Friday, 28 March 2014

The Time of Our Lives by Jane Costello


Three best friends. One five-star hotel. Will it be the holiday of a lifetime . . .? 

Imogen and her friends Meredith and Nicola have had their fill of budget holidays, cattle-class flights and 6 a.m. offensives for a space by the pool. So when Meredith wins a VIP holiday at Barcelona's hippest new hotel, they plan to sip champagne with the jet set, party with the glitterati and switch off in unapologetic luxury. But when the worst crisis of her working life erupts back home, Imogen has to juggle her BlackBerry with a Manhattan, while soothing a hysterical boss and hunting down an AWOL assistant.

Between a robbery, a run-in with hotel security staff and an encounter on a nudist beach that they'd all rather forget, the friends stumble from one disaster to the next. At least Imogen has a distraction in the form of the gorgeous guy who's always in the right place at the very worst time. Until, that is, his motives start to arouse a few suspicions . . . 


If I am in the need for a book to make me laugh I always know I am best picking up a Fiona Gibson or Jane Costello book as both of these ladies write fantastic books with great down to earth humour which is what I needed this week so I made a start on The Time of Our Lives by Jane Costello.

Imogen is about to embark on a 5* luxury holiday with her best friends Meredith and Nicola, but she is worried about leaving her daughter behind and also taking time away from work but this break is long overdue and it is about time she kicks back and relaxes, although it soon becomes apparent this holiday is not going to be a holiday that recharges her batteries!

This is going to be a perfect book to take away with you to read around the pool on your holidays this year. In true Jane Costello form there is a lot of witty humour weaved around this light, fast paced storyline that will have you snorting into your pina colada. I was laughing out loud at the “bird poo” incident among many other situations in this book. Each time you think nothing else disastrous could go wrong something else would happen to top the previous drama.

Imogen and Harry are the main characters in this book and I loved them both. Harry was a pure gentleman and Imogen bless her is a bit of a clutz, bad things seem to follow her. The only little niggle I had is the girls friendship didn’t really shine through for me in this book, Imogen could well have gone away on a break on her own and the storyline would have been pretty much the same.

There was a little mystery through the book surrounding Imogen's ex which was a nice touch. The storyline is a lot lighter than the authors previous books so there isn't much I can say in my review without giving spoilers so all I am going to say is if you want the perfect easy read for your holiday this year full of humour, disastrous situations and a touch of romance then you will love this entertaining witty read by the wonderful Jane Costello.


Kindle         Paperback

Thursday, 27 March 2014

Bad Brides by Rebecca Chance


Good brides promise to obey. 
Bad brides wouldn't dream of it…
Milly Gamble is an up-and-coming actress, and the perfect English flower child. At 23, she's always been cast as the innocent heroine. But looks can deceive. Calculating and fiercely ambitious, Milly is determined to be the most famous star in England. And how better to achieve her goal than by dating Tarquin Ormond, lead singer of the biggest folk band of the moment? Tarquin is madly in love with Milly; Milly is only in love with herself.

Brianna Jade is an all-American pageant girl. The daughter of Tamra Maloney, a stunning billionairess, Brianna is a sweet, pretty girl who is more than happy to go along with her mother's ambitious plans for her. Now Tamra's brought her to the UK and hooked her up with an Earl. He has a crumbling stately home and needs a rich wife to help restore it to its former glory. Tamra is as ambitious and determined as Brianna is sweet and innocent - is this more a case of mother-in-law-zilla than bridezilla? 

Both Milly and Brianna's upcoming weddings will be huge, lavish events that garner national press. But with the cover of the biggest magazine in the country to be won, things are about to get very dirty…


I am due to get married in June this year so at the moment I cannot stop reading Wedding themed books so when I was looking on Netgalley and came across Bad Brides by Rebecca Chance I had to request it as I love this author’s book and as a bonus it is about brides!

With the front cover of a new magazine needing a bride for the first issue, two beautiful brides are up for the running, but being brides are the only thing that these two ladies have in common as they couldn’t be more different and they are both hopeful to get their face on the front of that cover!

Milly is an up and coming actress who will do anything to further her career including marrying a band member Tarquin. Brianna Jade hasn’t always had a glamorous life but with her mums determination she is now about to marry an Earl.
With both Weddings looming which Brie will make it on that front cover?

Before I gush over how great this book is, I first have to point out the stunning cover, as with all of Rebecca Chance covers they are sporting a divine pair of shoes and along with the light and fresh colours used this is sure to be one to lure you from the shelves.

Now I can Gush away! How different this is to the wedding themed books I have read recently! This book is full of very strong and ambitious women who will do whatever it takes to get where they want to be. There are no fluffy lovey dovey brides in this book!

There is drama, scandal and copious amount of sex. Now this book is by no means tame so if you don’t like a bit of rough and ready detailed sex scenes then you are not going to enjoy this book. I have heard this book called “steamy” that is not personally how I would describe it I would say it damn right filthy but fabulously fun! This book definitely see’s the authors writing and her naughtiest.

The sex scenes work well with this storyline and I definitely found myself hooked. In some respect parts of the book were predictable but equally there were enough shocking surprises to make up for it.


There is a great deal of descriptive writing in this book which really set the scene perfectly so you could really visualise everything. This was a great read that I thoroughly enjoyed although I do hope it is nothing like the lead up to my big day!

Kinde                   Paperback

Saturday, 22 March 2014

The First Last Kiss by Ali Harris


How do you hold on to a love that is slowly slipping away from you?

Can you let go of the past when you know what is in the future?

And how do you cope when you know that every kiss is a countdown to goodbye?

This is the story of a love affair, of Ryan and Molly and how they fell in love and were torn apart. The first time Molly kissed Ryan, she knew they'd be together forever. Six years and thousands of kisses later she's married to the man she loves. But today, when Ryan kisses her, Molly realises how many of them she wasted because the future holds something which neither of them could have ever predicted…



This was my first book by Ali Harris so I was excited about this one especially after hearing such good reviews about this book.

The story is very believable and highly emotive which makes this such a beautiful breath-taking read. It follows Molly and Ryan’s relationship from beginning to end, showing the exciting and romantic highs as well as the life changing and heart-breaking lows. It was clear from early on in the book that the couple were no longer together but we don’t know why or how it has come to an end and all the way through this book until close to the end I had two possible scenarios in my head so it was unpredictable thanks to the authors clever writing style that twist and turned keeping things a mystery.

Each and every one of the characters were so well developed they all felt so life like, and both Molly and Ryan felt as though they were friends of mine that I was reading about as it all just felt so real which I think is the reason why this was such a moving read.

I did find it took me quite some time to get used to the structure of this book as it continually jumped back and forth in time but once I got into the flow of the layout I soon become immersed in the storyline.

I can’t imagine how hard this book must have been to write because as a reader my mind can not switch off from both the characters and their story so I can only imagine that this was hard for the author to detach from them too, it must have been a hard book to send out into the world.


This is a breath taking read that well and truly deserves all the credit it has received. I loved every minute of it and I have been constantly recommending it to friends and family ever since. I can not wait to read another book by Ali Harris, I am off to give my other half a great big kiss that I will treasure forever.




Kindle            Paperback

Friday, 21 March 2014

The Right Side of Mr Wrong by Jane Linfoot

Visit


Brando is quite happy leading the single life but when his sister invites a TV crew into his home the show takes a turn and decides to find a wife for Brando which is something that is not on Brando's to do list!

Shea is a professional organiser and although she doesn't want a role as a wife she can't resist the opportunity to organise this great home so she applies halfheartedly just to show her friends that she has moved on from the events in her past but to her surprise she is picked!

This was a relatively short read that had a very fast pace so this is an ideal book to keep you company on a commute. I was instantly interested from the prologue of this book and so I was sure I was going to enjoy this but I did find after the prologue the first half of this book then seemed to lack a storyline it just felt like lots of flirting and sex which seemed to dominate the whole first half of the book, I was very tempted by 50% to stop reading as it didn't really seem to be going anywhere but just after half way through the storyline kicked in for me and the second half  was enjoyable, the characters seem to get some depth to them and I actually started to become interested in their personalities and their backgrounds.

There is a great deal of banter between Shea and Brando which I did enjoy and the authors writing also showed promise as there was a secret in Shea's past that the author managed to keep under wraps for a large part of the book which is always something I love in a book. Even after the problem for me with the first half I did enjoy the authors writing style in the second half so I would love to read another book by this author, preferably a full length novel to hopefully see this writing style the whole way through.



Saturday, 15 March 2014

The Perfect Match by Katie Fforde


Three years ago Bella Castle left her home town nursing a broken heart over Dominic Thane, the man she fell in love with but couldn't have .

Now she's made a new life for herself in the country, working as an estate agent. Bella loves her job and she loves her boyfriend Nevil. 

But recently he's been preoccupied, and she's starting to question if his future hopes and dreams are a perfect match for hers. And when Dominic turns up unexpectedly in search of his dream house, she begins to wonder if home is really where the heart is. 

But she's over him, isn't she?


Katie Fforde fans, this is one not to be missed. I have read all of this author’s previous books including her novella that was released at Christmas so I do consider myself a fan. The Perfect Match has that Katie Fforde signature look to it that I love, her covers always look cosy and welcoming which is a great reflection on the storyline inside.

The lovely Bella Castle lives with her godmother Alice and works for boyfriend Nevil as an estate agent, and a very good estate agent at that. Bella is beginning to question her relationship with Nevil and things are not helped when a blast from her past comes along to complicate things even more.

There is such a lovely group of characters in this book. Both our older ladies Alice and Mrs Langley were kind, loving and traditional ladies who for me were the real stars of this book. Bella who is our main character is a caring soft natured character no one could not like her. I did find her choice of leaving her previous job a little silly especially considering the situation she finds herself in at work in her current job.

The storyline is very light and enjoyable, in some parts it was rather predictable but this didn’t affect my enjoyment of the book, I was kept guessing though with what the pesky little Nevi was up to. I like that alongside Bella’s storyline there is also a side line weaved in around her aunt Alice and her romance which if I am honest I preferred, it was great to have two different generations of romance involved.


If you are looking for a light cosy romantic read then this is a perfect read for you.




Kindle          Hardback

Thursday, 13 March 2014

Take Mum Out by Fiona Gibson


Three blind dates
Two teenage boys messing up her plans
And one man who'll melt Alice's heart.

 'You need to get back in the saddle…' Alice despises that phrase. She's fine being single – with two slothful teenage boys and a meringue business to run, she has enough on her plate without negotiating the troublesome world of modern dating. However, Alice's three best friends have other ideas. Each one will present her with an utterly delicious, eligible man – all Alice has to do is pick her favourite.

I can’t tell you how happy I was when my copy of Take Mum Out by Fiona Gibson arrived through my door! I can always rely on this authors books to have me laughing out loud and having just finished this book I can say that this book is no exception.

Single Mum Alice has two teenage sons so trying to juggle looking after the boys, going to work and coming home to her own meringue business means there has been no time spare in her life for a man. Her friends are keen to see Alice with some romance in her life and so they each pick a man for Alice to go on a blind date with. Do her friends know her well enough to find the man of her dreams?

I loved each and every character in this book as they were all so realistic and entertaining. Alice is a strong independent caring character who is a little stuck in her ways so it was great to see her push the boundaries and try out the blind dating. Her love for both her sons was so genuine she really would do anything for them including ruining her favourite cardigan!

The humour continues in this book and it is the type of humour that does have you giggling out loud like a naughty school girl because it is day to day humour that could happen to any of us. My favourite has to be the translation problem as I could see this happening to me!

I managed to read this book in a day because I was hooked and couldn’t find a convenient place to stop other than the end. It is a fast paced read that keeps you entertained the whole way through. As well as being fun and entertaining it was also unpredictable which is something that I love in a book, I couldn’t tell if Alice was going to end up with anyone and if so who it would be my thoughts on this changed a number of times throughout the book and so this made me keep turning the pages.


Having read many highly emotional tear jerker books recently this book was like a breath of fresh air and really lifted my mood! This is quite possibly my favourite book by Fiona Gibson with Mum on the Run a close second, so don’t forget to grab your copy.



Paperback           Kindle

Wednesday, 12 March 2014

Little Beach Street Bakery by Jenny Colgan

Polly Waterford is recovering from a toxic relationship. Unable to afford their flat, she has to move miles away from everyone, to a sleepy little seaside resort in Cornwall, where she lives alone above an abandoned shop.  
And so Polly takes out her frustrations on her favourite hobby: making bread. But what was previously a weekend diversion suddenly becomes far more important as she pours her emotions into kneading and pounding the dough, and each loaf becomes better and better. With nuts and seeds, olives and chorizo, with local honey (courtesy of local bee keeper, Huckle), and with reserves of determination and creativity Polly never knew she had, she bakes and bakes and bakes . . .
And people start to hear about it. 
Sometimes, bread really is life . . . And Polly is about to reclaim hers.


How gorgeous is the cover for this book?
There is something so cute and sweet looking to Jenny Colgan's book covers which matches her storyline perfectly. I loved the blurb on the back of this book as well it made a nice change.

Polly is down on her luck, she has lost everything, the business with her husband, their home and their relationship. As she attempts to get back on her feet there is only one property she can afford and it is tucked away in the sleepy seaside town of Mount Polbearne. With no luck getting a job she starts baking and before long her baking skills are the talk of the town.

I just don't know what it is about Jenny Colgan's books that get me so excited and they seem to hypnotise me as first I wanted to open up a Cupcake Shop then a Sweet Shop and now a Bakery! I think the author is calling to my inner child! Her writing just seems to pull you into this cosy and exciting little world that you just seem to lose yourself in.

I devoured this book in no time at all which always seems to happen with this authors books because her writing style is so easy to follow and there never seems to be a convenient place to pause because you need to find out what is going to happen next. Her writing style is effortless and her descriptive writing sets the scene beautifully and her descriptions of the produce were mouthwateringly good! I am not happy now I have finished this book as I have got to wait again for my next Jenny Colgan fix!

There was a lovely set of characters in this book who I loved and Polly was a wonderful main character who was easy to warm to right from the first chapter. I have to say though that Pollys' new little pet was my favourite and I am sure this is the first time this pet has featured in a book!

At the end of both Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe and Welcome to Rosie Hopkins' Sweetshop of Dreams I felt as though the endings had been left wide open for another installment but with this book I didn't feel as though it was left for a sequel, to me the ending was tied up perfectly and I am unsure where else the author could take these characters so I feel that this book will be a stand alone book.

Although Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe is still my firm favourite by Jenny Colgan, I still loved this book it was a cosy and enjoyable read that I will definitely be recommending and I know all of Jenny Colgans' fans will not be disappointed by this book.



Kindle                  Paperback


Tuesday, 4 March 2014

March Top Releases!

How on earth are we already in March!

There is one great thing about coming into a new month
and that is New Book Releases!

Here are my top picks for March......

Kindle       Paperback

Kindle              Paperback


Kindle               Hardback



Kindle

Kindle           Paperback


Kindle             Paperback


Kindle                Paperback


Kindle                  Paperback


What books are you all looking forward to this month?

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...