Thursday, 29 August 2013

The Husband's Secret by Liane Moriarty


At the heart of The Husband's Secret by Liane Moriarty is a letter that's not meant to be read . . . Mother of three and wife of John-Paul, Cecilia discovers an old envelope in the attic. Written in her husband's hand, it says: to be opened only in the event of my death. Curious, she opens it - and time stops. John-Paul's letter confesses to a terrible mistake which, if revealed, would wreck their family as well as the lives of others. Cecilia - betrayed, angry and distraught - wants to do the right thing, but right for who? If she protects her family by staying silent, the truth will worm through her heart. But if she reveals her husband's secret, she will hurt those she loves most . . .


I have just finished reading The Husband’s Secret after hiding in the bedroom so I wouldn’t have any interruptions! This book started off quite slow and because we are quickly introduced to a wide group of characters I was already a little worried about getting everyone mixed up but after the book progressed to around chapter 7 everyone was beginning to slip into place. I am not going to tell you much about the plot as I really don’t want to spoil it for you as the suspense that is created in the book is what made it such a gripping read. One of our main characters Cecilia comes across a letter addressed to her when she is in their attic. The letter is from her husband and it has To be Opened only in the event of my death written on it. Cecilia is intrigued and so she opens the letter, only what her husband has written in the letter sends their world crashing around them.

There are a lot of characters with their own storylines in this book but as the book progresses you begin to see how they characters are all connected. I loved all of our characters and I think the author has done a remarkable job in creating so many full bodied, in-depth characters. The storyline was thrilling and although some parts were predictable there were equally as many shocking parts in this book too.

The book certainly brings out many emotions I found myself sympathising with Cecilia, seething at Will and Felicity, hopeful for Tess and heartbroken for Racheal. This is not a book that will let you put it down, and with its short chapters you soon find yourself thinking oh just one more chapter!

I loved the way the ending was wrapped up for our characters, I felt my shoulders visibly relax, and the epilogue really got my mind ticking.


If you are looking for a captivating read that will have you devouring it in one sitting then look no further. 


Kindle                        Paperback

Tuesday, 27 August 2013

Sophie's Encore by Nicky Wells


Sophie’s Encore — The Blurb

Her rock star is waiting in the wings, but will he get a second chance? It’s all change for Sophie Jones—only this time, there is more at stake than just her happiness. Rock star extraordinaire, Dan Hunter, has been her patient and caring friend through the highs and lows since her wedding day, but now he figures it is time for her to start over. By stealth, the rock singer draws Sophie into the behind-the-scenes work for his band’s latest album. Through the days and weeks spent together at the mixing desk, Sophie discovers whole new horizons for her life, yet before she can even begin to explore them, she faces the very real threat of losing her rock star for good. 

 Join Sophie and Dan in Sophie’s Encore to find out how their journey will end…


I have thoroughly enjoyed the first two books in The Rock Star Romance Trilogy by Nicky Wells, and when Nicky kindly sent a copy of the final book in the series over to me to read and review, although I had ages until my review was due to go live I just had to make a start on this book to see what becomes of Sophie and Dan in this final book.

Dan has been Sophie’s rock, through all the ups and downs she has been through he has always been there for her to look after her. Sophie has been gradually trying to move on with her life since Steve’s death and Dan is trying to help her the last steps she needs to take and giving her something other than her children to live for by showing her life working behind the music scenes. Now it looks like the tables maybe turning and Sophie may need to step up and be Dans rock.

As much as I love trilogies I can usually always bet that the sequels are never as good as the first book, but this isn’t the case with The Rock Star Romance Trilogy I loved all of the books but this last book Sophie’s Encore has to be my favourite. Sophie and Dan both are very familiar characters by now and it just feels like you are sitting down with friends. They are both warm and loving characters and three books down the line they are still as entertaining as the first book. It is hard not to drool over Dan as I think he is every woman's secret crush, a rock god but with a big heart. Even the way he cares for his godchildren is very touching and he just seems to do all the right things by Sophie which leaves the reader like putty in his hands! Sophie is still working through stages of grief and trying to get her life on a new path and this is all brought out well in the book you can feel her emotion and I could only hope she was going to finally find her happy ending.

The storyline grabbed me straight from the start of this book and the pace of the book flowed effortlessly making it hard to put down (curse work for getting in the way of devouring this book in one go!) The book had everything you could hope for romance, pure emotion, and humour that had me chuckling away especially about the snail !


Nicky Wells has finished this book and indeed the series off perfectly and I am so glad that the series finished up as well as it did and that the author didn’t try and string the ending out. I will miss these wonderful characters. Make sure this book is on your to be read book this summer.




Sophie’s Encore will be available in Kindle and Nook formats as well as paperback editions from Amazon and Barnes & Noble from 5 September 2013! 



You can already add Sophie’s Encore to your TBR on Goodreads! What’s more, if you’re in the UK, Canada or US, you can enter to Win one of two paperbacks of Sophie's Encore on Goodreads right up to launch day, 5 September!


Party Time — The PARTY!! 


Join in the release day fun and mark 5 September in your calendar now!
 Nicky will be partying
On Twitter - #SophiesEncore



Party Time — The GIVEAWAY!!!





1 x signed Sophie’s Encore Poster
2 x Sophie’s Encore Mugs 
1 x Sophie’s Run Mug
1 x $10 Amazon Gift Voucher (or equivalent currency) 
2 x Sophie’s Encore Key Ring 1 x Sophie’s Run Key Ring 
2 x “Swag Pack” featuring 2 postcards (1 signed) each for all three Rock Star Romance books, and 2 bookmarks each for Sophie’s Turn and Sophie’s Run


a Rafflecopter giveaway


The giveaway is open NOW and closes 30 September at 12 midnight BST. Entrants must be 18 or over. Giveaway is open internationally.


About Nicky Wells






Nicky Wells is your ultimate rock chick author. Signed to US Publisher, Sapphire Star Publishing, Nicky writes Romance That Rocks Your World, featuring the rock star and the girl next door. Nicky’s books offer glitzy, glamorous contemporary romance with a rock theme ~ imagine Bridget Jones ROCKS Notting Hill! 

Born in Germany, Nicky moved to the United Kingdom in 1993 and currently lives in Lincoln. In a previous professional life, Nicky worked as a researcher and project manager for an international Human Resources research firm based in London and Washington, D.C. Like her leading lady, Sophie, Nicky loves listening to rock music, dancing, and eating lobsters. When she’s not writing, she’s a wife, mother, occasional knitter, and regular contributor to The Midweek Drive show on Lincoln’s Siren 107.3 FM. Rock on!




UK                           US

Sunday, 25 August 2013

An Enormously English Monsoon Wedding by Christina Jones


Wedding heaven or wedding hell? Life simply couldn't be better for Erin Boswell. At twenty seven she is engaged to the divine Jay Keskar, and every minute of her day revolves around planning the wedding of her dreams.

Until, that is, Jay's parents announce that they want to 'get involved', and Erin's wedding heaven turns very much into her wedding hell... As Indian parents, Tavish and Deena have very firm beliefs about the kind of wedding their only son should have. Of course Erin will be wearing a sari! And of course all the Indian pre-wedding ritual ceremonies will be observed!

 As Bollywood comes to Berkshire, can East eventually meet West in perfect harmony? And what will happen to Erin and Jay's dream wedding if they don't?


Christina Jones has always been a top author of mine and when I heard her series of books were coming to an end I was devastated as I have never found another author who writes similar books. I was over the moon when I heard that Christina was going to be releasing a new book but I was just hoping I would love it as much as I did her previous books.

An Enormously English Monsoon Wedding follows the events in the build up to Erin and Jay’s big day. With both of them being British but Jay having an Indian background the couple have created a perfect fusion wedding in bringing the two cultures together for the perfect day so everyone will be happy and enjoy their day. Or so they thought. In typical Wedding tradition nothing is ever plain sailing.

This couldn’t have been a better topic for Christina’s new book. I am currently planning our Wedding and so I really felt I could connect to Erin. The problems she faced are very similar to mine! I loved how the whole storyline was very realistic which is not a word I would use to describe the authors previous books, so she really has moved her books in a different direction. I loved the warmth that the author brings to the characters it feels as though we already know the characters and although there are many characters in this book they were all very well developed so there was no getting confused between the characters.

The Indian culture and traditions were a lovely touch to this book and gave a fun and light twist to the book, I actually found it very interesting as although I have always known Indian weddings are very long affairs that was as far as my knowledge went so as well as enjoying this book I also learnt something from it!
I loved everything about this book the storyline was entertaining, the characters were all lovable and the book had me hooked that I ended up reading it in one sitting.


I would definitely recommend this book and Christina Jones is still holding her position as one of my favourite authors I can not wait for her next release.


Kindle                      Paperback

Saturday, 24 August 2013

In The Summer Time by Judy Astley


It's twenty years since Miranda, then sixteen, holidayed in Cornwall and her life changed for ever. Now she's back again - with her mother, Clare, and the ashes of her stepfather, Jack, whose wish was to be scattered on the sea overlooked by their one-time holiday home. The picturesque cove seems just the same as ever, but the people are different - more smart incomers, fewer locals, more luxury yachts in the harbour. But Miranda and Clare both find some strangely familiar faces, and experience the emotions they both thought had disappeared.


In the Summertime is the first Judy Astley book I've read, although I have heard of this author before I have never picked one up but I do love to try new authors so I was looking forward to trying In The Summer Time.

Our main character is Miranda who is a single mother, returning to her roots in Cornwall on holiday but this isn’t just a family holiday, it is also the place where they will be scattering her stepfathers Ashes. During her stay in Cornwall, her past creeps up on her when she reconnects with her friends and also her ex lover Steve. Could changes lay ahead for Miranda.

I never knew until I mentioned to a client of mine that I was reading In The Summer Time that this is actually a sequel to Just for Summer, although this is a sequel I had no trouble what so ever reading this book and getting to know the characters so this can be read as a stand alone book, you don’t feel like you are missing something at any point during the book. I can only assume that we would have known more about an incident that happened to Miranda and also about the previous relationship that Miranda and Steve had.

The cover of this book gives a true summery feel and luckily the storyline is a very Summer friendly feel to. It is a very light, breezy read that you can easily pick up and put down making it an ideal holiday read. The author has a brilliant writing style especially in setting the perfect scene. She describes the setting so well that you feel as though you have visited the same places because they feel so life like. I loved how both the storyline and the characters were very realistic and I even liked the characters of Bo and Silva who are Miranda's children, which is a rarity for me as I do find younger characters are often not written very well but this wasn’t the case here.

I really enjoyed this book there was no big shocking twists or big dramas but I think that was what made this book work it was just a very gentle, warm enjoyable read and I will be sure to read another book by Judy Astley.


Kindle

Thursday, 22 August 2013

Giveaway time!

It is time for another giveaway. Up for grabs this time is Three Little Words by Jessica Thompson. I really enjoyed this book, check out my review by clicking here .


This is a UK only giveaway. 
Good Luck
xXx



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Another Way to Fall by Amanda Brooke


What would you do if you could write the story of your life? After battling a brain tumour twenty-nine year old Emma thinks she is in the clear, but her world comes crashing down around her when she is told her fight was in vain, and there is nothing more the doctors can do.

Realising that she won’t now have time to achieve the things she dreamed of, Emma decides to write her perfect life in a story. She imagines all the things she would have done, the places she would have seen, the husband she would have shared her life with and the family they would have raised. And, mysteriously, as she writes her story, she starts to notice that some of her dreams seem to be coming true.

Now with a real love in her life, and her fading hope burning brighter, reality and fiction start to become blurred. As she writes their life-long love story Emma dares to believe that anything is possible, but can she really change her fate?

This book had me captured from the first chapter. The main character Emma has been battling a brain tumour and now she is told there is no more they can do for her. Her family are understandably distraught, but Emma is determined, determined to live her life until the end by writing a book about her dream life.

Emma is an inspirational and strong character, I loved her from start to finish and as we watched her on her journey it soon became difficult to remember she was a fictional character as she felt so real. The emotions of both Emma and her loved ones were portrayed so well which made the book even more moving and it felt like we were saying goodbye to a loved one.

I found this book hard to put down, in fact if I didn't have to go into work over the weekend I would have carried on reading and would easily have finished this book in one sitting.
The book really makes you put things into perspective and I am sure this book will pull on every readers heartstrings. I had a lump in my throat whilst reading parts of this book. It was very delicately written and I I will definitely be recommending this beautiful read.

A moving, heartfelt read that will have you captured from start to finish.

Kindle                     Paperback

Tuesday, 20 August 2013

Playing Grace by Hazel Osmond


Grace Surtees has everything carefully under control – her work life, her home life and her love life – especially her love life.

But then her boss hires Tate Saunders, a brash American, to spice up the gallery tours his company provides. Messy and fond of breaking rules, Tate explodes into her tidy existence like a paintball, and Grace hates everything about him . . . . . . doesn’t she? 

Because, for Grace, the alternative would be simply too terrifying to contemplate: to love Tate rather than hate him would mean leaping out of her comfort zone, and Grace’s devotion to order hides some long-kept secrets . . . secrets she’s sure someone like Tate Saunders could never accept or understand.


I absolutely loved Hazel Osmond’s two previous books, they have left a lasting impression on me and I often recommend both Who’s Afraid of Mr Wolfe and The First Time I saw Your Face to people who are looking for a fantastic read. I have been eagerly awaiting the release of Playing Grace so as soon as it arrived on my door step I couldn’t wait to get started.

Grace has everything in order, she likes her routines and feels settled when things are going smooth, but when her boss employs Tate who is polar opposite to Grace he comes in like a whirlwind and puts Grace on edge. With conflicting emotions her heart was falling for live wire Tate but her head was screaming at her to keep to her calm and stable ways something that doesn’t seem possible with Tate around.

Grace was like a delicate wall flower and I think me and her have more in come than I would like to admit there were a couple of times during the book where her barriers began to crumble and one particular time involving the office chair did show a more fun loving side to her.  Tate was an entertaining and slightly mysterious character who I loved. The supporting characters in this book were fantastic and a little quirky, and the shocking twist surrounding Alistair was unpredictable and was a great part of the book. My favourite part of the book though was when the story turned to Violet who was only a small character in this book but an intriguing character none the less and I was left wanting to know more about her story.

The story is based around the art world which is not an interest of mine so when the book began I was unsure how I was going to find this book but I was determined to keep reading. I did enjoy this book but I wasn’t blown away with Playing Grace like I was with the previous two books. It was still an enjoyable read and I found myself easily flying through the pages so there was nothing bad about the book but it is just not one that has left any lasting impression on me.


I would recommend reading this book as it is a light enjoyable read with some fantastic characters and some great twists and turns. 


Kindle                      Paperback

Sunday, 11 August 2013

It's Raining Men by Milly Johnson

Best friends May, Lara and Clare are desperate for a holiday. They have been dreaming of a little cottage in the middle of nowhere, long walks in the country and just a bit of time away from it all. But when they arrive in Ren Dullem, a small Yorkshire seaside town, it seems it is not the place they thought it was… 


May can't wait to get away from men after being cruelly deceived. Then in Dullem she falls hook line and sinker at first glance for one of the inhabitants - but he's already taken… 


Lara is living with James and his awful step-children who taunt her with tales of his younger, prettier ex whom they adored - the woman who Lara walks in to find James in bed with despite all his protestations that he wouldn't touch her again with a barge pole. Reeling from the hurt, she needs the sea air of Dullem to heal her. What she doesn't need is to be constantly in battle with the owner of the holiday cottage - a man who is every bit as bitter 
and resentful and untrusting of the other sex as she is. 

Clare's kind, steady boyfriend Lud wants her to go and live abroad with him for two years, but she's just been offered the promotion of a lifetime. It gives her the excuse she needs to end the relationship and find some single excitement which happens to turn up in the form of a very bad boy who is everything Lud isn't - impulsive, wild and dangerous. 

Will this holiday be the break they all need? Or will the odd little town with all its secrets bring them all to breaking point…? 


What I love about books by Milly Johnson is that they are all fantastic yet none of them are remotely similar to me, you never know what to expect with her storyline other than that she will bring you a fantastic storyline. It’s Raining Men is Milly Johnsons latest release and this is yet again a great read that didn’t disappoint.

Best friends May, Lara and Clare find that their work takes over their lives and prevents them from spending any time together so they make a promise to take some time away on a luxurious Spa Break for a bit of R&R and some time to catch up but things don’t go to plan when their holiday booking is messed up and they find themselves in the strange village of Ren Dullem. There are very few woman around, and the village people are more than hostile towards them, and the owner of their holiday rental is less than pleased to have their business, but despite this the girls are determined to make the most of their break.

The three lead characters in this book are hardworking, strong and loveable characters and I loved all three of them, they are all facing similar issues with being overworked and also having problems with their love lives. Their friendships felt very natural and realistic which is something I do love to see in the books I read and although they are a trio they all featured equally throughout the book without one lady being the center of the storyline.

I loved the mysterious feel to this book, from the first moment that ladies arrived in Ren Dullem you instantly became aware of hidden secrets and this kept me hooked wanting to find out what mysteries the ladies were going to uncover. It was impossible to predict what was going to be uncovered in this storyline making this an ultimate page turner. I do like a magical feel to a book especially when it is as well written as this book is so that it doesn't seem childish but is just light hearted read.

I do love a good romance and the romance is plentiful in this book, I would have liked to have seen more about how things ended with May but this is just me not wanting the book to end!
I loved the mix of mystery, intrigue and romance in this book, this is certainly not a book I could compare to anything I have read by Milly or similar authors which gives us a unique read. If you are looking for a book that has mystery, intrigue, romance and a perfect detailed setting ( especially when talking about the Lagoon!) then this should be on your to be read pile.





Kindle                      Paperback

Monday, 5 August 2013

Killer Queens by Rebecca Chance


Lori is a beautiful, blonde, all-American athlete. When the charismatic ruler of a small, filthy rich European state asks for her hand, she thinks she's snagged Prince Charming. But she soon realizes that all that glitters is not gold... 

Belinda was once the most recognized and loved princess in the world. Forced to stage her own death, she lives incognito abroad with her adoring royal lover. Now, she is determined to return to England to see her son Hugo wed, even if it means risking her own life.

Chloe, Prince Hugo's fiancée, is the archetypical English rose. But it's a long road to becoming a princess, even when you're dating the heir to the throne. Perhaps the fairy-tale ending isn't all it was cracked up to be...


I only read my first book by Rebecca Chance last year but I enjoyed it so much I have been working my way through all her books, I can’t believe what I have been missing out on!

Killer Queens is Rebecca’s new release and one I was not completely sure of as I am not one who has any interest in the Royals but I was hoping the authors writing style would shine through and grab my attention and get me hooked!

The three main ladies in this book are all very different but all are facing or have faced the same situation. Each of the characters were well developed making them easy to tell apart and a joy to read, I didn’t even have a favourite between these Choe, Lori and Belinda as they were all wonderful in their own way, Belinda because she was so caring and protective, Chloe because she was from lower class and was your average girl and yet found herself marrying into royalty but yet not letting it change her personality other than the problematic beauty regimes! Lori was a strong character who would not turn a blind eye to things when she was not happy with things. As with the beginning of all Rebecca Chance books it does take a little while to be introduced to each character and begin to establish who is who and how they will be connected but it is all worth the wait believe me.

If you are looking for a light breezy read then please don’t look here! This is full on steamy sauciness with a big helping of scandal thrown in to keep you hooked! The hot sexy scenes in this book is not brushed upon it is a full on bonkbuster, but it is in fitting with the storyline so it is appropriate ( or so I keep telling myself hehe!)


I think this could possibly be my favourite book by Rebecca Chance, it took a subject matter that is not of interest to me and yet turned it around and sparked my interest. This book has a great storyline, a small helping of suspense, a touch of humour, and an enormous helping of steamy scenes, and not forgetting fabulous characters. An easy 5* rating for me as I couldn't put it down!



Kindle                     Paperback

Thursday, 1 August 2013

August Releases

The start of a new month can only mean one thing, New Book Releases!!
Which ones will you be sitting in the sun enjoying this month?

Kindle                        Paperback



Kindle                      Paperback



Kindle                     Paperback



Kindle                      Paperback



Kindle                      Paperback




Kindle                      Paperback

Me & You by Claudia Carroll

I’m fine. I’m sorry. Please take care of him for me. And maybe one day I’ll get to explain. Angie knows a lot about her best friend Kitty. She knows Kitty is mad and wild and loves to wear clashing colours. She knows she’s incredibly funny and generous but also very unreliable. And she knows that there is a perfect explanation for Kitty standing her up on her birthday. She thinks she knows everything about Kitty, except she doesn’t. Kitty knows that she is the happiest she has ever been. She knows she’s so lucky to have a lovely boyfriend, Simon and a best friend like Angie. But what she doesn’t know is that on this night, her past is finally going to catch up with her and change everything.

When Claudia Carroll's new book Me and You arrived though my letter box the first thing I though was I love the new look to the cover which is a softer look to the authors previous books.

When Angie is stood up at the spa for her birthday treat from best friend Kitty she knows something  is wrong, unable to make any contact with her friend she calls Kitty's boyfriend Simon together they work hours, days , weeks to try to find Kitty, when the police arrive with shocking news.

Kitty loves Simon and Angie but now her past is catching up with her she is worried the effect it will have on them.

When I read the synopsis of this book I was eager to make a start as I do love the sound of hidden secrets and puzzles to be solved. I have enjoyed all the authors previous books so I was looking forward to this book.

The beginning of this book really didn't grip me at all, in fact, I had to put the book down a couple of times but because I enjoyed the authors previous books I was determined to pick the book back up and carry on as I was hopeful that the book would improve, which by Part 2 in the book it had began to pick up when Kittys past begins to unravel. The characters were all lovable, ordinary characters which is something I always find in this authors books the characters are always a great bunch.

Angie's part in this book is set out in time entries similar to a diary entry which is the first time I had come across this type of writing style but it did seem to work well although the continual use of .v. for Very soon became a little irritating. If you are looking for a light easy read with lovable characters then you will like this book, I just misses the depth to the storyline that is usually present in this authors storylines. Although this is not a favourite of mine by Claudia Carroll I will still be picking up her next book.




Kindle                      Paperback

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...