Wednesday, 29 May 2013

Perfect Strangers by Tasmina Perry


Just an innocent invitation... When Sophie Ellis is asked to house-sit at a luxurious Knightsbridge townhouse, it appears to be the offer of a lifetime. Drawn into the glittering circle of the home's owner, she meets wealthy American businessman Nick Cooper and is swept up into a thrilling and passionate affair. But when Nick is found dead in his hotel suite, Sophie is suddenly the prime suspect for his murder, and soon realises Nick was not the man he seemed.

Racing to find the truth and clear her name, Sophie must elude not only the authorities but also a group of dangerous players who believe Sophie has something that they want. And who won't stop until she's caught... Escape with Tasmina Perry from London to New York to the exotic Cote D'Azur, and into a world where a simple case of mistaken identity unravels a web of lies and international conspiracy.


I have previously only read one book by Tasmina Perry which was Private Lives which I really enjoyed so I was looking forward to making a start on Perfect Strangers. Tasmina Perry books always look so warm, bright and summery which always leads me to think they are going to be light easy reads but that is definitely not how I would describe this authors books. They are in depth action packed fast paced reads and this book is no exception!
Chelsea girl Sophie is still grieving for her father, he died of a heart attack after he had lost all their money leaving his family with nothing. Sophie is trying to earn some money and so works in a gym and it is here she meets Lana who offers Sophie the chance to house sit for her in her grand home in Knightsbridge. It is one evening when Sophie is at a high flyers party that Lana was meant to be invited to that Sophie meets Nick. A fast pace relationship begins with Sophie and Nick but things so go wrong when Sophie returns to the hotel room one day to find Nick’s body in the bathroom, problem is there are no other suspects so everything  points to Sophie. Sophie needs to get answers quick and there is only one person who can possibly help her that is Nick’s friend Josh.

I felt my shoulders visibly stiffen when I was reading this book. It was a very intense chase with lots of unexpected twists and turns. The great thing was Sophie didn’t have a clue who was after her or who could have killed Nick and we are in the dark as much as she is. We only begin to unravel truths at the same time as Sophie so we can relate to how she must feel.  There really is no safe place to put this book down, you need to find out what new clue they are going to find out next to try and help us solve the mystery of Nicks death.

I was a little surprised how Josh came across as he was a big part of Sophie’s journey and so having such a big role I thought he would be a male character who we would drool over but although he was protective and seemed to care about Sophie’s wellbeing there was something a little smarmy about him and I think this is because of the reaction from him when he first met Sophie when she was with Nick, this seemed to stay with me all through the book and so I was on edge with his character all the way through. Sophie was a fantastic character who you are routing for from the beginning of the horrible mess she was dragged into. There were many characters in this book but each of the characters were well written and easily defined.  

The book is unpredictable, each time I had an inkling as to who the killer was something was then thrown into the equation to throw me off track. This book was action packed and had me on edge for the majority of the book!


It was a truly thrilling and captivating read that I would definitely recommend. Roll on the next Tasmina Perry book!


Paperback                 Kindle

Sunday, 26 May 2013

Sunday Special!

It has been a busy week on the blog this week. We have had reviews for four fantastic books, if you missed out on any of the reviews then just click on the book title below and it will take you to the review.

Wish You Were Here by Victoria Connelly
Billy and Me by Giovanna Fletcher
Vivien's Heavenly Ice Cream Shop by Abby Clements
It's Up To You New York by Tess Daly

Many of you have commented on twitter and facebook to say you have picked up a copy of one of the above books so I hope you are out in the sun today devouring your books!

We haven't had a giveaway on the blog for a while and because it is bank holiday weekend we are going to have a UK bumper giveaway ( sorry worldwide bookworms your time will come soon, unfortunatly these are too heavy to post out to you )



For your chance to win these books just enter the rafflecopter entry below.
The winner will be picked on Tuesday so good luck.


a Rafflecopter giveaway


KINDLE DEALS OF THE DAY

I have been on Amazon having a nose at the kindle books at good prices, and these are the ones that caught my eye.

77p                                    99p                            59p



Enjoy your Bank Holiday Weekend, remember to pop by and tell us what you are reading xXx

Saturday, 25 May 2013

It's Up to you New York by Tess Daly


Will Holly find love in the city where dreams are made? Fielding calls from disgruntled customers on a crispbread telesales careline isn't exactly where Holly Collins saw herself in life. Living in a shoebox flat and working in a windowless building on an outer London industrial estate were never quite what she'd had in mind. So when Holly is picked from obscurity to take part in Street Scout, a television series on the hunt for fashion's next big model, life finally seems to be taking a turn for the better for the happy-go-lucky twenty-something. Surely this is her big moment? But Holly knows only too well that dreams are just that and when it feels like everything - and everybody - is conspiring against her, Holly heads for New York with her best friend Meg. The magic of Manhattan has Holly in its grasp: strutting down 5th Avenue and drinking two too many cosmopolitans, taking romantic carriage rides in Central Park and standing at the top of the Empire State building she can scarcely believe how far away the real world seems. But when Holly is faced with the biggest decision of her life can she make the fairy tale become a reality?


After reading The Camera Never Lies by Tess Daly last year I knew I would be wanting to lose myself in another of her books and today was a perfect day as I sat on the sofa opened It’s Up To You New York and I didn’t move until I had completed it!

Holly Collins has a less than glamorous life she works in telesales for VitaSlim and the future isn’t looking bright. That all changes when she is selected to become a contestant on a new reality tv show Street Scout, this is her chance become the next big model on the scene and would be life changing. Although this sounds like a dream come true for Holly her partner James doesn’t seem to be happy for her but luckily she has best friend Meg to encourage her at every turn. Will Holly make it big?

What a glamorous and entertaining read. I did not put his book down. The storyline flowed so well that I just got swept along with the storyline. Set pretty much in the lime light with celebrities and big shots, meant that it was a very modern and glitzy read. What I loved was how grounded Holly was, I was expecting a diva alert but it always seemed like Holly was like a fish out of water in a big bad but glorious world. There were some great characters in this book I loved how genuine Sasha and Meg were I loved both of these ladies. This is the first book I have read in which I didn’t trust any of the male characters they all had me on guard and I couldn’t work out who were the good guys and who were the bad guys but this only kept me reading on so that I could get to the bottom of it!

The author has quite clearly used her back ground knowledge in modelling to write this book and it shows. We are introduced to the world of competitive nature, body image pressure, and of course the bitchiness as there are no friends in business!

I really enjoyed this book and I think I actually prefer it to her debut book. I would love to read another book by Tess Daly but I am hoping that next time we may have something a little less predictable, I would like to see where else Tess Daly can take her writing.



Paperback                Kindle

Friday, 24 May 2013

Vivien's Heavenly Ice Cream Shop by Abby Clements


When Imogen and Anna unexpectedly inherit their grandmother Vivien's ice cream parlour, it turns both their lives upside-down. The Brighton shop is a seafront institution, but while it's big on charm it's critically low on customers. If the sisters don't turn things around quickly, their grandmother's legacy will disappear forever.

With summer looming, Imogen and Anna devise a plan to return Vivien's to its former glory. Rather than sell up, they will train up, and make the parlour the newest destination on the South Coast foodie map. While Imogen watches the shop, her sister flies to Italy to attend a gourmet ice cream-making course. But as she works shoulder-to-shoulder with some of the best chefs in the industry, Anna finds that romance can bloom in the most unexpected of places...


As soon as I heard the title of the new Abby Clements new book I knew this was going to be my kind of read. I love books that take place in shops such as Meet Me at the Cupcake Café and Rosie Hopkins Sweetshop of Dreams so I was sure this was going to be a similar kind of read. If the delicious title isn’t enough t in you over then just look at the cover it is stunning and is easily my favourite cover of the year, I am sure it will be impossible for any chick lit fans to walk past this book in the shop!

The last thing sisters Anna and Imogen expected at the reading of their grandma Vivian’s will was to be left her ice cream shop. Anna has just moved into her first hme which she has saved hard for for years and worked herself to the bone. Imogen is living her dream taking underwater pictures abroad, so running the run down family business was not on the girls to do list. Will the girls be able to forfill their grandma’s wishes or will their original dreams stand in the way?

This was a delightful, feel good read. It was everything I was hoping for and more. The characters were wonderfully well written. I loved both our main characters, Imogen was an exciting character, a real dreamer who like an adventure which is completely different to her older sister Anna who felt like a more grounded and homily character but who is also very ambitious so as you can imagine both girls brought something a little different to the book.

I loved how the storyline centered around the ice cream shop the whole way through, it was great to  see the highs and the lows in getting the shop back up and running again. The story goes more in-depth in the running and the start up of the shop than I have found with other similar books and this was something I really enjoyed.

The authors descriptive writing shines in this book and the author has clearly done some great research in Italy too. The book was unpredictable and the ending was tied up perfectly too both of which are always a big thumbs up from me.

If you are looking for a light, entertaining, easy read for your holidays this book will be a perfect choice for you. Pure Perfection.


Paperback               Kindle

Thursday, 23 May 2013

Billy and Me by Giovanna Fletcher


Sophie May has a secret. One that she's successfully kept for years. It's meant that she's had to give up her dreams of going to university and travelling the world to stay in her little village, living with her mum and working in the local teashop. But then she meets the gorgeous 

Billy - an actor with ambitions to make it to the top. And when they fall in love, Sophie is whisked away from the comfort of her life into Billy's glamorous - but ruthless - world. Their relationship throws Sophie right into the spotlight after years of shying away from attention.

Can she handle the constant scrutiny that comes with being with Billy? And most of all, is she ready for her secret heartbreak to be discovered and shared with the nation?


Billy and Me is a fantastic modern day love story. Sophie is a very reserved character who works in a tea shop and lives a very sheltered, quiet life. Her safe and comfortable life is about to be turned upside down when a chance meeting with the gorgeous actor Billy leaves the couple head over heels in love. They always say opposites attract and this couldn’t be more true with our two main characters here. Billy is very ambitious and wants to make it big but Sophie begins to wonder how she will be able to fit in with his life style.

As well as our wonderful two main characters there are also some fabulous supporting characters and the one that shines through for me is Sophie’s unlikely best friend Molly who is also the wise old lady who owns the café that Sophie has worked in since leaving school. She is such a lovely character and a great friend to Sophie, I looked forward to her appearances in the book. As well as writing our loveable characters Giovanna also manages to write the more loathsome characters just as well. I particularly didn’t like Billy’s manager Paul he got my back up from the first meeting but his role in the book was perfect as it is what we expect in the acting world.

The memory that is going to stay with me and will there for not allow me to forget this book is that this is the first book that I have had to actually put down and stop reading because I had tears streaming down my face. I have read a handful of books that have brought a tear to my eye but this actually had me sobbing! The way Giovanna wrote a particularly heartbreaking scene towards the end of the book was so beautiful and delicately done that it really moved me. I think this may have been heightened by the fact that only three months ago I had the exact same situation and so I felt I could really relate to the storyline.

Although the whole famous guy meets normal girl storyline has been done countless times this book definitely has an edge and so is well worth a read. Any Paige Toon or Jane Green fans will love Giovanna Fletcher’s book. It is quite hard to believe that this is the authors debut book, I look forward to the next release from this author.


Paperback                Kindle

Tuesday, 21 May 2013

Wish You Were Here by Victoria Connelly


Wish You Were Here is the first book I have read by Victoria Connelly so I was unsure what to expect. I packed this one in my bag to keep me company in hospital today but it became clear a few hours into my treatment this wasn’t a good idea! By just after mid-day I had already devoured the book! So now I find myself bookless which is a great excuse to crack on and write the review for you all whilst it is fresh in my mind!

Our heroine is the lovely, plain Alice. Alice doesn’t shine out from the crowd unlike her beautiful sister Stella. When Stella splits from her partner she has a spare ticket to Kethos and she soon talks Alice into going on holiday with her. Going on this holiday with her difficult sister was shouting warning alarms at me but maybe a holiday in Greece is what Alice needs to finally find herself.

Milo is a gardener who works in Kethos at Villa Argenti, he is very passionate about his work and his country. Unfortunately Milo doesn’t have a woman in his life he is passionate about, it would be very difficult to bring a woman home as would they understand when they meet the little lady in his life, Tiana?

I love this author’s easy writing style, the storyline moved along effortlessly which left me flying through the pages. The descriptive writing really helped to set the scene if I closed my eyes it was quite easy to visualise the glorious surroundings and I got quite a shock looking out the window and seeing a dull drizzly day, this book needs to come with holiday vouchers!

Both Milo and Alice are wonderful characters who are very easy to warm to as they are both very warm and caring characters who put other people’s feelings and needs before their own.  I think every woman reading this will find they have a little soft spot for Milo!

This book is a very gentle, romantic, feel good read.The storyline was very enjoyable but not challenging which makes for a perfect beach read so pick this one up to keep you company on your travels this summer. I will be picking up more books by Victoria Connelly.

AT THE TIME OF THIS REVIEW THE KINDLE COPY IS AN UNBELIEVABLE 99p SO GET IN QUICK!



Paperback               Kindle

Thursday, 16 May 2013

Dear Thing by Julie Cohen

Claire and Ben are the perfect couple. But behind the glossy façade, they've been desperately trying - and failing - to have a baby for years. Now, the stress and feelings of loss are taking their toll on their marriage. Claire's ready to give up hope and get on with her life, but Ben is not. And then Ben's best friend, Romily, offers to conceive via artificial insemination and carry the baby for them. Romily acts in good faith, believing it will be easy to be a surrogate. She's already a single mother, and has no desire for any more children. Except that being pregnant with Ben's child stirs up all sorts of emotions in her, including one she's kept hidden for a very long time: Ben's the only man she's ever loved. Two mothers-and one baby who belongs to both of them, and which only one of them can keep.


I have just finished reading Dear Thing by Julie Cohen and all I can say is wow!

Desperate for a child Claire and Ben are devastated when they fail at each and every way to conceive. Feeling beaten Claire decides she cannot put herself through the heart break any more. Ben’s best friend Romily offers them a very generous alternative, a way to have their longed for baby without Claire having to go through any more trauma. Ben is over the moon but will things be as straight forward to Claire and Romily?

This was an absolutely beautiful and delicate read that had me intrigued from the first chapter. The synopsis to this book had me hooked before I even started this book, I was excited to start this book as it sounded unlike anything I had read before. Surrogacy has always been something that I have always had a few questions about as it is a wonderful gift to be able to give but I often wonder how the surrogate feels whilst carrying a child you know you are going to give up and this book touches on everyone’s point of view from the surrogate and the new parents side. The author has clearly done a hell of a lot of research for this book not only on surrogacy but also on fertility problems and at times reading this book it I needed to remind myself that this is fiction because it all felt very real.

All of the characters in this book are unbelievably well written the characters could easily be the neighbours down the road they felt so real. Posie who is Romily’s daughter was a lovable little character who seemed to have an old head on her shoulders although I did find it very odd that she calls her mum Romily. The author manages to portray the emotions of Ben, Claire and Romily very well and equally there didn’t feel like a main character as they all were an important part to the story. 

I particularly liked the Dear Thing letters that Romily wrote as these letters real showed her emotions deep down. This is the first book that I have read about this subject matter which meant the book had a wonderful fresh feel to it. You will find the book brings out so many emotions, Posie helps to bring a smile to our faces which is needed after the emotional feel to this book. The book had a couple of little twists and I for one couldn’t predict the outcome which helped to add to the enjoyment of this compelling read. 

I cannot recommend this book enough it definitely has a unique feel to it so if you are looking for something fresh, exciting and compelling this has to be your next read.



Hardback                Kindle

Tuesday, 14 May 2013

The Bow Wow Club by Nicola May


In this entertaining sequel to Working it Out Ruby never expected to be starting over... ...but after a shocking bereavement, she begins to question whether or not she will ever be happy again. A chance encounter with handsome author Michael Bell throws her fragile heart into turmoil. Plus, a dark family secret and completely unexpected love interest add to her confusion. Encouraged to face her demons, she volunteers at the Bow Wow Club - (Boyfriends of Widows, Wives of Widowers). You will laugh and cry along with a myriad of eccentric characters as Ruby searches for her inner peace. But will she let love win? Or allow her past to continue to haunt her?


I was so pleased when I found out not only was Nicola May releasing another book, but her new book The Bow Wow Club is a sequel to Working It Out which means the return of the hilariuosly entertaining character Ruby!

This time around Ruby is grief stricken, her husband George has sadly passed away and her wild friend Fi is determind to get Ruby back into the land of the living and let someone into her heart again. You know having both Ruby and Fi back means there is going to be drama, entertainment and a whole trail of distruction!
This time around Nicola May manages to not only bring us many laugh out loud moments but also brings us some very moving parts which brought a lump to my throat. The way the author gets you on such a high and then suddenly out of nowhere comes a heartstopping moment.

There were many twists and turns and will they wont they moments in this book which helped to keep my interest sparked all the way through.

I loved all of the characters some who I remember from Working it Out and some quirky new ones like the lovable Simon. I must say though there was something about Micheal that had me on my guard from the moment I met him, my suspicions were aroused for some reason!

After reading The Bow Wow Club I stand by what I have always said about this author from day one, her books should be in our local bookshops up and down the country sitting among the other fantastic authors in the chart. Nicola May doesn't get the recognition she deserves so read her books and then shout about them from the roof tops!

If you are looking for a book that will have you hooked from start to finish and also have you laughing out loud then make this your next read.




Paperback

Saturday, 11 May 2013

The Wedding Diary by Margaret James


Where's a Fairy Godmother when you need one? If you won a fairy-tale wedding in a luxury hotel, you'd be delighted - right? But what if you didn't have anyone to marry? Cat Aston did have a fiance, but now it looks like her Prince Charming has done a runner. Adam Lawley was left devastated when his girlfriend turned down his heartfelt proposal. He's made a vow never to fall in love again. So - when Cat and Adam meet, they shouldn't even consider falling in love. After all, they're both broken hearted. But for some reason they can't stop thinking about each other. Is this their second chance for happiness, or are some things just too good to be true?


I was looking forward to starting The Wedding Diary by Margaret James with my wedding plans storming ahead I love falling into other peoples wedding worlds. This book follows Cat who has won a wedding of her dreams in a competition only problem is her groom Jack has gone walk about!  Refusing to accept that he has gone Cat follows through with the meetings for the wedding and it is only when she meets Adam and she feels as though there is something between them that she breaks down and admits to Adam that she is having a fairy tale wedding with no groom! Will Cat get her groom for her ideal wedding?

This was a very fun and light hearted read. Both Adam and Cat were very well developed characters who were both genuine and lovable characters and you could see from the moment you met them that they would be perfect together I was just hoping that the outcome of the story was all I hoped it would be but it turned out to be that and a whole lot more.

The author set a wonderful scene in Italy I really felt as though I could visualise the surroundings. It left me daydreaming about a trip to Italy, well we can all dream can’t we! My one little niggle was judging by the title of the book I thought there was going to be rather a lot more about the wedding subject but unfortunately this wasn’t the case but this could just be the Bridezilla in me at the moment talking!

The storyline was so easy to follow and was so enjoyable that you will fly through this book in no time. I hope Margaret James will write another contemporary romance as this book was delightful.


Paperback               Kindle

Saturday Kindle Picks

The weather doesn't seem to know what to do with itself today so I for one think it is a duvet day! I havent done a Kindle Picks for a while so thought today would be a perfect day to bring it back so if you are looking for a kindle book at a great price then see if any of my picks are for you.


 My first pick of the day is The Spa Day by Nicola Yeager this is FREE today and I have grabbed my own copy of this one I love the look of the cover and the sound of the synopsis and running a salon myself means this book feels right up my street.



My next pick is This Time Next Door by Gretchen Galway this one is also FREE today a new author to me but I like the sound of the synopsis so have downloaded my copy.





The Silver Locket is also FREE today. I haven't read this one yet but I love Margaret James so definitely one to pick up.


The Perfect Retreat by Kate Forster is a fantastic read check out my review here and this is only 99p which is an unbelievable price for such a great read.



Undertaking Love by Kat French is my next read and one I have been looking forward to as this has had some fantastic reviews, get this one quick at only 99p!


My last pick this week is The Longest Holiday by Paige Toon. This is my favourite read of the year so far so if you are looking for a book that you will want to lose yourself in this is the one for you and this is only £3.66 today.


I hope you all have a lovely weekend ! xXx

Thursday, 9 May 2013

The Holiday Home by Fern Britton

Two sisters. One House. The holiday of a lifetime… Set on a Cornish cliff, Atlantic House has been the jewel in the Carew family crown for centuries. Each year, the Carew sisters embark on the yearly summer holiday, but they are as different as vinegar and honey. Prudence, hard-nosed businesswoman married to the meek and mild Francis, is about to get a shock reminder that you should never take anything for granted.

Constance, loving wife to philandering husband Greg, has always been outwitted by her manipulative sibling. Suspecting that Pru wants to get her hands on Atlantic House, Connie won’t take things lying down.

When an old face reappears on the scene, years of simmering resentments reach boiling point. Little do the women know that a long-buried secret is about to bite them all on the bottom. Is this one holiday that will push them all over the edge, or can Constance and Pru leave the past where it belongs?


I have been hot and miss with Fern Britton's books I didn't really like her first one and in fact I didn't manage to finish it. I read her second book Hidden Treasures last year and I thoroughly enjoyed it so I was looking forward to trying her third release The Holiday Home to see if it was going to win me over again.

It’s holiday time and time for sisters Connie and Pru and their families to head to Atlantic House, their family home in Cornwall. The two sisters are like chalk and cheese and have always been at heads with one and other and this seems to be something they can’t grow out of! Can the ladies put the past aside and enjoy the family holiday or will it be a battle all over again?

This book is all about family relationships, rivalry, infidelity and History repeating itself. The rivalry between the two sisters was quite typical for young siblings and when it continued into their adult lives it was pure entertainment. Some things that the girls argue about I can remember having the same argument growing up with my sister so it was great to be able to relate to the characters and the situations.

The setting that Fern Britton creates was fantastic it was easy to visualise the surroundings and Atlantic House, it is quite clear from the authors writing that she has spent a lot of time in Cornwall and is obviously a place close to her heart.

There is a wonderful collection of characters in this book most of whom I warmed to, it was great to have the three generations Abi and Jem brought a young and exciting fresh feel, the parents brought a witty and yet troubled part to the book and of course Grandparents Dorothy and Henry brought a traditional and warm feel but even they had something to hide!

I absolutely loved the character Francis he had such an innocent and delicate nature and I looked forward to his appearance in each chapter. Even the characters who were the villains I still loved as their parts were written well.

There were some unexpected twists and turns in this book which made it a compelling read. My only slight criticism ( and I really am having to hunt for one!) was how the part towards the end involving Greg was only briefly touched upon when it was quite an extreme part, I cant say more than that otherwise I will ruin things for you!

Fern Britton has well and truly won me around. I have never been a fan of celebrity authors but Fern Has changed my opinion and she definitely deserves credit for this wonderfully written and entertaining read. I will be in line awaiting her next release.



Hardback                 Kindle

Monday, 6 May 2013

Wedding Night by Sophie Kinsella


Lottie is tired of long-term boyfriends who don't want to commit to marriage. When her old boyfriend Ben reappears and reminds her of their pact to get married if they were both still single at thirty, she jumps at the chance. There will be no dates and no engagement-just a straight wedding march to the altar! Next comes the honeymoon on the Greek island where they first met.

But not everyone is thrilled with Lottie and Ben's rushed marriage, and family and friends are determined to intervene. Will Lottie and Ben have a wedding night to remember . or one to forget?


Sophie Kinsella has always been a favourite author of mine and I have enjoyed all of her books with Can you Keep a Secret and of course the Shopaholic series being my favourites. My partner brought me a copy of Wedding Night this week as a treat so it didn’t take me long to finish up my book and make a start on this one.

Lottie is expecting partner Richard to propose at their “special” dinner. So when the whole thing goes terribly wrong not only does Richard not propose but they split up! In a heartbroken and irrational state when her old flame Ben from her teenage years comes back in to her life and asks her to marry him she jumps at the chance and before you know it they are married and off on honeymoon in a matter of days!

Sister Fliss is coming out of a less than perfect marriage and when she hears Lottie’s news she does all she can to try and stop the happy couple from making the mistake she made.

I was a little worried when I started to read Wedding Night as it was a very slow start. What I have always loved about Sophie’s books are her loveable crazy characters. They are always so far from down to earth but they are always easy to warm to and they are very entertaining. Unfortunately I didn’t find that with the characters this time and I do think it could be because this is the first time the author has used dual narrative so each time we begin to get to know one of our lead characters it then swaps over to the other narrator and we start again. I usually like books with dual narrative but personally I feel this authors writing is at its best with one main character.

As the book progressed I found myself beginning to enjoy the storyline and Sophie Kinsella’s humorous situations began to make an appearance. The things Fliss tried to do to sabotage her sisters honeymoon were unthinkable and hilarious! Only a sister could get away with giving her sister an allergy attack. It was great to have some surprises as to what on earth Fliss was going to come up with next as the rest of the book was predictable.

The book is set in both London and a Greek Island  and both settings are described well. The whole Honeymoon suite sounded to die for, who wouldn’t want to be waited on hand and foot and pampered to an inch of their lives!

I did enjoy this book but it wasn’t one of my favourites by Sophie Kinsella but yet I will still be in line waiting for next years release! I would give this book 3 and a half stars.





Hardback                  Kindle

Friday, 3 May 2013

The Wish List by Jane Costello


There are six months left of Emma Reiss's twenties...and she has some unfinished business.

Emma and her friends are about to turn thirty, and for Emma it's a defining moment. Defined, that is, by her having achieved none of the things she'd imagined she would. Her career is all wrong, her love life is a desert and that penthouse apartment she pictured herself in simply never materialised. Moreover, she's never jumped out of a plane, hasn't met the man she's going to marry, has never slept under the stars, or snogged anyone famous - just some of the aspirations on a list she and her friends compiled fifteen years ago.

As an endless round of birthday parties sees Emma hurtle towards her own thirtieth, she sets about addressing these issues. But, as she discovers with hilarious consequences, some of them are trickier to tick off than she'd thought…


Jane Costello is an author whose books I only started reading last year and I have loved them because they made me laugh out loud. When I heard The Wish List had been released I headed straight out to grab my copy.
Our Heroine in The Wish List is the fun and loveable Emma Reiss. She is fast approaching the dreaded 30ooooohh and when she finds a list containing things to do before they reach 30 that Emma and her friends wrote she starts to think what has she done with her life and decides to try and complete as much as she can on her list.
Emma is such an easy character to warm to she is very down to earth, makes stupid mistakes like most of us do, she is a fun character who I loved. The supporting characters in this book are all great characters especially the lovely Matt who had a very lovable innocent feel to him.
The list is the center point of the storyline but there is a lot more going on. The author creates a friendship between Emma, Asha, Cally and Marianne that was to believable and each of the girls brought their own little storyline that is woven perfectly into the main story.

This is a really enjoyable and entertaining read, although this one didn't make me laugh out loud like the authors previous books it was still a witty read. Jane Costello's writing style is fantastic she manages to grab your interest from the opening chapter and my attention didn't waver the whole way through, her writing just seems so effortless. I love how well she writes humorous and sometimes awkward scenes in her books and this book is no exception, I personally loved the camping disaster in this book, with my luck in camping I can sympathise with Emma!

I have found in both Costello's previous book All The Single Ladies and The Wish List we are starting to see another side to the author writing talents as she has begun to bring some more serious parts to her books and she creates these parts just as well as the light hearted parts which only and s to the enjoyment of reading this book.

Another great read by Jane Costello that I thoroughly enjoyed.


Paperback               Kindle

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...