Sunday, 31 August 2014

What a Girl Wants by Lindsey Kelk


Being arrested in your own bedroom is never a good start to the day. Tess Brookes really needs to sort out her back-stabbing flatmate – and her life. Should she gamble all on the new photography job she’s landed, or snap up the offer from long-time crush and best friend Charlie to start up on their own – in more ways than one? There’s just one small thing she hasn’t mentioned. Or rather, one tall thing. He’s handsome, infuriating and called Nick… For the first time, Tess has to choose between the life she always dreamed of and a future she never imagined possible. From London to Milan, with high fashion and low behaviour thrown in, she’s going to have to make up her mind what a girl really wants…


I have read every single one of Lindsey Kelk’s book and have enjoyed them all so much I get so excited every time a new one is released and when I heard she was doing a follow on to About A Girl I knew I had to get my hands on a copy and quick!

Tess is back in England and has some decisions to make she is torn does she follow her dreams or take the sensible option in both her career and her love life, will she make the right decision? Either way her troublesome friend Amy will be with her along the way to help Tess and give her advice!

I loved reuniting with these characters what I always love with Kelks books is she always creates such fun and loveable supporting characters and I always prefer them to the main characters! Amy and Kekipi bring a touch of humour to this book and a bit of fun to Tess’s life! The book starts where About A Girl ended and it really does start in true Lindsey Kelk form and wit! I am still well and truly in team Nick but poor Tess still doesn’t seem to know who she wants to be with. What I love about Tess is she is such a flawed character trouble just seems to follow her, she gets into so many sticky situations without meaning to which I can relate to but maybe not quite in the extreme cases as Tess.

A lot of the book was set in Milan which was a gorgeous setting for this book and of course the author always has a skill in descriptive writing when it comes to glamorous locations. The book was fast paced and eventful so it is easy to devour in one sitting! I loved the ending to this book to, I couldn’t work out what way Tess was going to go so the author managed to keep us in suspense.


I really enjoyed this book and although it wasn’t as good as About A Girl it was still a fantastic follow on and I can see Lindsey Kelk writing another book in this series and I will definitely be in line to pick up a copy.


Kindle                       Paperback

Thursday, 28 August 2014

The Marriage Mender by Linda Green


Alison is a marriage mender. Her job is to help couples who fear they have reached the end of the line. But the trouble with spending your time sorting out other people's problems is that you tend to take your eye off your own. Even when her husband's ex Lydia arrives on the doorstep demanding to see her son, Alison thinks she can handle it. But what Alison doesn't realise is that Lydia is the one person who has the ability to destroy their happy family. And sometimes the cracks can run so deep that even a marriage mender can't repair them.


I discovered author Linda Green last year when I picked up a copy of The Mummyfesto and I really enjoyed that book so I couldn’t wait for a new release by this author and after seeing the gorgeous, classy looking cover for The Marriage Mender I had to put this to the top of my TBR pile.

Alison works as a marriage mender but she didn’t see the trouble coming for her own marriage. Their relationship is put under pressure when Alison’s Husband Chris’s ex Lydia turns up wanting to see her son who she walked out on as a baby. Will the couple’s relationship be able to survive this disruption to their perfect family life or will this be one marriage Alison can’t fix.

Alison and Chris are both loveable characters and are really good together so I found myself really hoping that their relationship would survive everything that is threatening to break it. I also loved little Matilda, I don’t usually warm to children in books because I find the baby talk annoying but this wasn’t the case with Matilda, I found she brought a touch of humour to the heartfelt storyline.

This book was an enjoyable, easy read which covered a lot of delicate subjects and there are many secrets that are kept from each of the characters which we find out about along the way. I did find the counselling sessions a bit pointless at first but that was until I found out that they are weaved into the storyline for an important reason and it all comes together in the end.

My only small disappointment with this book was I felt the ending was a little abrupt and rushed. I had become so immersed in the storyline and found the pace of the book was perfect then all of a sudden it was over. We weren’t left on a cliff hanger thankfully but it just felt more like the ending had been summarised.


This was a great read and the author manages to write about troubled relationships really well making them all feel realistic. I will definitely pick up more books by this author in the future and I definitely recommend this one to add to your TBR piles.


kindle                        Paperback

Wednesday, 27 August 2014

Lovestruck by Julia Llewellyn


Do you trust the ones you love? Jake and Rosie fell in love fast. Before they knew it they were married with kids, and happily living in a cramped flat in London. All the while Jake struggled to make it as an actor - waiting for that big, lucky break. When he got it - courtesy of his agent, Christy, who also happens to be Rosie's best friend - everything changed. Suddenly Jake was hardly there, working hard, always in demand - a rising star. But as fame and fortune reveals a side to Jake that Rosie's not sure she likes, she begins to wonder just how well she knows the man she married. And soon enough she's questioning how far she can trust the woman always at his side - her best friend Christy . . .



I have never come across author Julia Llewellyn before but the lovely Francesca at Penguin kindly sent me a copy of her recent release Lovestruck to review and it couldn’t have come at a better time as the last few books I have read have been real intense, tear jerkers so I needed something light and enjoyable.

Rosie and Jake look like they have a perfect life a loving relationship, two gorgeous little boys a grand house like all the rich and famous but sometimes fame and money just isn’t enough as Rosie is beginning to find out. Jake’s career seems to be going from strength to strength but the time he manages to spend at their new home with Rosie and the boys is becoming less and less and poor Rosie is beginning to feel very lonely, sometimes when your dreams come true they never seem quite so good!

This book was the perfect read at the perfect time for me. It follows the relationship of Rosie and Jake who are both fabulous characters who have got a lucky break but it shows that although you can have all the money in the world it doesn’t buy love and happiness. The couple’s main problem was the fact that they couldn’t communicate, all of their problems could have been avoided if they were to have actually sat down and spoken to each other which is a day to day problem with a lot of couples so I am sure there will be a few readers who will relate to this.

I also loved the way the author managed to create such loathing characters that really got under my skin such as Yolande and Becki oh boy did I love to hate them! I can’t believe how well Rosie coped with them she deserved a medal.

I particularly enjoyed the last few chapters of this book because the pace of the book quickened and there was a lot of things revealed that I didn’t see coming which was a great bonus. This book really makes you appreciate what you have got rather than what you want.


I love discovering new authors and I have found a great one with Julia Llewellyn thanks to Francesca, I cannot wait to try another book by this author and I would definitely recommend this book.




Paperback               Kindle

Sunday, 24 August 2014

The Third Wife by Lisa Jewell



In the early hours of an April morning, Maya stumbles into the path of an oncoming bus.
A tragic accident?
Or suicide?
Her grief-stricken husband, Adrian, is determined to find out. Maya had a job she enjoyed; she had friends. They'd been in love. She even got on with his two previous wives and their children. In fact, they'd all been one big happy family.
But before long Adrian starts to identify the dark cracks in his perfect life. Because everyone has secrets.
And secrets have consequences.
Some of which can be devastating.

I love books by Lisa Jewell and I have especially loved her more recent releases as we see her writing heading in a different direction and when I had read reviews of her recent release it really was a 50/50 so I really wanted to read this one I was intrigued by the synopsis and the title of the book so I had to give The Third Wife a try.

The opening to this book had me on edge and it was looking like this was going to be a great start to an intense read with an element of mystery to it. Maya is Adrian’s third wife and he is coming to terms with her death after she was killed after being hit by a bus only thing is he can’t get to the bottom of why his wife would have been drunk and stumble in front of the bus. Her death has impacted on the whole of the Wolfe family but not all in the same way.

The plot was a very interesting and unique one which had the potential to make this a compelling read and yet this book didn’t quite do it for me. I read this book very quickly because I did find that I  was intrigued to find out who Jane was and what she had to do with the story and there was suspense around the events that caused Maya to die so I was hooked and I did enjoy this book. But the storyline just seemed to simmer along for me I kept getting the feeling like the storyline was about to take off but it never quite got there for me.

I found the whole extended family set up great and I am sure things would be so much better for real families if they could get on as well as this family. What I really loved though was the way Maya felt about being the third wife around this large family, her feelings were portrayed so well and were so believable feeling like the spare part in this unconventional family. I was so shocked in the characters thoughts and feelings towards Adrian it seemed like even though he caused heartache and left destruction in his path he was still loved and people thought he was a very nice likeable man!

I love a good twist and this is something that Jewell provided for me, I was sure I knew who the poisonous person was but I got it completely wrong and I loved the author for being able to pull the wool over my eyes but I have to say I think the way the real culprit was dealt with was appalling!


So although this isn’t a favourite of mine by Lisa Jewell I still enjoyed this book but I just felt it had the potential to be so much better. I still think fans of this author will enjoy this book and I know I will still be picking up her next release.




Kindle                      Hardback

Wednesday, 20 August 2014

The Life You Left by Carmel Harrington

Visit



Beyond Grace's Rainbow has left a mark on me and so I couldn't wait to read another book by the same author and let me tell you Carmel Harrington really knows how to grab you hook line and sinker from the opening of this book! 

I don't want to give too much away with my description of this book as for once I didn't actually read the synopsis of this book as I was blown away by the authors previous book so I just wanted to dive in and I really enjoyed discovering things along the way especially with Edward! The storyline follows Sarah Lawlor and at the beginning of the book she receives an e-mail that changes her life her husband has decided he needs space and has left no details as to his whereabouts or his intentions. Finding herself alone to manage their three young children as well as the running of the house she could really do with some support. James who is Sarah's twin soon comes to the rescue and is there for her sister but unexpectedly another arrival from her childhood has returned but is Edward a welcome return? 

This is just a very small taste of what this book is actually about there is just so much going on in this book that there is something for everyone. The situation with Edward really intrigued me as it has always been a great interest to me so I couldn't wait for the chapters with him around. I loved that there was a crime/suspense feel in this book too it gives woman's fiction lovers a small taste of another genre without throwing you out of your comfort zone.

The raw emotion I felt whilst reading the authors debut novel was what really made me fall in love with that book because it was the first book that had actually moved me to tears but this is definitely where the authors strengths lay in emotional writing I don't think there will be a single person who will read this book without at least having a lump in their throat !

I loved the suspense that was created throughout this book, it helps to make this a real page turner. Sarah was a fantastic main character and all of the supporting characters all brought a little something different to the storyline and were developed really well.

Although Beyond Grace's Rainbow is still a firm favourite by this author The Life You Left is still an amazing second novel that I highly recommend and I can't wait for this authors next release!



Kindle                      Paperback



CHECK OUT THE NEW BOOK TRAILER FOR THIS AMAZING BOOK......

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mBhH_4lalsk


Sunday, 17 August 2014

Pieces of You by Ella Harper


The perfect marriage. A devastating secret. An impossible choice. Lucy was always sure of one thing – her future with husband and soulmate Luke. But after eight long, heartbreaking years trying to have a baby, that future is crumbling before her eyes. When a terrible accident puts Luke into a coma, Lucy is forced to reassess everything she thought she wanted. Then Stella arrives. A woman Lucy’s never met, but with a secret that will change her world forever . . .

I loved the look of this book and the synopsis really intrigued me, having not heard of this author before I checked to see if this was a debut and was pleased to find that yes this is the first book by Ella Harper but in fact the authors real name is Sasha Wagstaff who is a very popular author but whose books I have never got around to reading so I was looking forward to delving into one of her books.

Lucy and Luke have such a strong and loving relationship and from the outside looking in it looks like the perfect marriage. But little does everyone know is that this couple have had more than their fair share of heartache with years of trying for a baby and just as things start to look on the up a terrible unexpected tradgedy occurs leaving husband Luke in a coma Lucy feels her whole world crashing down around her.

Before I go into detail of my review I am going to put a warning out there, do NOT read this book in a public place, not onthe train to work or even in a coffee shop because you will attract quite a few looks!

I don't think I have ever had such deep sympathy for a character as I had with Lucy. Even after having so many different heartwrenching things thrown at her she still had that fight in her to carry on when most of us would just crumble and give up. Her raw emotion just flowed through the pages touching the readers heart and you just couldn't help but keep turning those pages hoping for a little bit of light at the end of the tunnel for her.

It was a real thought provoking read for me I constantly found myself thinking how I would be feeling or how I would react if I was in Lucy's shoes and it was upsetting enough just thinking about it, but I thik it is one of those things until you are actually faced with that situation you never can tell how you would react and like Lucy you would just rely on your loved ones around you to pull you through.

You all know by now how I love twists in the books that I read and let me tell you there were a couple of twists in this book and rather than just being surprised I actually felt like someone was punching me in the stomach because not only was it a shock it was also a shock full of emotion too and I think because I connected to the main character so much this is why the twists had such a big effect because it was as if you were experiencing them at the same time of the character.

I like the way the book was set out told from not only Lucys point of view but also from members of Lukes family too so we see the effect all the events are having on the whole family.

This was such a poignant and emotive read that will have the tears flowing, this storyline really moved me I just need a happy book now to cheer me up! I highly recommend this book and if you get in quick it is currently only 99p on kindle which is an unbelievable price ( price at time of review )


Kindle                        Paperback

Friday, 15 August 2014

With A Friend Like You by Fanny Blake

Beth is a woman in supreme control of all aspects of her life and family, with a stellar career and her house an oasis of calm. Her closest friend, Megan, is very different; somehow she swims through the chaos of her family with ease, the clutter on the stairs, the cat footprints on the kitchen work space. And while they could not be more different, Beth and Megan have a genuine friendship built on years of laugher, tears and true understanding of each other's strengths and weaknesses. Because that's what friends do, isn't it?

But when Beth's daughter reveals a surprising secret, a wedge is driven between Beth and Megan. What begins as mild recrimination and misunderstanding develops into a full-blown row and then a simmering feud. As the two women square up to do battle in the London suburbs, there's everything to play for. All's fair in love and war...

This is the first book I have read by this author so I was unsure what to expect but I loved the gorgeous vibrant cover and I love books about friendships under pressure so I was looking forward to trying this book.

Beth and Megan have been best friends since their children were born. Beth has always been extremely career focused so she often relied on Megan to help with her two girl Ella and Amy, the families grew so close that the girls thought of Megan as a second mum which has never been a problem to Beth until one day when Ella has some life changing news and she confides in Megan before her own mum. This causes a massive rift between the best friends and Beth doesn't feel she can ever forgive Megan.

This was such a tense read the author creates a great deal of tension between both the ladies that the reader can also feel it through the pages. The storyline is split between both Beth and Megan's points of view so we get to see both characters thoughts and feelings on all of the issues.

I loved Megan just as much as I loathed Beth! I couldn't take to Beth at all and she didn't deserve a friend like Megan in my opinion. I think she is a very self centered person and although I can understand that she felt hurt after her daughter didn't confide in her first her actions towards Megan were shocking when this woman is meant to be her friend and has always been there for her and her family.  I enjoyed the book and couldn't wait to see what the outcome of their friendship would be as well as Ella's outcome.

There was one twist in the book that completely took me by surprise which I do love in a book. I did find the storyline a bit too negative it would have been nice to have some humour to lighten the mood in places but having said that it was still an enjoyable read even if I do need a massage to relieve my tense shoulders now!




Thursday, 14 August 2014

The Rose Garden by Marita McKenna


Molly's perfect life comes crashing down following the unexpected death of her husband David. She is left alone with a big old house to maintain, finances in disarray and her hopes for happiness in a heap. But Molly is a survivor. Despite objections from her two daughters, Molly fears that the only solution will be to sell their beloved home. But as she finds herself drawn to the old neglected and overgrown walled rose garden and the dilapidated gardener's cottage attached, shesuddenly sees a future as shedecides to restore them. As the rose garden takes on a new life and starts to bloom again, Molly finds that she can look to the future with new confidence and hope


I loved the cover of this book I thought it was so pretty so I was hoping that it contained a pretty good story inside too!

The Rose Garden follows three ladies Molly, Kim and Gina. They each have their own individual story but the author manages to weave their stories together to create an enjoyable storyline. Molly is now widowed and is struggling to keep their country house due to finances and she feels that the only option is to sell. Kim has lost everything she has no job no home and no boyfriend. She has reached a point in her life where doesn’t know what it is she wants to do. Gina has worked alongside Norah in her café for some time now and when Norah is taken ill Gina has hopes to take the café over and bring some of her ideas to the café but unfortunately Norah’s family have other ideas.

This was my first book by Marita Mckenna so I was unsure what to expect but absolutely loved her writing style. The storyline flowed effortlessly and she creates such a cosy setting with a great sense of community spirit. It was so easy to visualise Mossbawn House thanks to the authors beautiful descriptions of this grand house and gardens.

The storyline was quite simple with realistic scenarios but I couldn’t help becoming immersed in this storyline. The characters were all likeable and down to earth, they were really friendly and would do all they can to look out for each other or just be a shoulder to lean on.


The book focuses on various struggles and emotions but having romance and friendships too meant the book still remained upbeat. I thoroughly enjoyed this book so I will be looking for more books by this author.


Paperback               Kindle

Tuesday, 12 August 2014

Where Love Lies by Julie Cohen



Lately, Felicity just can't shake a shadow of uncertainty. Her husband Quinn is the kindest person she knows and loves her peculiarities more than Felicity feels she deserves. But suddenly it's as if she doesn't quite belong. Then Felicity experiences something extraordinary: a scent of perfume in the air which evokes memories that have been settled within her for a long time, untouched and undisturbed. As it happens again and again, the memories of a man Felicity hasn't seen for ten years also flutter to the surface. And so do the feelings of being deeply, exquisitely in love . . . Overwhelmed and bewildered by her emotions, Felicity tries to resist sinking blissfully into the past. But what if something truly isn't as it should be? What if her mind has been playing tricks on her heart?


I have just finished reading Where Love Lies by Julie Cohen and I couldn't wait to start my review because this book has really intrigued me.

Felicity has always felt different but her husband loves her all the same but she is increasingly feeling like she just doesn't fit in and even her husband has started to notice she seems to keep getting lost in her own world.

But Felicity experiences something strange, a beautiful smell of flowers but no one else can smell it and often no one else is around. As these episodes began to occur more often she soon finds her thoughts being transported back through the years. Are all these emotions and feelings that come with the episodes real or is her mind playing tricks on her.

I can honestly say I have never read a fiction book and then sat afterwards feeling shocked because I have learned something that I never even knew existed but this is how I feel at the moment after reading this truly fascinating and poignant book. 

I did find that I had mixed feelings about our main character Felicity one minute I loved and sympathised with her the next minute I was really disappointed in her and actually didn't like her but in the next instance I had total respect for her, is there any more conflicting thoughts you can possibly have about one character! Her husband Quinn was a little gem and I loved his character.

This really was a page turner for me especially in the second half of the book I found it impossible to put down as this was where I became completely absorbed into the storyline and I couldn't get enough information about what was going on ( sorry I can't say more than this without it being a spoiler alert)

The book was even finished of beautifully not leaving us on a cliff hanger which after the emotional turmoil in the last part of the book I don't think we would have coped with not knowing the outcome. This book is about a very serious topic and I am so fascinated by this topic now and especially after reading the authors comments at the end of the book.

This is definitely one I will be recommending and it is one of those books that will stay on my mind for a long time yet. Julie Cohen has brought us another fascinating, poignant and truly fantastic read yet again.


Kindle                       Hardback

Sunday, 10 August 2014

Paper Swans by Jessica Thompson


Ben Lawrence seems to have it all - the hot job, the flashy car, the luxurious apartment. But one tragic day in his past mars his future. Since the events of that day he hasn't truly got close to anyone. He made a promise that love was the price he would pay for his mistakes. When Effy Jones - a bright, ambitious charity founder - walks into the PR firm where Ben works, neither realise that their lives are about to be turned upside down.



I absolutely loved This is a Love Story and Three Little Words by Jessica Thompson so I have been eagerly awaiting her next release, so when I finally set my eyes on the gorgeous cover for Paper Swans I just couldn’t wait to get wrapped up in this authors literary world again.

Ben is the definition of success, he has it all the high flying job, the bulging bank account, the cool apartment and the gorgeous looks to go with it but his package isn’t complete as underneath all that he is hiding a tragic event from his past that he just cannot lay to rest.

Effy has very strong values and is a very ambitious woman who is the founder of a new charity to help the families is Uganda. Effy and Ben are poles apart and yet when their paths cross when Ben is put forward to help with the fundraising for Effy’s charity the two soon find an attraction between them but  like with many relationships it  is never plain sailing and will this couples relationship be able to ride the storm or will it just sink?

Once again this wonderful author has brought us yet another fabulous read. The author has created such full bodied characters that seem so life like, they are both completely different characters but they both seem to be workaholics and they have their flaws! I loved Effy as it was nice to have such a determined and ambitious female lead. Ben is a great character who I couldn’t help but swoon over. I loved how he comes across as this picture perfect hot blooded male that any woman would fall for and yet underneath he is a very broken man. It was great how the author managed to keep us in suspense throughout a lot of the book as to what the actual event was that had occurred earlier in Bens life and we were giving parts of the event in dribs and drabs so our attention was held all the way through the book waiting to find out the whole picture of the event.

The reason why I loved this book so much was because of the main topic of the storyline which was about mental health. I could really relate to this topic which is another reason why I think I enjoyed the book so much especially because the author has shown that someone with mental health can easily hide their problems so nobody has any idea that anything is wrong but it also shows how important it is not to bottle it all up but to talk about it. The author writes about this delicate subject beautifully and with such knowledge and skill.


I often find that the title of the book has little relevance to the storyline but I love that little paper swans do actually feature in the book. This really was a lovely moving read that flowed at a slow pace and I enjoyed every minute of it, I cannot wait for another book by this author she is fast becoming one of my favourite authors.



Paperback               Kindle

Tuesday, 5 August 2014

The Way You Look Tonight by Richard Madeley



Not until she was 16 did Stella Arnold learn the full truth about her father, how handsome, charming James turned out to be a cold-blooded, psychotic extortionist, racketeer and killer. Knowing now what her father was capable of, she decides to study psychology and the criminal mind, and to further her education in America. In the spring of 1962 she flies to Boston where, being beautiful, bright and fashionably English, she becomes someone of huge fascination and on every invitation list. Then comes an invitation one summer weekend to the home of the Kennedys. Stella quickly becomes part of the inner Kennedy circle as they party through the hot summer nights. Both brothers, JFK and Bobby, make their moves on her but she firmly, charmingly, repels them. Further south, on the Florida Keys, a killer is on the loose. The case, unsolved, begins to rock America, and with her specialist knowledge of psychopaths, Stella is co-opted by the police investigation and prepares to fly south...

I always say don't judge a book by its cover but I am ashamed to say I did just that when I saw the cover for The Way You Look Tonight by Richard Madeley, I was expecting a nice light breezy romance and yet I couldn't have been more wrong! 

Stella is off to America to further her education in psychology and the criminal mind but she never expected to find herself at a party with the Kennedy brothers. The president who is fascinated by the English Rose and her expertise in her chosen field soon confides in her about the keys killer who has brutally murdered 4 young women and is still on the loose.

I was intrigued to see if Richard Madeley was as good writing a novel as he is at selecting great reads and I can tell you now I was pleasantly surprised at how good this novel was. Once I got over my initial shock at the content of this book I was then hooked and couldn't put it down. The pace in which the book is written is perfect slowly building up to the explosive ending, there were no low points and it never felt as though it was being drawn out.

I hadn't read the authors debut book which apparently is about Stella in her younger years but I didn't feel that having not read the first book put me at any disadvantage it was easily read as a stand alone book although having enjoyed this one so much I will definitely be picking up his debut book.

The way the author manages to write from a psychopaths point of view was done remarkably well and really fascinated me. 

I just hope that people who are looking for an intense, thrilling, psychotic read won't miss out on this one because of the cover. I highly recommend this book it was a compelling read that I just couldn't get enough of which is saying something or me when I am not a big crime fan but this one really sparked my interest.




Saturday, 2 August 2014

A Girl Called Summer by Lucy Lord


Island life is just one step away…

A new start… Bella and Andy have escaped the rat race for the sun-drenched, relaxed lifestyle on the island of Ibiza. But with a run-down house to make habitable and a distractingly gorgeous neighbour, is their island idyll all that it seems?

A holiday adventure… Tamara Gold has been Hollywood’s most notorious car crash since she was a child star. Now clean and sober, and engaged to Tinseltown’s hottest leading man, it seems like she’s finally conquered her addictions, if not her bratty behaviour. But a summer in Europe with all the hedonistic lures of Ibiza beckons…

 A girl called Summer… Summer Larsson has always known Ibiza as home: a haven of hippies, yoga and healthy eating – and loneliness. But in Bella, she’s found the friend she always needed, and when Bella’s glamorous Hollywood friends come to visit, it looks like she might have found true love as well…

This could be the summer that everything changes…


I am loving all the Summer reads out this year, all these gorgeous covers are calling out to me and A Girl Called Summer by Lucy Lord is no exception. I was a little worried about reading this book as I have read Revelry but I haven’t read Vanity but luckily having now finished this book I can tell you that although the book has the previous characters in this book it can still easily be read as a standalone book but hey why not treat yourself to the others to get to know the characters first ( yes you have guessed it I have just brought Vanity!)

Bella and Andy have uprooted and moved to Ibiza with their adorable daughter Daisy. As they embark on the restoration they need things to hurry along as their good friends Poppy, Ben, Jack, Damien and Natalia are coming out for a visit and Bella is eager to impress her high flying friends.
Summer knows Ibiza like the back of her hand and she soon strikes up a solid friendship with Bella and she is looking forward to the arrival of Bella’s friends but she never could have guessed that the pool party would change her life.

This was so hard to put down as there was always some new drama occurring on the next page! It is a Summery Sexy and Scandalous read with some absolutely crazy and fun characters. Summer is a great character who despite some trying times in the past is such an energetic live wire who just seems to love life and she was a perfect main character along with her lovely friend Bella who is a little mellower but still someone you would want as a friend. But the one character who had me hot under the collar had to be Jack. There is a hell of a lot of characters in this book so it did take me a while to get to grips with who was who and who was with who.

There is something for everyone in this book, it covers some more delicate and emotional topics as well as have that modern vibrant storyline too with scandal, drugs, romance and sex. The sex scenes were very tame and just a lot of OH GOD and FUCK ME rather than graphic steamy scenes so if you are after a total bonk buster this isn’t for you!


I will definitely be reading more by this author ( Vanity next!) make sure this book is on your holiday TBR pile this Summer.




Paperback          Kindle

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...