Friday, 28 June 2013

Sizzling Summer with Allie Spencer


Last week I reviewed Save the Date! by Allie Spencer. I have loved all of the books by this author and I love to keep up with her on Twitter and Facebook to see what treat she has in store for us in her next book. One thing that always comes to mind as soon as Allie Spencer is mentioned is glorious locations, as each of her books are set in a different tantalising country, I have always wondered what Allie Spencers holidays are like compared to her characters. I have Allie Spencer on the blog today to answer some Sizzling Summer Quick Fire Questions.

SIZZLING SUMMER WITH ALLIE SPENCER!


Pool or Sea? Sea

Relax or Explore? Explore, preferably somewhere with a lot of history 

Favourite Holiday Drink? Margaritas - yum

Favourite Holiday Destination? Would love to go to Venice - not managed it yet! 

City Break or Beach Break? Can I have a city next to the beach(!)

Kindle or Paperback? Paperback 

All Inclusive or Self Catering? Self Catering - more chance to try the local restaurants

Romantic break or girly break? Romantic!

Don't forget to grab your copy of Save The Date! to take away with you this Summer.


Kindle

Tuesday, 25 June 2013

He's The One by Katie Price


Can you ever forget your first love?
Liberty Evans hasn't. She has a beautiful daughter, a successful career as an actress, and she's married to one of Hollywood's most powerful directors. But behind the glamour, things are not what they seem. Her daughter Brooke is turning into a spoiled teenager, her husband controls everything she does, and Liberty longs for Cory, the man she loved before she became famous. Unable to live a lie any more, Liberty returns to England with a reluctant Brooke, to start a new life. While her daughter has to cope with a massive lifestyle change, Liberty finds that she cannot get Cory out of her head. But will he want her any more?
Or will she have to accept that her first love belongs to the past?


I wasn’t a fan of Katie Prices books until I read In The Name of Love last year and was surprised at what a great read it was. Katie Price hides no secret that she has a ghost writer, Rebecca Farnworth, and I feel this needs to be mentioned as when I talk about the author in this review it relates to both ladies.

He’s The One follows two generations, mum Liberty and her daughter Brooke. The book is split into two parts in the first chapter we are introduced to Liberty and we follow her early years as a single mother and a quick blossoming romance with the gorgeous Cory. When Liberty gets offered her dream job in LA that will mean she can provide her daughter with a better life she can’t wait to tell Cory about their new start.

In part two of the book the story has jumped forward 14 years, Brooke is now grown up and Liberty is married but life for her daughter is not what she hoped it would be. Liberty feels that it is best for her and Brooke to return England but for Brooke LA is home and the last place she wants to go is back to England.

When I started to read this book it was exactly what I was expecting. By then end of chapter two our main character had met a new man and had already ended up in bed straight away. At this point I felt as though the book was going to be terribly predictable and trashy and was debating if to carry on or not but I decided to try another couple of chapters and I am pleased I did. By the time the book got to Part 2 the plot was really growing on me and surprisingly, so was Liberty’s character. I found I was actually quite sympathetic towards her character, I expected her to be a little diva like but she was actually very down to earth and it was lovely that she always had her daughters interests at heart.

Brooke was a character who has you cringing each time she talks or should I say sulks! Yet she is another character who I found came full circle and by the end of the book I actually really liked her. Having been handed everything on a plate ( spoilt being an understatement!) and then throw in a large helping of hormones you can imagine what a mini diva this little lady was but I loved her!

I devoured this book in one sitting as once the storyline picked up it soon became impossible to put the book down, I really wanted to see what was going to happen next and to see if there was going to be a happy ever after.

This book sees the return of a couple of characters from her previous books which was a nice touch, it brought a little familiarity to the book. Katie Price brings the world she knows well, the world she lives in in this book the glitz and glamour, stardom and troubled relationships. This is an entertaining easy read that is pure escapism.


This book is definitely one to take on holiday with you if you like a modern day, glamorous romantic easy read that makes for pure escapism. I really enjoyed this book and think it is on par with last years book so well worth a read.


Hardback                Kindle

Saturday, 22 June 2013

Wicked Ambition by Victoria Fox



If not victory, revenge!
Some will do anything for fame.
Others will do anything to bring the famous down.
Three superstars. Three secrets.
For Robin, Turquoise and Kristin, the spotlight shines brightly. They ve reached the glittering heights of stardom, and are adored the world over.
But in the shadows lies the truth...
An exposé could be their end.
Because not everyone is happy about their success. Not everyone wants the best for them. Some people want to reveal the real stories behind the luxury parties and gorgeous men, and bring their dazzling worlds crashing to the ground.
Who will fall first?



I was really looking forward to reading this book as I have never read any books by this author but she is often compared to Tasmina Perry who I love so I couldn't wait to try one of her books.

Unfortunately I can not give a full review for this book as I didn't manage to finish it. I got to half way and although it was an action packed storyline which those of you who follow my reviews will no I love, I was really struggling to distinguish between the three main characters and so I was getting frustrated and confused at not knowing who was who and so I had to put this book down.

This is a book I really battled with as the storyline seemed entertaining and one that I would usually enjoy and actually it was that that kept me reading but with the characters not being developed well enough I had to admit defeat. I would still say if this book is in your local library then pick it up and give it a try as the storyline is great and you may have more joy in telling the characters apart. I would still try another book by this author as the storyline showed promise.

Thursday, 20 June 2013

Save The Date by Allie Spencer

Family weddings can be hell. ...and, marooned in Italy for her cousin's nuptials, Ailsa can be forgiven for thinking that this one is worse than most. With the bride and groom at loggerheads and the guests in uproar, it is a million miles away from the rest and relaxation she'd been hoping for. And then suddenly, in the middle of the mayhem, she comes face-to-face with Nick, the man she walked out on just a few months earlier.

How can Ailsa help get the wedding back on track when she and Nick can't stop arguing? But if they do, she might remember why she fell in love with him in the first place - and then there really would be trouble.



I have loved Allie Spencer’s previous books and her new release Save The Date is yet another enjoyable and entertaining read by this wonderful author. With my Wedding plans sizzling my brain at the moment it was time to take a break and see how traumatic other Weddings are!

What a perfect setting for a family wedding, beautiful Italy. But just because the setting is picturesque doesn’t mean everything else will be perfect in fact it seems with Alicia’s cousins wedding that everything is a drama, and if there are not enough problems with the wedding then try adding to the drama the unexpected arrival of Nick, Alicia’s partner whom she had only walked out on a few months before. This looks like it will be a wedding to remember!

After finishing this book I actually feel quite calm now about my big day! This was an exciting and enjoyable read that I devoured easily in one sitting. The book flowed at a fast pace and there seemed to be more and more drama as the book progressed. 

There are a great mix of characters in this book some such as Jess and Alicia who I loved from the start, then others who I was a little wary of such as Kitty and Charles, and of course a lovable but mischievous little canine friend who was a lovely addition to the two legged characters!  

Romance fans will love this book as there are relationships aplenty in this book but what I loved was the light hearted feel to the book and the humour, I felt like I had a constant grin on my face the whole way through reading this book.  Every time I thought nothing else could possibly go wrong with this disastrous family wedding something else happened to top it all!

The first thing that comes to mind when Allie Spencer is mentioned is glorious destinations, her descriptive writing when it comes to setting the scene always makes you want to jet off to the destination in her books and this was the same with Save The Date, I feel as though Italy is calling me now. If the descriptions are not tantalising enough then I am sure the beautiful cover will sway you, I think this is one of the best covers of 2013 so far.


Allie Spencer has given us another sizzler of a read. If you want humour, romance, a gorgeous location and not forgetting drama, drama, drama then make this your next read.

Paperback             Kindle

Tuesday, 18 June 2013

Love and Sleepless Nights by Nick Spalding


Sometimes, the hardest part of becoming a parent is keeping a straight face... Just ask Jamie and Laura Newman, who (thanks to a rather relaxed attitude to contraception) find themselves about to have a baby. It's obviously a terrifying prospect for a newly married couple, but as long as they stick together they'll be just fine... right? They'd better because the path between falling in love and those first few baby steps is littered with obstacles. Featuring a hilarious cast of characters including an overbearing mother-in-law, a terrifying midwife and at least one chorus of mating humpback whales, Love... And Sleepless Nights is the hilarious follow up novel all about what happens beyond the happy ever after. Falling in love is easy... starting a family is far from it!


One of the books that left a lasting impression on me this year was Love From Both Sides by Nick Spalding. I can’t tell you how many people I told to pick up a copy of this book and gave them a warning that they will never look at a pedal bin without laughing again! Having enjoyed this book so much I was eager to read the sequel Love and Sleepless Nights, although I was a little unsure if it would be able to compete with such a great first book.

Newlyweds Jamie and Laura should be enjoying their new lives together but things don’t go to plan when they find out that Laura is pregnant. This wasn’t part of their plan. The story alternates between Laura’s point of view, which is written in her diary to her mum, to Jamie’s point of view, which he writes on his blog. This style of writing worked really well in this book. It allows the reader to really get to relate to the characters and to see their views and feelings about situations first hand. The couple face many challenging situations during both the pregnancy and the baby Poppy’s first year all which provides us with many laughs!

This was another entertaining read by Spalding and it was a great sequel to Love Form Both Sides, I still feel the first book is unbeaten as that one had me spitting with laughter whereas this book I found very entertaining and comical but I wasn’t laughing out loud. I love how well the author manages to write both the male and females character equally well. Both of the characters are very down to earth and the problems and struggles they face are realistic and I am sure people will relate to one or two of them.


I do think you need to read the first book before reading this one as there are some parts that they talk about in the previous book and also you build up a relationship with the characters in the first book so they feel familiar by the time you read book 2. If you want a comical, easy read then this one is calling out to you.



Kindle                      Paperback

Saturday, 15 June 2013

Me and Mr Jones by Lucy Diamond


Meet the women in love with three very different brothers . . .
Izzy’s determined to escape her troubled past with a new start by the sea – but flirtatious Charlie Jones is causing complications.

Alicia’s been happily married to loyal Hugh for years but secretly craves excitement. Maybe it’s time to spice things up?

Emma’s relationship with David was once fun and romantic but trying for a baby has taken its toll. Then temptation comes along . . . As the future of the family’s B&B becomes uncertain, Izzy, Alicia and Emma are thrown together unexpectedly. It seems that keeping up with the Joneses is harder than anyone thought . . .

There are a select few authors whose books I wait impatiently and eagerly to be released each year and Lucy Diamond is one of those authors. I am sure most of you have a few fail safe authors who you know what ever book you pick up by them is sure to be pure escapism, well this author is well and truly on that list for me! You can always tell a Lucy Diamond book from way off as she has her own signature look when it comes to her books they are always bright and cheerful and Me and Mr Jones is as bright as they come.

Me and Mr Jones follows Emma, Alicia and Izzy all who are the love interest of the Jones brothers. The story alternates between each of the women's perspectives, allowing us to really get to know each of the characters in turn as well as their partners and the dreaded mother in-law! Things have become to much for parents Lilian and Eddie and the time has come for them to leave the family home and b&b business but they really want to keep it in the family but which one of their three sons will be ready to take charge?

I loved each and everyone of the characters in this book even down to Lilian who appears to be the mother in-law from hell! Quite often when there are a large amount of characters in a book it can often get a little confusing as to who is who but this was not the case in this book all of the characters were developed so well they were all quite clear to tell apart. I loved the relationships but I did enjoy Izzy and Charlies relationship best as there was more excitement and mystery as to will they wont they which kept me gripped.

What I have always loved about Lucy Diamonds books is her writing style, she always manages to make her story lines flow so effortlessly through out the entire book that you cant help devour her books in one sitting. The author has created a storyline which is believable and interesting so it held my interest from start to finish.

I maybe being very hopeful here but I do feel as though there could be a possibility of a sequel to this book and I for one would be first in line to pick up my copy and re-visit these characters to see how all there lives have changed.

This is a delightful, warm read that centers around family and relationships making an ideal summer read with a perfect setting in the beautiful Lyme Regis.


Paperback                 Kindle

Tuesday, 11 June 2013

Always You by Erin Kaye


It’s 1992 and Sarah is in love with Cahal, a boy from the wrong side of the tracks. As they plan to graduate from university, all seems set for their happily ever after… Fast forward to 2012 and something’s gone wrong. Cahal is out of the picture and Sarah is divorced from Ian by whom she’s had two children. What happened? As Cahal walks back into Sarah’s life, can they overcome past decisions and surrounding prejudice and make it work a second time around?


After reading Second Time by Erin Kaye last year I was looking forward to reading more of her books and so when I saw the beautiful cover of Always You I decided to have a day in the sun with what I hoped was going to be a great read.

The book starts off in 1992 in Ireland, Sarah and Cahal are head over heels in love with each other and they are sure they are destined to be together for the rest of their lives. The book then rolls forward 20 years and we see the pair have been separated for all this time and both have been married and had children with different people. Now they are reunited will their old flame be rekindled?

When I read the synopsis of this book it instantly sparked my interest even though it doesn’t give much away, but it felt to me just by reading the synopsis as though it was like a modern day Romeo and Juliet tale with Cahals family being from the wrong side of town!

The romance between Sarah and Cahal is very believable and their relationship is by no means plain sailing. When the books moves ahead to 20 years we begin to see that Sarah’s dad and aunt disapproved of Cahal and would do anything they can to break up the relationship. The whole way through the book I couldn’t work out why her family were so against him.

The book moves along at a gentle pace and begins to uncover some hidden secrets, which are so unexpected that I was in shock and couldn’t wait to turn over the page I find out what happens next. I do love an unpredictable twist in a book.

Erin Kaye has again managed to create a warm and emotional story and she has created some beautiful relationships in this book not just between Sarah and Cahal but also between Sarah and her sister it is lovely to see such a loving relationship between the siblings.


This is a great romantic story that focuses on family loyalty, hidden secrets and a troubled but destined romance. The book has its highs and its lows and some very emotional parts especially the chapter with Sarah and the lovely Evelyn this was a very moving part of the book.  I loved Second Time Around but for me Always You has trumped it!

ONLY 99p ON KINDLE AT TIME OF REVIEW!

Paperback              Kindle

Friday, 7 June 2013

Two For Joy by Helen Chandler


Julia and Toby have been friends for years, but apart from a couple of drunken snogs in their university days, there's never been anything more than friendship between them. It's only when Toby goes through a dramatic break up with his gorgeous ballerina girlfriend Ruby, that he and Julia realise they're meant to be together. Then Ruby drops a bombshell - she's pregnant - and though he feels torn in two, Toby feels he has to give their relationship another chance. Heartbroken Julia is left to lick her wounds in her little Walthamstow home, thinking she has lost Toby forever. But things soon become much more complicated . . .


Two for Joy is the first novel by Helen Chandler and judging by just the synopsis alone this looks like a great start to her literary journey.

Julia and Toby have been best friends since university but although Toby made an attempt to take their friendship to the next level Julia didn’t share the same feelings so they have always remained close friends. Both Toby and Julia are at a point in their lives where they have a good job and a roof above their heads but the natural next step would be to find a partner and settle down. Toby is half way there but when he gets an unexpected response to his proposal to girlfriend Ruby everything goes horribly wrong. Julia is there to comfort him but things soon get heated and the pair are soon aware there is now more than friendship between them. This should be their happy ending but after a night to remember Toby receives a message from ex- girlfriend Ruby that puts the spanner in the works.

This is a great debut by Helen Chandler. It did take a little while for the book to pick up pace and to warm to the characters but as the book progressed I soon became wrapped up in this heartfelt storyline. Both Toby and Julia are very natural, normal characters who were easy to relate to and I found both of them were very likeable characters. My opinion of Ruby chopped and changed throughout the book but in the end I just came to the conclusion she is a very childish and spoilt character. Toby was a great character, you really felt for him giving up the woman he loves to support Ruby you could tell he felt torn but in his eyes it seemed the right choice to make, even if it wasn’t the right choice in my eyes.
Julia was easily my favourite character and unusual for me I actually admired her which is not something I find very often with fictional characters but the way she dealt with her situation had to be admired as I don’t think I would have been able to act in the same dignified way. Julia is a strong, independent character who seems to make the most of everything and just deals with things as they come. I was just wishing for some happiness to come her way.

The only thing that I didn’t really like with this book is Julia’s friend Rose’s story, there was a certain part about her relationship with her husband that was predictable and far-fetched and personally I just don’t think this part needed to be in the book. Having said this I did really like Rose as a character, she was a great supportive friend to Julia.


This is a touching, romantic read that follows a very complicated and troubled relationship. What a fantastic debut, I’m looking forward to her next release.


Kindle                     Paperback

Thursday, 6 June 2013

The Naughty Girls Book Club by Sophie Hart


A quaint suburb.
A quiet little reading group.
A very naughty reading list…

Estelle sets up a book group in order to increase custom to her struggling small town cafe, what follows is more scandalous than she could have ever imagined… As the first book club meeting flounders, Estelle suggests a spot of erotica to spice up the members lives – with trepidation the decision is accepted. Inspired by their sizzling reads, this group of shy suburban readers shake off their inhibitions and discover a new side to themselves with some tantalising results.


The Naughty Girls book Club by Sophie Hart is certainly not one of those books you can judge by its cover. When I began reading the first page of this book my initial thought was here is another predictable bonkbuster!
I couldn't have been more wrong.

The book follows a great group of characters who have met at a new book club run by the lovable Estelle. The book club is held in Estelle’s café and was an idea to bring more trade to Café Crumb, but it’s not long before a firm friendship begins to grow between the group. The books they read are all variations of erotica and we get to see what affects the books and the book club has on each of the characters love lives.

The author has brought to life five down to earth characters in this book and I loved every one of them. They were all extremely well developed characters and all played a huge part in this book, which is unusual to find five full bodied main characters in a book. Once again this book misleads us as from the title I assumed that it was going to be all girls in the book club but there is actually a guy there too, Reggie and he is a great geeky, intelligent and sheltered character. Reggie was a lovely addition to the girls in the book club.

The storyline was very enjoyable and entertaining. The book was not what I was expecting at all and it was a fabulous read that I very nearly missed reading as I totally expected to have handcuffs and vibrators on every page! Although there were some sexual scenes they were entertaining and in context and by no means did I find them crude.

The book was fast paced and impossible to put down. I loved the whole book from start to finish. The book club theme is something new to me I have never read a book that has this as a topic so it made a nice change. There really is something for everyone in this book, and I am sure it will have you laughing away on many occasions, I had a little chuckle to myself when I was doing a massage at work and had an image of George in my head saying “I am not a salad!”


This was a very clever storyline that had me hooked and it is certainly one that I will be recommending, I can’t wait for more books by Sophie Hart.


Paperback              Kindle

Tuesday, 4 June 2013

Never Judge a book by it's cover!

How many times can you say you have judged a book by it's cover?
Maybe even by it's title? 


I have been sent so many Erotica books recently and although I have read a few I have to hold my hands up and say I am not a big fan, mainly because I find them all rather samey. Don't get me wrong when 50 Shades of Grey came out I was hooked but that was because it was unlike anything I had read before but personally they all seem a little predicatble now.

So Imagine what my thoughts were when this arrived through the post ....


I was ready to put this to one side as straight away I thought it was going to be another bonkbuster.
I couldn't have been more wrong.
I started this book last night and have found it very hard to put down, work is a little inconvenient today! Although I have still got half way to go, I am really enjoying this book and can not believe I nearly missed out on a great read because I didn't follow the one rule in choosing a book.
DON'T JUDGE A BOOK BY IT'S COVER!




This is available on Kindle now and is only an amazing 99p so grab a copy now. My review will be up this weekend for this book.

June Releases.

I can not believe it is June already, half way through the year! So another month means another list of new releases. Which one's will you all be picking up?

Kindle                      Paperback


Fiona Walker - The Summer Wedding. I will be picking this one up, with my Wedding now booked I can not seem to get enough of books about the big day so this one will be on my list.


Paperback              Kindle


Me and Mr Jones by Lucy Diamond. This is another one that I can not wait for I am a huge Lucy Diamond fan so this is an easy choice for me.


Kindle                     Paperback


Love and Sleepless Nights by Nick Spalding. I have just finished this book and it is fab. If you enjoyed the first book then this is a great sequel so well worth picking up.

Kindle                        Paperback


Save The Date by Allie Spencer. Each year I look forward to this authors new release and I love each one. Allie Spencer is definitely one of those authors who I do not feel gets the recognition for her work that she deserves, each of her books are as stunning as her front covers so it is a no brainer this will be on my TBR pile!

Kindle                     Hardback


He's the One by Katie Price. Time and time again I hear that people will not pick these books up because they are not a fan of Katie, I hold my hands up and say she is not my best of friend but last year I thoroughly enjoyed her book and so I am looking forward to reading this one to see if it can compete with last years, Give it a go!

Kindle                     Hardback


Things we Never Say by Sheila O'flanagan. I have not read a book by this author in such a long time but I have been lucky enough to be sent a copy for review so I am looking forward to trying out her books again.

Kindle                     Paperback


Two For Joy by Helen Chandler. I have finished this one, this is the authors first novel and what a great start, my review for this book will be up this week.


So these are my picks for the month, don't forget to stop by and tell us which one's you have picked up as there are alwasy So Many Books, So Little Time! so I can't recommend them all. xXx

Monday, 3 June 2013

Undertaking Love by Kat French


The moment love-phobic American expat Marla Jacobs discovers that the shop next to her Little White Wedding Chapel is to become a funeral parlour, she declares all-out war. Marla’s chapel in the sleepy Shropshire countryside has become a nation-wide sensation, but the arrival of Funeral Director Gabriel Ryan threatens everything Marla has worked for. She can picture the scene: wedding limos fighting for space in the street with hearses; brides bumping into widows; bouquets being swapped for wreaths Marla’s not going down without a fight. She enlists a motley crew of weird and wonderful local supporters, and the battle lines are drawn. But, as soon as Marla meets her nemesis, she realises just how much trouble she’s really in. His gypsy curls and Irish lilt make her stomach fizz – how is she supposed to concentrate on destroying him, when half the time she’s struggling not to rip the shirt off his back?


I have just finished Undertaking Love by Kat French and it was a perfect easy romantic read. The gorgeous Gabriel is in the process of opening up his own funeral business in a small little village of Beckleberry and it is fair to say that one particular trader in the village is less than amused an it so happens to be Marla who owns the Wedding Chapel next door and she makes it very clear that he is not welcome in the village and she is worried about the effect it will have on her business as Funerals and Weddings are big occasions but definitely not ones that go hand in hand. Marla will do all she can to protect her business. Problem is Gabriel knew from the minute he see this angry red head that he had found the woman he wants to be with it’s a shame she cannot stand him!

Every so often I will read a book that I enjoy but the leading character doesn’t warm on me and that is what I found with Marla but luckily because I was swooning over Gabe it really wasn’t a problem with this book. Gabe was a gorgeous gentleman who was oozing sex appeal which is not something I would think I would be saying about an undertaker! He was a wonderful charming character and he made this a joy to read. There are a fair few characters alongside Gabriel and Marla, and they all added something to this book some you love such as the loveable Dora and Emily, and then some you will be cautious of from the first meeting such as the slimey Rupert.

There were some great comical parts to this book with my favourite being when Marla is trying to pretend no one is home and is crawling on the floor but her plan doesn’t quite work out! There is also romance blossoming around every corner it is like the village of love and everyone wants a piece of the action! I actually liked the various relationships as it kept you interested in the storyline.


This was a great romantic, breezy read perfect for Sunday reading in the sun. This is a fab price at the moment on kindle at only 99p !!



Kindle

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...