Tuesday, 24 May 2016

Play Dead by Angela Marsons


The girl’s smashed-in face stared unseeing up to the blue sky, soil spilling out of her mouth. A hundred flies hovered above the bloodied mess. 

Westerley research facility is not for the faint-hearted. A ‘body farm’ investigating human decomposition, its inhabitants are corpses in various states of decay. But when Detective Kim Stone and her team discover the fresh body of a young woman, it seems a killer has discovered the perfect cover to bury their crime. 

Then a second girl is attacked and left for dead, her body drugged and mouth filled with soil. It’s clear to Stone and the team that a serial killer is at work – but just how many bodies will they uncover?

And who is next? 

As local reporter, Tracy Frost, disappears, the stakes are raised. The past seems to hold the key to the killer’s secrets – but can Kim uncover the truth before a twisted, damaged mind claims another victim …?


Angela Marsons has taken the title for my favourite crime thriller author, with each book she releases the storyline just gets more twisted and sinister with each one and her latest release Play Dead is no exception.

Detective Kim Stone is back with another disturbing case to solve. Whilst Kim and her team are at Westerley where the study of the human body after death takes place they never expected to come across a fresh body of a woman whose face has been beaten in and her mouth full of soil. As Kim and her team begin to put the pieces together to work out the identity of the girl it isn’t long before another body is found in the same state as the first other than this one is still alive but can they find the answers they need before any more bodies turn up?

This was completely and utterly gripping and unpredictable. The detail and descriptions used makes this such a vivid and gritty read.

Kim Stone is such a marvellous character and although we see little kinks in her armour from time to time which show us that this flawed but loveable character is human after all she still keeps her strong, focused and passionate persona on show. We meet many new characters in this book all who are well developed and some who were suspicious too but we are also rejoined by some of my favourite characters who have been in the previous books too which I loved.

The amount of research that the author must do for each of her books shine through in her storylines in great detail. I cannot believe that this series of books have not been snapped up for a T.V series yet they are screaming out to grace our screens. The authors storylines are just perfection, everything you could want in a dark, twisted crime thriller. I am sure I sound like a broken record when reviewing Angela Marsons books but they are all flawless and not one have had anything about them that I haven’t enjoyed.


Kindle                     Paperback

Friday, 20 May 2016

What a Wrap Up!

A weekly wrap up is not something I do often ( especially on a Friday not a Sunday!)  but there is so much I want to share with you this week so I thought it would be best to pop it all in one post for you.

Giveaway Winners

Thank you to everyone who has entered, shared and shouted about
all of the blogversary giveaways. The winners have been picked and prizes are
already winging their way to you!

The Butterfly Summer Bundle winner Sarah .L.
Wickham Hall by Cathy Bramley winner Trish .T.
Sealed With a Kiss by Rachael Lucas winner Carly .M.
The Way we Were by Sinead Moriarty winner Amanda .N.
Out of the Darkness by Katy Hogan winner Julie .W.
The Chocolate Lovers Wedding by Carole Matthews winner Ana
Kept by Elle Field winner Tanya .P.
Matilda e-reader bundle winner Laura .L.

There are still two giveaways running

Matilda Pillow Bundle
Books and the City Bundle

Head over quick as there is only a matter of hours remaining!

I just want to thank all the authors and Sara Jade again for donating some of the wonderful prizes that have been won.

I went Out yes Out Out!

This week I was invited to a fabulous party to celebrated the publication of Paige Toon's new release The One we Fell in Love With and also to raise a toast to 10 years in fiction which is such a wonderful achievement.
The party was held in Mabel's Bar and Kitchen, I had never been here before but it was a perfect intimate venue for the occasion.


It is always lovely to meet Paige, she always makes time to come over and talk, We had our books signed too, I love the cover of the finished copies. 

Annual Blogger Bash Awards

I received a surprising message from my friend and fellow book blogger Julie Boon informing me that I had been nominated for The Most Inspirational Blog Award! 
I am so thrilled to have been nominated especially to be up there alongside such wonderful inspirational blogs. 


The link to the website is above so head over and check out all of the nominees, there are 10 awards in all so be sure to check out all of the blogs and cast your vote.

Book Post!

I haven't had any book post for a few weeks and now this week some real gems have arrived through the post!


I received a signed copy of The Secret of Orchard Cottage by the lovely Alex Brown along with a jar of Fortnum and Mason Apple and Custard sweets! 
I am currently reading this on the kindle and thoroughly enjoying my return visit to Tindledale 
but I am NOT an e-book fan so I am thrilled to be able to put my kindle aside and carry on reading in paperback.




I also received a copy of Jenny Oliver's new release The Sunshine and Biscotti Club along with a recipe to attempt to make my own Lemon Biscotti so this could get messy! 
Thank you to Carina for sending this to me.



Corvus have kindly sent me a copy of How to Find your ( First ) Husband by Rosie Blake which I can not wait to get started on as I love this author's books. This book is due to be released on June 2nd but you can pre-order below.



Thank you to Harper Collins for sending me a copy of Fern Britton's The Postcard, I am not a reader who rushes to buy celebrity books but Fern's books are an exception as she writes such inviting reads set in idyllic locations and with each book of hers I read I loved her books even more. June 2nd is due to be a great day for releases and The Postcard will be up there with some great titles.



The cover to The Comfort of Others by Kay Langdale instantly appealed to me when I opened the parcel, I love the colour used for the cover ( my favourite colour and the same colour as my new Kikki K organiser!) the delicate simplistic design is definitely one that would catch my eye in the shops and I am quite excited to start this one. Thank you to Karen at Hodder for sending this my way.

Exciting news!

I love keeping a look out for exciting news on twitter and this week three things have stood out for me. 

Firstly the shocking news!
Fans of Lucy Robinson .......................... meet Rosie Walsh!
Yes Lucy has a new book coming out next May titled 
The Man Who Didn't Call 
This book will be released under Lucy's real name Rosie Walsh.

You can find out more on her website by clicking Here! I don't want to wish the year away but I can not wait to read this one.

************************

Miranda Dickinson fans

Searching for a Silver Lining is the title of her 8th book!
We will be able to get our hands on a copy on the 20th October, I look forward to meeting Matilda and Reenie......

*************************
Paige Toon Fans
Any of you who live near Bluewater head on down on Saturday as Paige will be signing books from 1pm in Waterstones!


So that is all my blabbering all wrapped up in one post!
Don't forget to check out this weeks reviews too

Last Dance in Havana by Rosanna Ley

Cuba, 1958. Elisa is only sixteen years old when she meets Duardo and she knows he's the love of her life from the moment they first dance the rumba together in downtown Havana. But Duardo is a rebel, determined to fight in Castro's army, and Elisa is forced to leave behind her homeland and rebuild her life in distant England. But how can she stop longing for the warmth of Havana, when the music of the rumba still calls to her?

England, 2012. Grace has a troubled relationship with her father, whom she blames for her beloved mother's untimely death. And this year more than ever she could do with a shoulder to cry on - Grace's career is in flux, she isn't sure she wants the baby her husband is so desperate to have and, worst of all, she's begun to develop feelings for their best friend Theo. Theo is a Cuban born magician but even he can't make Grace's problems disappear. Is the passion Grace feels for Theo enough to risk her family's happiness?


I have been looking forward to reading Last Dance in Havana firstly because I have never read any of Rosanna Ley’s books and I love discovering new authors but also because I have always longed to visit Cuba and although my purse won’t allow me to go I thought this would be a perfect little teaser trip.

The storyline moves between two time frames Cuba in 1958 and England in 2012. We meet Elisa in Cuba when she is only a teen, she meets the love of her life Duardo in Havana as they danced the rumba but with the odds stacked against them will their love last the test of time. We meet Grace in England and we see early on that she has a very strained relationship with her father. She  is in a very difficult time of her life where she has come to a cross roads should she just take the easy safe path or should she follow her heart and turn her whole life upside down?

Eliza was such an endearing character who put everyone’s happiness and needs before her own and I just longed for a happy ever after for her. Grace was a more complex character and I found my feelings towards her constantly changing throughout the book. At times I was shocked by her actions and wanted to throttle her, then at other points I sympathised with her and hoped that she would make the right decision in the end. I found Grace’s story unpredictable I was sitting on the fence not sure which path she would chose.

Rosanna Ley has brought Cuba to life with her vibrant details, showing not only the charm of the country that draws people back but also showing the darker struggles the country and the Cubans have had to face. The author has quite clearly spent some time in Cuba and has absorbed a lot of Havana’s history. I found this such an evocative and charming read, my longing to visit Cuba has just magnified thanks to this book and I can’t wait to discover more of this authors books.


Paperback                Kindle

Thursday, 19 May 2016

The One we Fell in Love With by Paige Toon


Phoebe is caught between a rock and a hard place. Settle down and get married, or return to the French Alps to pursue her passion? 

Eliza is in love with someone who is no longer hers. In fact, he probably never was… And her dream of becoming a successful musician seems to be vanishing before her eyes. 

Rose is out of a job and out of a boyfriend. To make matters worse, she’s been forced to move back in with her mother… 

But these very different girls have one thing in common. Angus. The one they fell in love with…




The One We Fell in Love With is Paige Toon’s 10th book and I have read and absolutely loved every single one of her books, if ever I am in a book slump she is my go to author whose books I can always rely on and this latest book pulled me up out of my slump and had me so engrossed and before I knew it, it was 3am and I had finished it in one swoop!

Identical triplets Phoebe, Rose and Eliza not only look the same but they have the same taste in men especially when the hot new neighbour Angus moves in next door and captures all the girls attention. But there is only one Angus and Phoebe is determined to make her claim, surely it won’t take long for Rose and Eliza to get over their crush once they know he is off limits.

This has been a difficult review to write as I want to be so careful and not let anything spoil your enjoyment of this book but there is something about this storyline that is different from Paige Toon’s previous books and I think this is what has given this book a slight edge and has now knocked my two favourites, Pictures of Lily and One Perfect Summer off of the top spot.

This is the first book that I have read which features triplets which was great to read something fresh and original. Each of the girls were so well developed and at no point did I mix any of them up as although they were identical their personalities were completely different and I loved all three of them although I had more of a soft spot for Eliza. We get a great insight of what it is like to be an identical sibling and especially one of three when there is a fight for attention and not to be the one left out but also trying to find something to give their own identity to set them apart from their sister.


I found this book a great uplifting read with comical parts too which I have come to love with this authors books. The storyline was unpredictable too which I think was another reason why I couldn’t put the book down as I just needed to uncover what happened next. We do have the heart strings pulled too so we do go on a rollercoaster of emotions. Paige Toon fans are going to love this book and anyone who has yet to dive into the world of Paige Toon’s books will quickly become a number one fan after reading this book.


Paperback               kindle

Sunday, 15 May 2016

Ask Rea


Thank you all for your questions that you have asked as part of the Matilda Pillow Giveaway.






That has got to be winning the blog of the year award, it was completely unexpected and actually had me in tears because it felt like such a great achievement and it is a great feeling to know that something I absolutely love doing is also noticed and enjoyed by other people too.





Since starting the blog I have my books in publication order so I try and stick to picking them in order, but when I lose my reading mojo I usually pick one of my books that I have purchased and it is usually from an author such as Carole Matthews or Jane Costello whose books I can always rely on to pick me up out of a slump with their light hearted and uplifting storylines. I am not one who follows books that have a big hype around them as I have found in the past that I haven’t enjoyed them and fail to see what they hype is about.






The Enchanted Wood ( first book in the Enid Blyton Faraway Tree books) I remember I was given 20p to go to the local car boot sale and that was what I brought and I was absolutely mesmerised by it and couldn’t wait to read the next book in the series and I think this was where my love of reading came from. I actually brought the complete book The Magic of the Faraway Tree only two years ago just because they remind me of good times.






Yes so many to mention, the blog has not only introduced me to new authors that I hadn’t discovered before but has also helped me widen my genre choice too. Dinah Jefferies one who sticks out to me because her books would not have been the kind of books that I would have picked up and it was only when I was lucky enough to meet Dinah at an event and she was talking about The Separation with such passion and what she was telling me really piqued my interest so I decided to give her books a try and they are now favourites of mine and I constantly find myself recommending them. Also Angela Marsons now this author I definitely wouldn’t have come across as not only did I not like crime thrillers but I also am not a fan of e-books but now I can’t get enough of her Kim Stone series.






This is such a hard question and one that I am often asked but I think I would have to pick Me Before You by Jojo Moyes as it was the first book that made me cry but also had me laughing away this is one of the few books I have kept so it has to be up there with my favourites.






At the age of 18 I became quite unwell which resulted in me being in and out of hospital for long periods of time up until I was finally in remission at the age of 24. It was during these long stays in hospital where I found my love of reading again. I was reading around 2 books a day at that point and on a number of occasions my family brought me books that I had already read but because the covers had changed we were unaware so I decided to keep a blog so we could see which books I had read as well as what authors I enjoyed so we knew what books to look out for. It was mad when people started to follow my reviews and it all grew from there.





I found my confidence! Sounds like a strange one right? I mentioned above that I was in and out of hospital for around 6 years I didn’t go out due to my condition and because there wasn’t a lot of awareness about my condition at that stage I lost contact with my friends as they didn’t understand the impact the condition had on my day to day life so I didn’t do the whole clubbing, shopping, girly holiday things that people my age were doing. Thanks to Rowan Coleman who I am a massive fan of, I was invited to her publication party for The Memory Book and it took a lot for me to go ( with my poor husband standing outside the venue waiting for me!) but this was where I finally got a piece of confidence back and began to meet new people too and now I have such a wonderful small group of friends who I have met through these events and that to me is priceless and this will always be the best thing that my blog has given me.





Wow Ana that’s like the angel and demon question!
Yes of course I would love to do your nails when you come to meet us all! 
The worse book I have ever read eeekkk people will hunt me down here so I am blaming you but I would have to say The Casual Vacancy by J.K Rowling I couldn’t even finish it which doesn’t happen often. I loved all of the Harry Potter books but this one was a big disappointment for me.





Blog for you and keep it fun! Blogging takes up a hell of a lot of time but it should never become a chore, you are not paid for it in anyway so it is not your job it is a hobby enjoy it! Think of the blogs you enjoy and what it is you love about them and then incorporate this in your blog . To reach out to more followers make sure you use social media to get your reviews out there and giveaways can help too! Don’t focus on free books, I have had so many emails over the years from newbie bloggers and this is the first question that is asked, blogging is not about free books they are a bonus if they come your way but we are not entitled to them and also the publishers only have a certain amount of review copies so be realistic you are not going to get a copy of every new release and at the end of the day you don’t want to miss browsing the bookshops and supporting the authors by buying their books. The book blogger community on Twitter are very supportive we are always there to help spread reviews and the joy of books.






This one is an easy one for me and shocks people but no! I love reading and supporting authors and publishers but I have no desire to release my own words into the world. My ultimate dream would be to move away from the beauty industry and into the publishing industry working behind the scenes but my book baby will always stay in my head!

Friday, 13 May 2016

Blogiversary Giveaway 11 - All the Stars in the Heavens


Giveaway number 11 is for a hardback copy of All the Stars in the Heavens by Adriana Trigiani thanks to the lovely Sara Jade Virtue. You will also win two vibrant orange Paper Library notebooks,

This is a Uk only giveaway.
Good Luck!


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Blogiversary Giveaway 10- The Butterfly Summer by Harriet Evans


Giveaway number 10 is for a paperback copy of The Butterfly Summer by Harriet Evans which is out on the 19th May. You will also receive a butterfly notebook, Little Miss Naughty Bookmark and a set of Humble Vintage Ballpoint pens.

This giveaway is open Internationally.

Good Luck!



a Rafflecopter giveaway

The Swimming Pool by Louise Candlish


It's summer when Elm Hill lido opens, having stood empty for years. For Natalie Steele - wife, mother, teacher - it offers freedom from the tightly controlled routines of work and family. Especially when it leads her to Lara Channing, a charismatic former actress with a lavish bohemian lifestyle, who seems all too happy to invite Natalie into her elite circle. 

Soon Natalie is spending long days at the pool, socializing with new friends and basking in a popularity she didn't know she'd been missing. Real life, and the person she used to be, begins to feel very far away. 

But is such a change in fortunes too good to be true? Why are dark memories of a summer long ago now threatening to surface? And, without realizing, could Natalie have been swept dangerously out of her depth?




When I saw the cover for Swimming Pool by Louise Candish I headed straight to Amazon to read the synopsis and it immediately had me intrigued and after reading some rave reviews by reviewers who have similar taste to me I couldn’t wait to read it but unfortunately I did struggle with the structure of this book.

The storyline as you can imagine revolves around a swimming pool, Elm Hill Lido which has recently just been reopened with the help of Lara Channing and she soon becomes the woman who everyone wants to be associated with.

The swimming pool reopening isn’t good news for everyone though especially Natalie and her daughter Molly who has an extreme phobia of the water but despite her daughters phobia Natalie can’t stay away as she has been dazzled by Lara and wants to be a part of her social circle.

The storyline moves between different time frames and although I have read plenty of books that are written in dual time frames for some reason I found myself constantly losing my way and having to look back to see what time frame I was in as it would jump back to when our protagonist was young then back to the present day then back to a few weeks before and the back to present day again and I just couldn’t get to grips with this but I haven’t seen this mentioned in other reviews so it is obviously just something that personally I couldn’t get to grips with.

There was still something about the storyline that still kept me intrigued and determined to continue reading and I think that was the suspense and also the sinister feel to the storyline. Our protagonist Natalie is not a character people will warm to, she craved acceptance and status, she was frustrating and childish but I was very curious about her character.

I was very suspicious of the friendship between Natalie and Lara but as the storyline moved along I found I was suspicious of quite a number of characters as they all had something about them that was a little off and I couldn’t work out what their intentions were.

I did find the storyline unpredictable I did think I had worked out what was going to be revealed but I had drifted down the wrong path. Despite my struggles with the structure of the book I did still enjoy the storyline and it would have easily been a 4 star read for me but the structure did effect the flow of the book for me so this is the reason I have given the book a 3 star rating but I still recommend you to pick up this book as you may not have the same trouble I had keeping up with the time frames.


Kindle                     Hardback

Thursday, 12 May 2016

Giveaway 9- Wickham Hall by Cathy Bramley


Giveaway number 9 is for a signed copy of Wickham Hall which Cathy Bramley has kindly donated.
I have recently read this book and thoroughly enjoyed it you can read my full review Here

This is a UK only giveaway
Good Luck! 



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Giveaway 8 - Books and the City Book bundle.


Giveaway number 8 will see two winners lay their hands on this fantastic bundle of books which has generously been supplied by the lovely Sara Jade Virtue over at @TeamBATC

Due to the weight of these parcels this giveaway will only be open to the Uk.
Good Luck!




a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, 10 May 2016

Blogiversary Giveaway number 7 - Sealed with a Kiss by Rachael Lucas


Giveaway number 7 is for a signed copy of Sealed with a Kiss which Rachael Lucas has kindly donated.

You can follow Rachael on twitter @karamina

This giveway is open to the UK only.
Goodluck!



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, 9 May 2016

Blogiversary giveaway 6- The Way we Were


Giveaway number 6 has kindly been sent to us by Sinéad Moriarty, The Way we Were which she has kindly signed too so this will be a special one to keep.

You can follow Sinéad on twitter @sinead_moriarty
You can also find out more about her books one her website http://www.sineadmoriarty.com/

This Giveaway is open Internationally.
Good Luck!



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Blogiversary Giveaway 5- Out of the Darkness


Giveaway number 5 has generously been given to us by Katy Hogan who has a copy of her book Out of the Darkness which I reviewed Here as well as some scrumptious chocolates and a scented candle up for grabs.

You can follow Katy on twitter @KatyHogan
Check out her website http://www.outofthedarknessnovel.com/

This giveaway is open to the Uk only.
Good Luck! xx


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Blogiversary Giveaway 4- The Chocolate Lovers Wedding by Carole Matthews


Giveaway number for has been kindly given to us by Carole Matthews and it is a SIGNED yes SIGNED copy of her latest release which I have reviewed Here Carole has even popped in some unique Chocolate Lovers Club chocolate bars too!

This giveaway is open Internationally.
Good Luck!




a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sunday, 8 May 2016

Blogiversary Giveaway 3- Kept by Elle Field


Giveaway number 3 is a paperback copy of Kept which has kindly been donated by author Elle Field.
You can find out more about Elle Field and check out all of her books by clicking Here
Head over to twitter and follow +Elle Field 

This giveaway is open to the UK only.
Good Luck!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Blogiversary Giveaway 2 - e-reader cushion bundle.



This giveaway will be much loved by e-book fans, this cute Matilda e-reader cushion will hold your e-reader in place freeing up a hand for your hot chocolate!
Also as set of notebooks and matching pens because we are all secret stationary lovers at heart!

This is a Worldwide giveaway so good luck everyone!


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Giveaway 1 - Matilda Bundle



Last year the beautiful pillows made by Tami over at Sew Stitchy
were a big hit and so I had to bring it back again this year to give someone else a chance to win another one of these sweet pillows!

This is the main prize this year so it will be open Worldwide.
Just enter the giveaway below. 
Good Luck!


a Rafflecopter giveaway

5 Year Blogiversary



Hello my fabulous bookish friends.
I can not believe that today my little blog is 5 years old!
This last year has been another really enjoyable year that has introduced me to some new  authors who's books I have thoroughly enjoyed as well as new releases from all my favourite authors too.
I have also had some exciting opportunities to attend publishing events where I have met much loved authors as well as publishers who I had previously only met via email!
I have been lucky enough to meet a whole host of other book reviewers too, many who have become firm friends.

One of the biggest achievements over this last year was winning  the Love Stories Blog of the Year Award for 2015!



This was a complete and utter shock to me, as was the response from all of you on Facebook and Twitter, you really made my day!

It still surprises me 5 years later that people are interested in my bookish ramblings but I am so thankful that my reviews have come some way in helping some of you discover books that you have thoroughly enjoyed.

I want to say a big thanks to the Publishers and authors who have sent advanced copies my way and who have invited me to some amazing events that have become the highlight of my social calendar!

Most of all I want to thank YOU, yes all of you who have helped to keep my blog running for 5 fun years and shared my posts with your friends.

So to celebrate my 5 year Blogiversary over the next week I will be hosting giveaways for
the chance for you to win some fabulous bookish prizes which have generously been donated by the supportive authors, publishers and myself.

Good Luck
x

Thursday, 5 May 2016

Distress Signals by Catherine Ryan Howard


Did she leave, or was she taken?
The day Adam Dunne's girlfriend, Sarah, fails to return from a Barcelona business trip, his perfect life begins to fall apart. Days later, the arrival of her passport and a note that reads 'I'm sorry - S' sets off real alarm bells. He vows to do whatever it takes to find her.

Adam is puzzled when he connects Sarah to a cruise ship called the Celebrate - and to a woman, Estelle, who disappeared from the same ship in eerily similar circumstances almost exactly a year before. To get the answers, Adam must confront some difficult truths about his relationship with Sarah.

He must do things of which he never thought himself capable.
And he must try to outwit a predator who seems to have found the perfect hunting ground...


Distress Signals is Catherine Ryan Howard's debut novel and she has delivered a twisty, gripping read that will keep you guessing right until the very last page.

When Adam's girlfriend Sarah jets of to Barcelona on a business trip and fails to answer any of his calls or texts he begins to worry but when she isn't on the flight home that is when he knows something is really wrong but when her passport arrives in the post with only a note inside saying I'm Sorry -S that is when the dread kicks in.

Determined to get to the bottom of what has happened to Sarah, Adam sets out to uncover the truth.

The storyline is told from three characters points of view but mainly focuses on Adam. We also hear from Corinne and Romain and at the early stages of the book I couldn't work out what they had to do with the storyline but as the book progresses their characters are then weaved into the main storyline.

I haven't read a book like this in a long time where I had no idea where the storyline was going and what was going to be uncovered. As I collected the clues and evidence along with Adam along the way I found the constant little twists taking me down a different path each time so I was completely in the dark the whole way through so this author sure knows how to create an unpredictable storyline with a buzzing mystery all the way through.

There was no safe place to put this book down, I found myself eager to just read one more chapter to see what else Adam would find. Romain's character had me battling with my own thoughts because on the one hand he is a very troubled character and because of some of his actions I felt like I should despise him but I actually found I was a little sympathetic to his character because I felt like he was only the way he was because of his mum.

I was so wrapped up in this storyline although I have to say this has rather out me off of the cruise my husband and I had been looking at. I am excited to see what this author is going to deliver in her next book because this really was a creditable debut.


Paperback               Kindle

Wednesday, 4 May 2016

Summer at the Cornish Cafe by Phillipa Ashley


Demi doesn’t expect her summer in Cornwall to hold anything out of the ordinary. As a waitress, working all hours to make ends meet, washing dishes and serving ice creams seems to be as exciting as the holiday season is about to get. That’s until she meets Cal Penwith. An outsider, like herself, Cal is persuaded to let Demi help him renovate his holiday resort, Kilhallon Park. Set above an idyllic Cornish cove, the once popular destination for tourists has now gone to rack and ruin.

During the course of the Cornish summer, Demi makes new friends – and foes – as she helps the dashing and often infuriating Cal in his quest. Working side by side, the pair grow close, but Cal has complications in his past which make Demi wonder if he could ever truly be interested in her. 

Demi realises that she has finally found a place she can call home. But as the summer draws to a close, and Demi’s own reputation as an up and coming café owner starts to spread, she is faced with a tough decision . . . 


Summer at the Cornish Café is the first book I have read by Phillipa  Ashley, the cover caught my eye on twitter and when I read the synopsis I couldn’t wait to read this book as I can’t get enough of Cornish books on the run up to my break to Cornwall.

Demi has not had an easy start in life but she does all she can to get by, when she is sacked from her job as well as the live in accommodation she needs to find something for her and her dog Mitch and quick.

Cal has returned home but everything has changed since he has been away. With his love life lost he decides to put all his time into reviving the Holiday Park and he takes a chance on Demi to work for him but although Demi has lots of ideas and is not afraid to get her hands dirty things don’t go as smoothly as they had hoped.

Demi was a determined and ambitious character who even though she has been down on her luck she hasn’t sat and felt sorry for herself she has continually pushed herself to keep putting her foot forward to find her next opportunity and this made her such a strong character who I admired. Her character grows with the storyline as we see her taking such care and pride in her work but also as she begins to fit in and make friends and a hint of romance blossoms too.

Cal took a chance on Demi which I admired but there was always a part of me on my guard around him as his emotions were very unpredictable. He has a past which he doesn’t want to share with people but this obviously has an effect on his personality but his heart is generally in the right place.
Although the romance that blossomed was a little predictable I still loved watching it unfold and because it wasn’t the main focus of the storyline I was still entertained by the journey that Demi and Cal were on trying to developing the Holiday Park.


I thoroughly enjoyed this book and I was so immersed in the storyline I didn’t put it down and ended up reading in on sitting! I really look forward to seeing what happens in the next book in the series because I really don’t want the characters journey to end there. This is a perfect Summery read with well-developed characters and a gorgeous, inviting setting which I can’t wait to revist.


Kindle

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...