Slippers which sells shoes for the beautiful brides. Things seem to be improving for Tansy if only her ex would get the hint and realise that her life is now in Sticklepond and no longer featured him in her life.

It’s not long before the owner of the house next door arrives and catches Tansy’s breath when she realises he is a blast from the past.

I particularly enjoyed reading Aunt Nans memoires at the beginning of each chapter I thought this was a unique part of the book. There were a great mix of characters in this book some who we have met already in Chocolate Wishes and some new characters, some you take an instant dislike to such as Tansy’s two evil stepsisters and her awful mother but then there were some great warm and friendly characters alongside Tansy such as great Aunt Nan and Bella.

The book had a modern day fairytale romance about it which I loved as it made it an easy read and a feel good feeling. I enjoyed watching Tansy create her shop of her dreams step by step.
This book defiantly gets the thumbs up from me and in my opinion it is Trisha Ashley’s work at its best this is defiantly my favourite book by this author and I would defiantly recommend it.
Paperback                  Kindle

Friday, 11 May 2012

Taking Charge by Mandy Baggot

Plot Is going back Robyn’s only way forward? American-born Robyn Matthers is going home. With her dad in hospital, his roadhouse in ruins and the ice hockey team slipping down the league, she needs to take charge. But does she have the strength to do it?

Cole Ryan is a hockey player on a personal mission. He’s tall, dark, hot and Robyn’s noticed! But can she trust her feelings - or his? And what will Cole do when he finds out the truth about her?

With an ill father, a trailer trash step-mom and ex-boyfriend Brad desperate for another chance, does Robyn have time to contemplate a relationship? Can she start again? Does she really want to? And can two people really fall in love in three days?

My Opinion

After reading the synopsis for Taking Charge which just gave enough information to grab my interest but without giving too much away, I was looking forward to reading this one. I have read all of Mandy’s previous books and I have seen her writing skills growing from strength to strength with her previous book Strings Attached being my favourite. Taking Charge gets off to at fast start enveloping you into the storyline from the first chapter. As soon as we meet Robyn and Cole they immediately feel like genuine, down to earth characters. The storyline was enjoyable and the touch of light-hearted humour broke up the deeper underlying topic of the storyline.

I loved the banter between Eddie and his new hospital neighbour, I found myself looking forward to the hospital chapters just to see what these characters were up to next usually resulting in some kind of cheeky behaviour. I know that fiction is not always realistic but I did find the speedy romance between Robyn and Cole a bit too much in my opinion but if I m honest that’s probably the green eyed monster in me that is making me write this! If only romance was that quick and easy in reality!

One thing that we can always count on from Mandy Baggot and that is to provide us with a mouth wateringly handsome man but she goes one step further in this book and provides us with a whole team of them! This is definitely one to look out for and Mandy Baggot is becoming an author to watch out for. A down to earth day to day storyline with a dreamy romance and testosterone oozing from each page!


Kindle                          Paperback

Wednesday, 9 May 2012

Ten Years On by Alice Peterson


I loved Alice Peterson’s previous novel Monday to Friday Man and I have been eagerly awaiting the arrival of her new novel Ten Years On which I was hoping was going to be just as good.


Ten Years On centres around the two characters Rebecca and Joe. Rebecca is an instantly loveable and warm character who you just feel the need to wrap her up in bubble wrap and look after her! 

When we first meet Joe he is definitely a ladies man but as the book progresses I found that each time Joe is around I was getting a little hot under the collar (as were most of the characters in the book!) It has been ten years since they last had contact but now Rebecca’s circumstances change and she finds herself running back to her childhood home while she recovers, the last thing she expected was for Joe to still be in the same village. They are forced to confront their past which caused them to lose contact but will they be able to move on and start a new chapter?

I am sure any of you who read Monday to Friday Man had a tear in your eye by the end of that book, well I think you will have a tear at the beginning, middle and end of Ten Years On! I have not had a real weepy book since Me Before You but the old lump in the throat definitely occurs in this book but although it is an emotional read, I didn’t find it really low and depressing. I was gripped from the start of this book and I think it is because it is such a touching and easy read which flowed at a great pace all the way through meaning I couldn’t put it down hence the reason I finished it in one sitting!

The story alternates at times back when Rebecca and Joe first knew each other and then back again to 10 years later when they re-meet. I loved this as it gave the characters more depth and gave us more insight into the relationship between the two characters. We don’t find out until a little further on as to why Rebecca and Joe lost contact but I did have an inkling as to why this could have been but this didn’t ruin the storyline or the enjoyment of the book.

It was quite clear that a little research had been done for this book as there were some very interesting references and tips when it came to wine tasting so I am assuming that the author had quite an interesting time doing research for this book!

This is a definite for all of your to be read piles a little weepy and a lot of hope this one will be pulling at your heart strings. I will definitely be reading more work in the future by Alice Peterson.



Paperback               Kindle

Tuesday, 8 May 2012

Interview with Alice Peterson

I really enjoyed Monday to Friday Man by Alice Peterson and so when I heard she was releasing a new book I knew I just had to read it. We are lucky enough today to have Alice over on the blog for a little chat and to tell us a little about her new book.



1) Tell us a little bit about your new book. 

Ten Years On is based around two characters, Joe and Rebecca, who meet at college and become good friends - but for a reason I can’t say (I don’t want to spoil it entirely!) they lose touch. Ten years later, they meet again, and all those questions about their past slowly unfold. The themes of the story are grief and the courage it takes to move on. It’s about being true to yourself and following your dream. And finally, it’s a moving love story.

2) I found there was a lot of detailed information delicately put into the book regarding wine tasting! Did you have fun carrying out the research for this book?

Did I have fun? I had the best fun! I signed up for a six-week Berry Bros course and learned a lot about wine, and rarely did I use the spittoon! I had to be careful heading home in the tube, making sure I didn’t lose my balance on the escalators…

3) Are your characters in this novel based on people you know?

You can vaguely spot my dad in Harvey, Rebecca’s father. My dad loves old china and wears daring pink cardigans! I wish Joe was based on someone I know… To me, he is the most perfect man. We also used to have a Miniature Dachshund called Jasmine, the inspiration for Audrey. There always has to be a dog in my novels…!

4) What gave you the inspiration for this book?

A friend of mine very sadly divorced and had to move back to her childhood home, so that her mother could give her support with her two children while she worked. She was very funny about not wanting to bump into her parents’ friends in Sainsburys – she also said how hard it was to leave her old life and London behind. This was the beginning of my idea - it really grew from there.

5) Are you currently working on your next novel (we are impatient!) If so can you tell us what to expect?

I am working on a new novel - I am so passionate about this one. It’s going to make you laugh and cry, and it’s very provocative. It should get you thinking, in the same way that Ten Years On does…

6) What was the last book you read?

Can I say the last best book I read was Jojo Moyes, Me before You. I couldn’t put it down.

7) If you were stuck on a tropical Island what would be your 3 must have items?

Suncream – I burn easily… Pen and paper Could you call my dog, Mr Darcy, an item?

8) Are you a kindle convert or do you still prefer a good traditional paperback?

 I don’t have a Kindle yet but I love the fact that readers download my books on to them… Having said that, I will always continue to buy books too – my home would look really strange without my bookshelves. Deep down, I’m an old-fashioned girl at heart.

Thank you so much for taking the time to talk to us Alice. Come back tomorrow when my review of Ten Years On will be up.


Pre-order your copy below
Kindle                          Paperback

Sunday, 6 May 2012

The Love Letter by Fiona Walker



When Allegra North parted from first love Francis after a decade together, she poured all her regret into a letter. He didn’t reply. A year later her job brings her back to beautiful Devon coast where romance first blossomed and she hopes they can start a new chapter.


 A family crisis fans the old flames from the start, and sparks fly when a chance encounter makes Allegra question whether Francis was ever really on the same page. As summer storms circle, the exes juggle rebellious parents, vengeful family members, and a very reluctant celebrity author who holds the key to everyone’s future. Just when Allegra thinks she can’t blot her copy book any further, she finds herself held to ransom by her own love letter. Should she read between the lines, or is the writing on the wall? 

This is the first book I have read by Fiona Walker and I have to say when it was arrived I was shocked at the size of the book. Sealed With a Kiss is a prequel e-book to The Love Letter which is set 12 months before this book. I didn’t read the prequel which introduces you to the characters and involves the same letter that The Love Letter is about. For those of you who do not have an e-reader please do not be put off reading The Love Letter if you cannot read Sealed With a Kiss as I still found that the author develops each of the characters beautifully in this book so you can follow who everyone is without feeling like you are missing out on something. There is such a vast amount of characters in this book some that I loved and some I found I had my guard up around.

 I did struggle with the first quarter of the book I found it was a very slow start and I found myself picking the book up and putting it back down it just didn’t seem to grip my attention. I am glad to say after the slow start to the book things began to pick up and I found myself flicking through the pages as the pace of the book increased and the air of mystery finally caught my attention.

There seemed to be so many things going on in this book it really is action packed. I did find that from early on in the book I had my suspicions as to who the writer Gordon Lapis really was and my suspicions were right but it was great to watch the truth unfold. Although I predicted this part of the book there were still many twists and turns coming to light throughout the book. I did enjoy this book but I do feel that it didn’t need to be as long as it was.

I would definitely read another book by Fiona Walker again as she does have a lovely style of writing but I just hope that the next book doesn’t feel so drawn out, sometimes less really is more.




Kindle                       Paperback

Tuesday, 1 May 2012

May Releases

Pinch, Punch first of the month!!! Let's have a look at some of the releases this month




Which one's will you be adding to your To Be Read pile!

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...