Saturday, 30 March 2013

Husband Missing by Polly Williams


Gina has only been married six months when her husband Rex goes on holiday to Spain and vanishes without a trace, tipping her dream new marriage into nightmare. As a frantic search gets nowhere, Gina is adamant that he's alive and vows never to give up hope. Speculation is rife: he's drowned at sea, lost his memory...or just walked away. 

Troubling stories start to emerge about Rex's past that are hard to square with the man she married. How well does she really know her handsome, charismatic husband? They'd fallen in love so quickly, so passionately, that the past had seemed barely relevant to either of them. Now an explosive secret threatens to rewrite the story of their love affair. As the mystery of Rex's whereabouts deepens, Gina begins to wonder whether you only ever truly know the person you love once they've gone.


I was a little reluctant to start Husband Missing by Polly Williams as I have recently lost my Nan who is my world and so have been trying to read “happy” books but the cover of this book keeps calling out to me it is hard to miss the sunset colours so I caved in. The synopsis does a fantastic job at sparking your interest without giving to much away.

Gina’s life is turned upside down when she gets a phone call from her brother in-law to say that Gina’s husband Rex has gone missing on their lad’s holiday. After months of searching everyone begins to accept that Rex has died but Gina still believes that Rex is still alive and she clings on to this hope. As the search carries on Gina then unearths secrets from his past which leave her questioning if she really knows her husband at all.

This was a very moving read but not a tear jerker so no need to reach for the tissues. The book begins right at the point when Rex has gone missing so we never get a chance to meet or hear from Rex first hand which is a bit of a shame as I think it may have answered a few questions but then the way in which the book was written was all from Gina’s voice she was talking to us as though she was talking to Rex which is an unusual style and did take a while to get used to but I soon found myself comfortable in the style of the book. You develop a strong bond with Gina and I think this is because of the way in which the book was written because we get to hear first hand the thoughts and feelings through  the whole situation. There are also a couple of chapters that are told from Mandy who was another lovely character.

The book was both predictable and unpredictable.  Right up until the last chapter I couldn't predict what was going to happen whether Rex was would be found or not or indeed whether he was alive or dead. The situation surrounding Jake was predictable but I enjoyed this part most out of the book, it does help that Jake is such a caring gentle character. With the subject of the book being a very moving topic it was a lovely touch to have Gina’s best friends  Lucy and Femi who are great characters whole bring a little light to the book and support to Gina.

This was a thought provoking read that kept me hooked throughout the whole book. Another great read from Polly Williams.



Paperback               Kindle

Thursday, 28 March 2013

Good Husband Material by Trisha Ashley

James is everything Tish has ever wanted in a husband – she’s married a man who even her mother approves of. He’s handsome, dependable, and will make an excellent father – unlike Tish’s first love, the disreputable Fergal. Her teenage sweetheart abandoned her for a music career and now lives a typical celebrity lifestyle. Fergal broke her heart – James helped mend it. Now, they’ve bought a cottage in the country.

The next step – kids and a lifetime of domestic bliss. Well, that’s the plan. And even if James has a slight tendency to view the village pub as a second home, their relationship is still in pretty good shape after seven years of marriage. So why is marriage to Mr Rightf making her long for Mr Wrong?


I have thoroughly enjoyed Trisha Ashley’s last two books so I was eager to get her next book Good Husband Material. The cover is very similar to her other books it seems to be a signature look for this author which is great because you know it is her book before you even see her name and personally I love the cover it looks very cosy and appropriate for Spring not that our weather seems to realise it is now spring!

The book began at a very slow pace with the storyline slowly developing and the main character Tish gradually growing on me.  Tish and Fergals romance comes to an end when his career takes him off to America where Tish doesn’t feel it is the right time to follow. With Tish heartbroken and having other family issues it was James who then took her hand and married her and began to create a life together. It isn’t until they move to Tish’s dream cottage in the country that cracks begin to form in their relationship which then isn’t helped by the new arrival to the village, Fergal.

As fast as my hatred grew towards bad boy James my love for the lovable and independent Tish began to form. Although she seemed very blind as to the goings on around her at first she soon became a very strong and capable character who was intent of making the right decisions, I was hoping that at some point in the book Tish would finally wake up and smell the roses and kick James to the curb! As you can tell there isn’t a single nice thing I can say about James character so the author has created the perfect bad boy.

Although the main part of the book is told around Tish’s point of view at the end of each chapter we get a headline from various articles about Fegal and a paragraph or two from him so we slowly get to know his character at the beginning of the book so that when he does make an appearance we are familiar with him and personally I think this was a great way to introduce his character.

The book covers infidelity, romance and hidden secrets all which keep you gripped throughout the whole of the book. I had my suspicions about certain things throughout the book and so I couldn’t wait to get to the end to see if I was right. I was very well behaved and didn’t take an early peek!

This is another favourite of mine from Trisha Ashley.


Paperback                Kindle






We have Trisha Ashley with us today to answer some questions for us.


1)  What gave you the inspiration to write this book?
I was living in the middle of a town when I wrote the first draft and doing a bit of the Good Life thing – baking bread, making jam, growing herbs and fruit – while dreaming of living in the country.
      Then I wondered what would happen if I took a couple who appeared on the surface to have a rock-solid marriage and to want the same thing, and moved them to the country cottage of their dreams…or the heroine’s dreams, anyway.  So I did that and major faultlines in their marriage soon started to appear.

2) I loathed James in Good Husband Material, you definitely created a bad guy there.  Is he based on anyone you know (I sure hope not!) and do you find it hard to write bad characters.
      The first version of this was written a very long time ago and there is a touch or two of a friend’s truly dreadful husband in there!  It’s fun writing the bad characters and the strange thing about some men who behave badly is that they really don’t understand why their wives/partners can’t just forgive and forget their little foibles.
    
3)  Through a couple of your books now there have been characters who are authors, other than this do you ever put any more of your own characteristics into you characters?
Often my main protagonist will be an author or an artist of some kind, because those are the sorts of occupations I’m familiar with.  But I write in first person from the heroine’s viewpoint and I have to get to know her and what has formed her character before I begin writing each book. Looking at the world and reacting to it in a way totally different to the way I would do myself is the major excitement in writing the book.  My characters often surprise me.
       They say your first book is autobiographical, but if that’s so, then I probably got it out of my system long ago – I’ve written at least one book a year since I was eighteen.

4)  Are you working on your next book and is there a little teaser you can give us?
I’m just doing the edits for Wish upon a Star, which will be out later in the year, before getting back to the ideas for the next one.  I haven’t so far released any information about Wish upon a Star – it was such an emotive book to write that I’m still hugging it close – but it is set in the village of Sticklepond and the star of the title is a little girl called Stella with serious health issues.

5) What was the last book you read, and would you recommend it?
The advantage of being an author is that you often get to see other novelist’s latest books long before they hit their shelves!  I’ve just read Margaret James’ romantic comedy The Wedding Diary, which is out in May and great fun (if they make a film, the lovely dog in it will be the star, I guarantee it) and have started Carole Matthews next one, Calling Mrs Christmas, which I  know I will love just as much as her previous ones.

6)  Are you a kindle convert?
No, although I can see their advantages for readers who travel or commute a lot.  I do love the look, feel and smell of a brand new book, and to see them lining my shelves like so many treasures.  Apart from that, I have a degenerating eye condition that mean I do too much staring at a screen already, while writing!

7)  If you were stuck on a desert island, what would be your three must-have items?
Actor Rufus Sewell and an endless supply of pencils and paper would be nice.

Thank you for taking the time to talk to us, I can not wait for Wish Upon a Star to be released later this year.  

Sunday, 24 March 2013

The Accidental Husband by Jane Green


Maggie and Sylvie are perfect strangers: two very different women, living very different lives on opposite coasts. But they share more in common than they could ever imagine. Both women have beautiful children on the verge of flying the nest, the home they worked hard to build and always longed for, and a handsome and devoted husband they can't believe belongs to them. 

Both women think their lives are seamlessly secure, but they couldn't be more wrong . . .

For each is about to discover a secret that will shake their world to the very core, throwing into doubt everything they ever thought they knew, and bringing Maggie and Sylvie together in the most unexpected way.


Jane Green was one of the first authors I read when my passion for reading began. Jemima J and Straight Talking were favourites of mine. I haven’t read any of her more recent books so I was looking forward to reading The Accidental Husband to see if her new books still live up to her old ones.

Sylvia is struggling having her husband continuously away with work and her mother who is very demanding and negative, now to top things off she is beginning to worry about her daughter Eve.
On the other side of the coast Maggie is living the life of Luxury, she isn't around much for her children but when her daughter delivers some devastating news her life begins to crumble down around her.

This book was nothing but trouble! As I put my dinner in the oven and began to make a start on this book I was instantly hooked and the chapters are short so you keep thinking oh just one more but of course that lead to another and another until before I knew it dinner was burnt! Then to top it off I couldn't put the book down so stayed up until 1.30am to finish it and then slept through my alarm so was late for work! So is this book worth reading? Well I think you have your answer!

Sylvia’s character in particular has been developed very well she is a devoted and caring daughter, mother and wife. My heart went out to her with the problems that lay heavily on her shoulders. The situation regarding her daughter Eve was also very well written being told from both sides of the story from how both Eve and Sylvia felt about the situation. This really is a very delicate subject but it was covered very well.
I didn't like Maggie’s character when we first met her but towards the last half of the book her character came round full circle in the end and she also became a joy to read.

There were a couple of emotional moments in this book that had the heartstrings being pulled and had me hoping I would never find myself in the same situation.The main storyline was rather predictable and ever so far fetched but it is the way the family’s dealt with the situation which made this book so readable.

This book is definitely up there with my favourites by this author. If you are looking for something fast paced that will have you engrossed from start to finish give this one a go.


Paperback               Kindle 

Tuesday, 19 March 2013

A Cottage by the Sea by Carole Matthews


Grace has been best friends with Ella and Flick forever. The late-night chats, shared heartaches and good times have created a bond that has stood the test of time.

When Ella invites them to stay for a week in her cottage in South Wales, Grace jumps at the chance to see her old friends. She also hopes that the change of scenery will help her reconnect with her distant husband. 

Then Flick arrives; loveable, bubbly, incorrigible Flick, accompanied by the handsome and charming Noah. This is going to be one week which will change all their lives forever...



I decided to settle down and make a start on Carole Matthews new book A Cottage by the Sea last night, I only expected to make a start not completely finish it but that is exactly what happened!

There is something about this authors writing style that is so comforting and I seem to visibly relax when I settle into her books and reading this book was no different. A Cottage by The Sea has a lovely group of friends and their partners who are all taking some time out from their day to day lives and holidaying together in the middle of nowhere. Some are more happy about the location than others as with the cottage being so remote there is no phone signal and no local shops or pubs! Grace, Eve and Flick have all been friends since uni so this is a great time for them to all catch up but they all seem to be having problems in their love lives, will this break get the relationships running smoothly.

The scene is set beautifully thanks to the authors descriptive writing style, you can picture the beautiful surroundings and you cant help but feel as though you are there living the story with the characters. The relationship between the three girls feels very genuine even though they all have very different characteristics. Grace is our main character and she is a very natural and loving character I loved her through the whole of the book other than in one chapter where I wanted to wring her neck but then she makes up for it a little with a golf club!

I think everyone who reads this book is going to fall in love with Noah as men like him are few and far between. You can feel  the chemistry between Noah and Grace flowing through the pages but I do love that Grace wasn’t predictable in her actions and she went up a step higher in my expectations. We are led all the way through the book thinking will they wont they it was unpredictable.

This story is full of friendship, love, heartbreak and secrets which is why it is such a captivating read. I loved this book it has got me ready for Summer ( can some just let the weather man know!) 

A Cottage by the Sea is available now on kindle and is released on 28th March in paperback


Paperback               Kindle

Sunday, 17 March 2013

The Perfect Retreat by Kate Forster


Can you live on love alone? Willow Carruthers – British Oscar winner, style icon and mother of three is facing a crisis: she’s broke, discovery of her partner’s infidelity has left her a single mother and, if the banks have their way, she’s about to be homeless.

Meanwhile nanny to Wilow’s children Kitty, is desperate to keep her job and knows just the place they can retreat too – her crumbling ancestral home in the Bristol countryside, Middlemist House. To both women in their hour of need, the idea of leaving LA seems brilliant in theory, until Kitty’s brother Merritt returns home unannounced. From 

London to L.A, The Perfect Retreat is pure escapism - full of sex, scandal and intrigue.



I loved Kate Forster’s modern, sassy novel The Perfect Location last year so I had high hopes for her new release The Perfect Retreat.

The book has a great mix of characters from all different walks of life and the story includes each of the characters own personal storylines so there isn’t one main character similar to in her previous book.
The lovely Kitty is a nanny for celebrity Willow’s children. Willow needs to get back in the spot light so she can financially support her children after they become homeless. For the time being Kitty offers Willow a lifeline by letting them move into Middlemist Manor, the home both Kitty and her brother Merritt have inherited.

Merritt is such a loveable gentleman, he is very traditional so the way he coped having a celebrity and her three children living under the same roof was a surprise. He seemed to warm to the children with ease.
Some of the disabilities that the characters have were very delicately written about and both disabilities I have never come across in a fiction bool before so it brought something very unique to this book.

I was shocked by the way Willow’s relationship with her children at the beginning of this book, they seemed to come across as a hindrance to her but thankfully as the storyline moved along it was great to see the change in her relationship with the children which made me warm to her character a little more.

There was a large helping of romance in this book with a splash of the sauciness we had in the last book. I was hooked throughout the whole of the book I really couldn’t put it down. I would have liked to have found out more about the secrets Ivo had uncovered but this may just be me being greedy!

If you’re looking for a book full of romance, fame and fortune then this is the book for you. If you have a kindle head over and grab your copy below whilst it is still only 99p!!!



Friday, 15 March 2013

A Stitch in Time by Amanda James


Sarah Yates is a thirty-something history teacher, divorced, disillusioned and desperate to have more excitement in her life. Making all her dreams come true seems about as likely as climbing Everest in stilettos.

Then one evening the doorbell rings and the handsome and mysterious John Needler brings more excitement than Sarah could ever have imagined. John wants Sarah to go back in time ... Sarah is whisked from the Sheffield Blitz to the suffragette movement in London to the Old American West, trying to make sure people find their happy endings. The only question is, will she ever be able to find hers?



When I was sent A Stitch in Time to read I was a little apprehensive because of the time travelling theme but I do like to try something different from time to time.

It took me quite a while to get into this book but I think this is because I was so unsure about the whole time travelling thing but I am so glad I gave this book a chance because when the time travelling first came to light in the story our main character Sarah takes it in such a great way, she doesn't seem to take it as a normal day to day event she is shocked and feels as though she is hallucinating and she also has 101 questions about it all. It was because of this that I carried on reading because although the author has taken a very unlikely subject matter she has brought a very realistic reaction to the character so she won me over, on so many occasions when I am reading books this isn't the case and so you can not relate to the character but because of this Sarah was a more realistic character.

John was a lovable heartthrob who I loved from the moment we met him and my love for his character grew with the book. Sarah and John both make this book a joy to read. It is a wonderfully thought out storyline something that is very fresh with the use of Time Needles and Stitches and when Sarah is sent back in time the description of her surroundings set the scene perfectly and really sparked my interest.

I was expecting something a little futuristic when I read about time travel but this wasn't the case at all, by the time Sarah takes her second journey back in time it actually feels like a normal event!

I would really recommend this book it has a touching romance to add to an intriguing storyline definitely something you wouldn't have read before. I look forward to more books by this author.

This book is available on kindle now, the paperback copy is released 7th April.


Paperback                Kindle

Thursday, 14 March 2013

The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris by Jenny Colgan


As dawn breaks over the Pont Neuf, and the cobbled alleyways of Paris come to life, Anna Trent is already awake and at work; mixing and stirring the finest, smoothest, richest chocolate; made entirely by hand, it is sold to the grandes dames of Paris. It's a huge shift from the chocolate factory she worked in at home in the north of England. But when an accident changed everything, Anna was thrown back in touch with her French teacher, Claire, who offered her the chance of a lifetime - to work in Paris with her former sweetheart, Thierry, a master chocolatier. With old wounds about to be uncovered and healed, Anna is set to discover more about real chocolate - and herself - than she ever dreamed. I felt like I was in book heaven when Jenny Colgan’s new book arrived in the post this week. What more could a woman ask for in a book than the words Chocolate and Paris! I had insanely high hopes for this book I wanted to devour it as quick as a bar of chocolate rather than sit and savour it!


The story alternates between the past with Claire’s stay in Paris to the present with Anna’s adventures in Paris. Anna has been working in a chocolate factory so when she has an accident that leaves her a little lost in direction until her old French School Teacher Claire arranges for her to have a taster at working with a chocolatier friend of hers in Paris.

The amount of research that must have gone into this book shines through from the picturesque setting of Paris to the mouth-wateringly detailed description of chocolate making and tasting I only wish the author would have found it in her heart to have invited me along for the research!

There is more than just a beautiful setting in Paris and heavenly chocolate  to this story there is also romance which I am sure you would expect from a book set in the romantic Paris. There was a particularly emotional part in this book as well which was very touching. One of my favourite books is Meet me at the Cupcake Café which is also by this author and I am sure a lot of you who are reading this review would have read it, that book has a very warm cosy feel to the book whereas this book feels a little more chic and traditional.

I did find the choice of injury to Anna a little bizarre but I did love her character she seemed to have come to a point in her life where she needed a little push in the right direction so she could make the most of her life which I think most of us can sympathise with.

One thing that seemed to be a great hit in this authors books are the recipes she gives us and I am pleased to tell you that they feature in this book too. I am very tempted to make the Malteser Cake!
This is a fantastically written book that will get those taste buds dancing, I thoroughly  enjoyed this book now I can’t wait for Christmas at Rose Hopkins’ Sweet Shop.


Paperback               Kindle

Tuesday, 12 March 2013

Never Google Heartbreak by Emma Garcia


When her fiancé Rob breaks off their engagement for the third time, Viv does what any girl would do - she Googles heartbreak. Confronted by tales of misery, she decides to set-up her own self-help website for the broken-hearted. But as Viv passes through the three essential stages of grief (denial, vodka, disastrous haircut), she becomes determined that it's not too late to try and get Rob back. When things get out of hand after a drunken declaration of love at an extremely inappropriate moment, Viv's scruffy, tequila-swilling best friend Max is there to pick up the pieces. Viv starts to realise that maybe the real thing has been under her nose all this time, and now - one ex and a massive error of judgement later - she has to face the question: What's the craziest thing you'll do for love?



After losing my reading mojo this book has well and truly found it again for me. Never Google Heartbreak is Emma Garcia’s debut novel and what a way to enter the world of fiction. Viv is heartbroken after her fiancé announces that he can’t go through with their up and coming wedding ( for the third time!) To try and seek help from others she googles heartbreak but when she doesn't find what she is looking for she decides to launch her own self-help website for the heartbroken! Will she be able to get over her ex and find love again or will she do everything in her power to get her ex Rob back?

This book was so addictive I didn't put it down. It helps that the authors writing style keeps you gripped throughout the whole of the book. It is a light easy read full of humour and romance. Viv is a witty character who you will laugh and sympathise with and at points cringe at. From the start I couldn't see what it was that she saw in her fiancé Rob he had every characteristics in a man that would set off all the warning signs. I loved her two best friends Lucy and Max. Lucy is as mad as Viv and the gorgeous Max seems to be a little more grounded but he won my heart straight away!

Parts of the book were predictable but this doesn't effect the enjoyment of the book. The chapter regarding the wedding was both cringe worthy and witty and has to be my favourite part of the book. I loved the book and was surprised how quickly I was flying through this my only thing is I felt the ending was a little rushed.

I would definitely recommend this book it is a great debut novel and I look forward to reading more books by this author in the future.
Paperback              Kindle

Monday, 11 March 2013

Could It Be I'm Falling In Love by Eleanor Prescott


This Valentine's Day, Roxy Squires is waiting for the phone to ring... Roxy is famous. At least, she used to be. She's a good-time TV presenter and, OK, so things haven't been going so well recently, but she knows her big break is just around the corner. What she's really looking for is someone to propel her back to the big time. Enter Woody, one-time pop star and Roxy's ultimate dream date, now working as her window cleaner. He's the answer to her prayers - but for some reason, he doesn't want to be famous any more. And it turns out that they're not the only celebs in the village. Roxy's living amongst a motley crew of former stars and fame survivors, who meet weekly to discuss their new lives. Is this the reality check Roxy needs? Or maybe it's a chance to do the unthinkable and fall in love...?



I have had Could it be I’m Falling in Love? On my to be read pile for a couple of weeks and although I loved the synopsis all about “has-been” celebrities which really appealed to me I have to say I was rather intimidated by the size of this book at 558 pages long!

When the book begins and we meet one of our main characters Roxy I was a little unsure as to whether  I would finish this book as I didn't like her character. She was fame hungry and she didn't seem to have anything else about her personality it seemed that fame was her whole life. Luckily we then meet Woody who was very lovable character who was very easy to warm too.  When things begin to look shaky for Roxy, Woody takes her under his wing and introduces her to a group of “has beens” who meet weekly to chat about their new lives.

I loved the mix of characters in this book we have many characters from different aspects of the limelight and they all brought something different to the book. Luckily as the book progressed Roxy began to mellow a little and towards the end of the book I can actually say I did like her character which is unusual for a character to come around full circle for me!

My two favourite things about this book have to be the ending the way that it was all wrapped up perfectly not leaving you on a cliff hanger and wondering if there will be a follow up book. Also the guessing game the author gets not only the characters but also the reader involved with! I didn't see this part happening so when it came up I was racking my brains trying to solve the mystery and I failed! (sorry I can’t tell you more than that otherwise it has to come with a massive SPOILER ALERT!)

This book is perfectly set out in that the chapters alternate between each character so you get to know the characters well and each of the chapters are only 2-3 pages long so it is easy to pick up and put down. This was an enjoyable book once the story had got going I do feel that it was a little drawn out at the beginning and so the book could have easily shed at least a hundred or so pages but all in all this was a great read.

Friday, 8 March 2013

A French Affair by Katie Fforde


Gina and Sally Makepiece have inherited a stall in the French House - an antiques centre nestled in the heart of the English countryside. Gina is determined to drag the French House and its grumpy owner into the twenty-first century. 
Bearing all the attributes of a modern-day Mr Rochester, Matthew Ballinger is less than happy with the whirlwind that has arrived on his doorstep. 
The last thing either of them want is to fall in love. But will a trip to France change their minds?




Katie Fforde has always been a favourite author of mine. Her books are like comfort food to me! I always find that the author creates lovable characters and she sets such a cosy scene so you can see why I look forward to her new book each year.

The synopsis of this book gives very little away and yet tells you enough to spark your interest. With the story line mainly surrounding three characters it was quite easy to follow the characters without being bombarded with so many extra characters. Sisters Sally and Gina have inherited a stall in the glorious French House selling antiques which is a far cry from the girls usual jobs! With the help of owner Matthew they hope to bring in a good profit but the last think Gina expected to find was a romance blossoming!

I enjoyed the story line of this book, the antique dealing is something I have only read about once before in a fiction book and funny enough that was another one of Katie’s books called Bidding for Love which I recommend as I loved that book! I think this author must have a passion for antiques to have had this as the subject matter in two of her books.

This is the first book by Katie Fforde that I have read where I didn't fall in love with the characters from the first chapter. I found Matthew a very uptight, cold character and Gina was a little to plain and had no spark to her but luckily as the book moved along I began to warm to Gina’s character as her personality and her passion began to shine unfortunately I still didn't warm to Matthew, I much preferred his overly large dog and his quirky old friend Nicholas!

The authors descriptive writing is still setting a perfect scene in this book you could picture the French House in your mind. There is also a nice dose of complicated romance to keep you interested in the story line.

I always rush out to by Katie Fforde’s new books she is one of my top ten authors and although I did enjoy this book it did seem to lack depth to the story line and characters for the first time. This book is still enjoyable and well worth reading but it is not one of my favourites. 



Monday, 4 March 2013

Exciting Times !

I am a big Kid this month it feels like Christmas there are so many great books out this month that I would like to read. It seems like you can go months with having two or three books that shout out to you where as this month I want them all! I have ordered a couple ( shhhhhh! ) and have had a couple sent for review now saving my pennies this month for the others. Which one's will you all be picking up?

Paperback               Kindle


Never Google Heartbreak is a debut book by Emma Garcia and I was luky enough to get an early release copy and have to say I flew through it in no time. This is well worth a read. ( review to come)

Paperback                Kindle


I am in heaven not only is one of my favourite authors bringing out another book this month but her book is about my other favourite thing CHOCOLATE!! I am sure this book was written for me !!!!

Kindle                     Paperback


I am reading The Perfect Retreat at the moment and so far so good so I highly recommend shooting over and getting your pre-order kindle copy at only 99p I am sure it will be the best 99p spent this month.

Hardback                Kindle


I haven't read a Jodi Picoult book in a while so look forward to losing myself in her writing again.

Paperback               Kindle


The Queen of chicklit has another book out this month I have a feeling this one is going to begin to get us in the summer mood!

Paperback                Kindle


Polly Williams won me over with her novel The Angel at No33 so I am looking forward to this book to see what she has in store for us next.



Paperback               Kindle


Jane Green was one of the first authors I read as an adult and I have not read her books in a couple of years so I can't wait to get started on this one.


Kindle                     Paperback


This month certainly seems to be all about Husbands! The cover of this book has been shouting out as me whilst looking on amazon and the last book I read of Trisha's which was Chocolate Shoes and Wedding Blues was a fantastic read so this one has to be on my list.


Saturday, 2 March 2013

Pedigree Mum by Fiona Gibson


Kerry and Rob make the ultimate decision whilst on holiday to move with their two children down to the coast at Shorling-on-sea. What was meant to be an exciting new start in their new home is soon ruined when Rob makes the biggest mistake of his life which is about to effect his whole family.

With Kerry left to settle their two children into their new surroundings things soon become a struggle and the children want one thing which she isn’t too keen on…. A Dog. But will a new furry friend be enough to get the children and Kerrys life back on track?

I have loved all of Fiona Gibson’s books that I have read so once I read the synopsis for this book I couldn’t wait to get my hands on a copy to see what the author has in store for us this time.

The book centres around Kerry although we do get a few chapters with Robs storyline which I have to admit I continually felt like I wanted to throttle the bloke after what he has done so the only reason I wanted to hear his story was just to see him suffer although in my opinion he didn’t suffer enough! Kerry is a character who you easily warm to and you find all the way through the book you are hoping for a spot of happiness to come her way.

This was a great light-hearted easy read that I loved, the only thing I did miss with this book was the humour that the author usually brings to her books. There were some mischievous moments with Buddy the dog that did entertain me though.  As with the authors previous books the writing flows at such a perfect pace that it is quite easy to get swept away with the storyline. I was a little surprised by the ending it didn’t end how I had imagined which was quite a nice surprise in my opinion.

Another great read by Fiona Gibson can not wait for her next book as always.



Kindle                       Paperback

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...